We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing break in hectic trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Purity at Lake Vembanad
Certificate of Excellence
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
88 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Relaxing break in hectic trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights in the 1st floor suite which was extremely spacious with a bathroom bigger than a lot of rooms we have stayed in in other hotels. The location is perfect overlooking the lake and with a Chinese fishing net just along from the hotel we were able to see the nets working. Although we had stayed in Cochin by the nets we had not managed to see them in action so it was great to be able to do so here. Also it was good to sit with a drink and watch the local fishermen at work.
We tried the spa here and found it excellent and we can really recommend the full massage with warm oil poured onto your forehead.
We were asked each day what we would like for our evening meal and when we wanted to eat it. You then go down to your table set by the river frontage and the food is very good.
The swimming pool was very attractive and not crowded. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alchrisuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    39
    8
    6
    1
See reviews for
27
121
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Downderry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

Lovely, lovely place on Lake Vembanad on the Kerala backwaters. If it is available stay in the Vembanad suite, the whole 1st (top) floor of the charming original building, which is spacious and elegant with lovely antique furniture and lots of quirky spaces. Gardens run down to the lake and are an idyllic place to laze away the day or dine beside the water in the evening. Staff are wonderful, charming and attentive, food is superb and always inventive, nothing seems too much trouble. Cycling around the villages and countryside (on purity's rather rattly bikes) or taking the local ferries across the lake are both great ways of seeing the area without having to get in another car. The complimentary canoe trip around the fishing areas is not to be missed and the bird life is simply stunning.
Our only reservation is about the number of new rooms that have been constructed, if staying again I'd want to be very sure how many were occupied as I can't help feeling that the experience would be very different if it was full.

Room Tip: Vembanad suite is quiet and private with great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moonhills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

As we drove down a narrow dirt track I began to wonder if our agent had gone mad.We turned into this small drive way and when we walked into the lobby we were amazed.Beautifully furnished, peaceful, elegant, it was stunning.Our room was huge, very modern with a bathroom of a similar size beautifully fitted with a sunken bath, amazing shower and all exceptional fittings.Beautiful oils were available for our use and a massage table set up for treatments.The bedroom was huge, with a wonderful balcony, it was magic.The hotel is on the edge of the lake and has lovely gardens with a small infinity pool.The food was excellent, plenty of choice and for me they were so helpful as I cannot eat spicy food.It was altogether a magical stay and we were sorry we didn't have longer.Hopefully we will return.Our only criticism would be in such a huge bedroom why only a 5ft double bed?

Room Tip: There are only 10rooms, any are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank b80bb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
119 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

I echo most of the previous reviewers. I wondered about our destination as we turned off the main road onto one sandy track after another. The warm welcome + drinks from the receptionist, followed by the enchanting walk to our room over the stepping stones across the pool in the courtyard, through the arch then THE VIEW! It was a wow moment as across the lawns shimmered Lake Vembanad. The only thing missing was a pool, but no to our right was an infinity pool with sunloungers awaiting ready with freshly rolled towels.
A truly relaxing hotel.My husband took a walk along with a map provided by the hotel. We had a canoe ride and a massage. The discreet, friendly service, the food, setting, ambience all combined to make this my favourite hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ESHW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

The setting is just magical and the rooms stylish, user friendly and very comfortable. All the facilities are excellent and I can't think of an area in which they could improve.
Perhaps the only 'very' slight failing is that if you want to find any staff before 7.30am it's almost impossible. We tended to rise at 6.30am to watch the sunrise and fresh coffee would have been perfect. It's a very minor gripe as the staff were extremely helpful and attentive.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 7clifton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaipur, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

we stayed here for 2 nights and i must say there was almost nothing to complain about as right from rooms to location and service were great. We had a nice room and the bathroom was intelligently designed....the pool was right at the edge of the lake which was stunning but over all the staff was very efficient and helpful and made our stay there very comfortable. I would definitely recommend this hotel for a perfect relaxed holiday.

Room Tip: they have old rooms and some newly done rooms and though we stayed at the old ones but also checked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank radhikaushal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights & loved this place. There's a quiet pool overlooking the lake & we had a lovely verandah outside our room. The bathroom was one of the nicest I've ever had, & the bedroom was lovely & cool.
The manager gave us recommendations for what to do- this included giving us a map so we could go for a walk, ordering a tuk tuk for us to visit Allappey & showing us the free canoe ride at sunset. The canoe ride was awesome- we saw kingfishers & we're able to climb up on to one of the Chinese fishing nets & help collect the catch.
The service was good, but I wouldn't say it was as good as in Serenity or Malabar House. They seemed a little harassed at breakfast time, which meant we sometimes struggled to get coffee straight away - not really a big problem though, as all we were doing was relaxing!
The food was delicious. We had some wonderful curries- fish & chicken & tasty dosa for breakfast.
All in all a fantastic stay.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank shropshirestalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alappuzha
4.1 mi away
Aveda Kumarakom
Aveda Kumarakom
#1 of 26 in Kumarakom
4.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
14.5 mi away
Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort
4.1 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Vasundhara Sarovar Premiere
4.2 mi away
Kumarakom Lake Resort
Kumarakom Lake Resort
#4 of 26 in Kumarakom
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,644 reviews
6.0 mi away
Punnamada Resort
Punnamada Resort
#2 of 66 in Alappuzha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Purity at Lake Vembanad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Purity at Lake Vembanad

Property: Purity at Lake Vembanad
Address: East of Muhamma Police Station, Alappuzha 688525, India
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 153 Specialty Lodging in Alappuzha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Purity at Lake Vembanad 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking lake Vembanad at its widest point, purity is 50 km from The Malabar House and 70 km from Cochin International Airport. Accessible by car & boat, it is the starting point of our backwater cruise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Purity at Lake Vembanad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Purity At Lake Vembanad Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing