We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and comfortable getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Purity at Lake Vembanad
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

Went there for a family getaway. The hospitality was excellent. I highly recommend this place especially as an alternative to a typical hotel large hotel. They definitely give you the individual attention that other hotels miss.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank run4ace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (210)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

175 - 181 of 210 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2013

Purity has a beautiful setting on Lake Vembanad, though getting there is rather a mystery tour to the backend of nowhere. The hotel is beautifully designed and is currently being extended. We stayed, for just one night, in the suite which looks stunning though did suffer from a damp smell.

The gardens run to the waters edge and candle lit dining by the water was a delight. All the food was excellent. We ate lunch, supper and breakfast and were delighted to find an innovative young Indian chef with his own inventions on the menu. Much to our surprise and delight there is less of a mosquito problem in the backwaters than in Kochi. We sat out comfortably in the evening.

My wife enjoyed a wonderful sunset canoe ride with a local fisherman. Like most Keralans his English was excellent and they spent the trip discussing their different day-to-day lifestyles in a fascinating conversation. This was a complimentary excursion organised by the hotel.

The only negative was the large population of crows that were on the noisy side.

Our houseboat arrived directly to the hotel's waterside the following morning and we embarked directly with the hotel staff waving us off.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Norman W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012

Lake Vembanad is the way the world was supposed to look--lush, tropical, mysterious The very small staff is talented and friendly. The food was the best that we had in Kerala and Vineeth, the manager, is intelligent, thoughtful and has a fund of information. The conoe trip with a local fisherman was a highlight. I did suggest they get a couple of plastic kyacks for self propelled touring. Recommend trip to Aleppy by cab for the feel of a non-touristic Kerala town, have lunch using only your right hand at the Indian Coffee Shop. They are building eight additional rooms -- the site is shielded so it doesn't affect ambience -- I hope that it does not affect the intimate feel of the place

Room Tip: There was one extraordinary suite on the second floor which our friends occupied but we were quite s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoelSHoffman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We spent 2 nights here and it was the best accommodation of the whole trip.
Great room, lovely view and the staff couldn't do enough for us.
We sampled the Ayurvedic treatments too, which were completely different to anything else we've ever experienced!
The yoga was taken by a 75 year old Yogi, who was delightful.
Make sure you go on the sunset canoe trip and also go to the kitchen for a cooking lesson - all in all a very lovely memory.

There are one or two more negative observations I could make, but the positives outweigh these.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gilly0502011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

we stayed three nights at the Purity. The hotel is very modern, nice, clean, comfortable, luxary and stylish - but at the same time it is purely indian and very charismatic. It´s location at the lake is just amazing. The service was perfect, the staff did everything to meet our requirements, and they did that very successfully - a perfect service. The food was that good as well. As far as we are concerned, this was a perfect stay!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank korfia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We were lucky enough to enjoy three nights at Purity and had the place completely to ourselves. As is often the case in these tucked away pieces of Asian paradise, the dirt road leading up to Purity belies what you find at the end of it.

Upon arrival we were warmly welcomed by Vineet, the hotel manager, along with a yummy and refreshing mocktail. Vineet informed us they had just finished a complete refurbishment and the arrival 'lobby' was chic and welcoming. You walk out to the main courtyard which surrounds a main water feature. It was in this spot that we enjoyed our breakfast and dinner each day, although there are a number of spots available for dining, as you can be served where you desire.

The staff were so friendly and accommodating, nothing was too much trouble. Each evening we were able to arrange our meals off menu, discussing what was fresh and available with the chef. The hotel bar is limited with only Indian wines and Kingfisher beer. The latter was thoroughly enjoyed by the boys in our group, however the Indian wine has an acquired taste. That said, the team at Purity were happy for us to bring our own, which we did.

We stayed in the suite which was spacious and finished to a contemporary style. The bed was very comfortable indeed. We saw some of the other 'deluxe' rooms and these certainly will not disappoint. Everything has been done to a stylish standard.

The only complaint, and it certainly didn't spoil our stay, is that the hotel is in the process of expanding, so building work next door is in progress which we weren't made aware of when booking. However, my husband and I successfully blocked this out to background noise and it in no way upset our stay.

We swam in the lake and the pool. Highly invigorating and lots of fun!

There are a few little touches which will elevate Purity to the next level: candles, background music, cocktail list.. However as it is the room rate, and indeed F&B onsite represent amazing value so we would highly recommend a stay here.

Not to forget the Purity spa. Specialising in Ayurvedic treatments, we all enjoyed massages during our stay. One of our group also experienced a private yoga session with a local yogi who comes to give early morning classes next to the lake.

Big thanks to all of the team at Purity. The Malabar House owners and management should be proud. Special mentions to Vineet, 'The Doctor' and the incredibly kind and patient Anup! You helped us all recharge our batteries and we hope to see you again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bekah78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

We had a very large suite. Very grand, the enormous bathroom with sunken bath and large separate shower but the hand basin with an enormous crack running down the front.
The few staff, so very pleasant but very inexperienced. The swimming pool and the surrounds not clean and and by mid morning, the loungers not cleaned with the used towels from the previous day still heaped upon them. When the 'touring manager' turned up and he was, in now uncertain form, told about it, he himself started to clean the area.

Yes, having dinner served in darkness by the lake very romantic until you realise the large prawn you have just started to eat not properly cooked and raw in part, but you cannot see what you are eating as so dark.
The aircon. in our sitting room not working, we were told (without any member of staff coming to look at it) that we cannot have air in bedroom and sitting room.
Building work, to enlarge the property, appeared to take most of the staff attention. Perhaps it will be better when when this is complete.

Room Tip: Wait until ready for guests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HertfordshireKatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
1.3 mi away
Deshadan Backwater Resort
Deshadan Backwater Resort
#9 of 70 in Alappuzha
369 reviews
4.8 mi away
Abad Turtle Beach
Abad Turtle Beach
#2 of 70 in Alappuzha
627 reviews
14.5 mi away
Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Lake Canopy
Lake Canopy
#1 of 70 in Alappuzha
93 reviews
11.5 mi away
Citrus Retreats Alleppey
Citrus Retreats Alleppey
#10 of 70 in Alappuzha
697 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lemon Tree Vembanad Lake Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Purity at Lake Vembanad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Purity at Lake Vembanad

Address: East of Muhamma Police Station, Alappuzha 688525, India
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 177 Specialty Lodging in Alappuzha
Price Range: $161 - $521 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Purity at Lake Vembanad 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking lake Vembanad at its widest point, purity is 50 km from The Malabar House and 70 km from Cochin International Airport. Accessible by car & boat, it is the starting point of our backwater cruise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Purity at Lake Vembanad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Purity At Lake Vembanad Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing