We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic setting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Purity at Lake Vembanad
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fantastic setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

The setting is just magical and the rooms stylish, user friendly and very comfortable. All the facilities are excellent and I can't think of an area in which they could improve.
Perhaps the only 'very' slight failing is that if you want to find any staff before 7.30am it's almost impossible. We tended to rise at 6.30am to watch the sunrise and fresh coffee would have been perfect. It's a very minor gripe as the staff were extremely helpful and attentive.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 7clifton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    39
    8
    6
    1
See reviews for
27
121
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jaipur, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

we stayed here for 2 nights and i must say there was almost nothing to complain about as right from rooms to location and service were great. We had a nice room and the bathroom was intelligently designed....the pool was right at the edge of the lake which was stunning but over all the staff was very efficient and helpful and made our stay there very comfortable. I would definitely recommend this hotel for a perfect relaxed holiday.

Room Tip: they have old rooms and some newly done rooms and though we stayed at the old ones but also checked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank radhikaushal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights & loved this place. There's a quiet pool overlooking the lake & we had a lovely verandah outside our room. The bathroom was one of the nicest I've ever had, & the bedroom was lovely & cool.
The manager gave us recommendations for what to do- this included giving us a map so we could go for a walk, ordering a tuk tuk for us to visit Allappey & showing us the free canoe ride at sunset. The canoe ride was awesome- we saw kingfishers & we're able to climb up on to one of the Chinese fishing nets & help collect the catch.
The service was good, but I wouldn't say it was as good as in Serenity or Malabar House. They seemed a little harassed at breakfast time, which meant we sometimes struggled to get coffee straight away - not really a big problem though, as all we were doing was relaxing!
The food was delicious. We had some wonderful curries- fish & chicken & tasty dosa for breakfast.
All in all a fantastic stay.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank shropshirestalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

My 2 friends and I stayed at Purity for 3 nights at the end of November and had an excellent time. As the hotel was empty when we got there, they gave us 2 rooms instead of the 1 (with an extra bed) that we had requested, at no additional cost. That was the first example of the hospitality that we received for the rest of the trip. The resort has 6 rooms (but more are being built) and the ones we stayed in were beautiful. The bathrooms were as big as the bedrooms and very clean.

The resort is set on the lake with beautiful views and total peace (apart from the crows). The staff were very attentive and we felt completely at home and relaxed.

On our day trip to Cochin we bought some sea food which we brought back with us and the chef showed us how to prepare in a free cooking class. Delicious! We did yoga every morning with Krishna (the "Master") who was very entertaining. You can have a complimentary canoe ride with a fisherman at sunset which was also a nice experience.

Although a couple of hours drive from Cochin, I would recommend Purity to anyone wanting a bit of peace and quiet in Kerala's backwaters.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gayathry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey
Level Contributor
120 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

We so enjoyed our stay. The staff, especially George, were wonderful and so attentive without being intrusive. The food was fantastic, the lakeside location great and the recently refurbished cottage suite a delight. Hopefully, the 8 room extension soon to be opened will not disrupt the almost perfect harmony of this lakeside retreat. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The cookery lessons were fun; not to be missed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jsyfitzs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

We stayed here for one night for a day and night of pure relaxation, arriving from our houseboat that we had stayed on the night previously.

The decor was vibrant, modern but very comfortable. We loved our room which was spacious and immaculately clean but we particularly made the most of the pool which felt private while still had a view onto the lake. The staff were very attentive and kindly arranged a beautiful surprise floral decoration on our bed (the duvet was covered in fresh jasmine and blossom) on hearing we had just got married.

There wasn't so much to do in the local town but the hotel itself was enough to just relax in for a day or so. The food was fresh, delicious and well priced with the al-fresco dinner in the courtyard being particularly romantic. Certainly worth a trip to get away from it all.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pennyblack259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
576 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 454 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

The rooms are not very sophisticated but this is a great experience. The service is perfect and the people are nice. We had a dinner al fresco served with smiles and the food was very good. The location is excellent and the view is stunning. Surprising but a lot of good memory.

Room Tip: The location is surising but after an hour you are under the charm of the place. In the evening you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmLondon845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alappuzha
4.1 mi away
Aveda Kumarakom
Aveda Kumarakom
#1 of 26 in Kumarakom
4.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
14.5 mi away
Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort
4.1 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Vasundhara Sarovar Premiere
4.2 mi away
Kumarakom Lake Resort
Kumarakom Lake Resort
#4 of 26 in Kumarakom
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,644 reviews
6.0 mi away
Punnamada Resort
Punnamada Resort
#2 of 66 in Alappuzha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Purity at Lake Vembanad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Purity at Lake Vembanad

Property: Purity at Lake Vembanad
Address: East of Muhamma Police Station, Alappuzha 688525, India
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 153 Specialty Lodging in Alappuzha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Purity at Lake Vembanad 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking lake Vembanad at its widest point, purity is 50 km from The Malabar House and 70 km from Cochin International Airport. Accessible by car & boat, it is the starting point of our backwater cruise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Purity at Lake Vembanad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Purity At Lake Vembanad Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing