We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place!”
Review of Lemon Dew

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lemon Dew
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Great place!”
Reviewed December 6, 2013

I planned to stay a few days, but I ended up staying here one week. I had a great time in Lemon Dew, Alleppy! The location of the guesthouse is good; close to the bus station, boat-jetty and there's a great place for Indian breakfast around the corner! Clean rooms and a nice rooftop, with hammocks, music, games and home made meals make it a chill out place.
And he guys from Lemon Dew are really friendly and helpfull.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ileen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    45
    13
    8
    8
See reviews for
12
66
48
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Manila, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013 via mobile

Walking distance to the bus and the jetty port, the charm of lemon dew is evident from the outside. With bohemian and playful decor, this place is more than a random, forgettable guesthouse, it has character. The rooftop is an awesome place to chill with dinner and a few beers. The owner graciously makes dinner for all the guests who wants to dine, making it a dinner party of sorts, perfect for the solo traveler. The rooms are basic and need a face-lift (they were repainting when i left). you could probably find a cheaper room of the same quality or a slightly nicer one at the same price, but the vibe and the very friendly staff makes up for the place. A very good place to stay especially for the solo traveler.
They also organize canoe trips which joined. It's a bit costly at 900 rupees, but being able to have a peek at daily life by the backwaters (with a breakfast and lunch in one of the houses) while meeting new people makes it worth the cost.

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Kareeza C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

We found Lemon Dew on trip advisor and decided to stay after reading the food reviews. Room basic but with wifi. Great rooftop with washer machine that guests can use. What makes this place really work and stand out from a lot of other guesthouses is the staff. A good group of guys who are extremely helpful and informative. They are honest about the area and arranged a full day canoe trip through the depths of the backwaters which was definitely one of our highlights in Kerala. If you want good value for money with a friendly vibe stay here.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charliecity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Very nice place - beautiful plants and cool paintings creating a charming atmosphere . The place is run by a couple of very nice and helping poeple. Tours and trips through the backwaters can be organised from the guest house. Rooms are ok and very cheap. The best thing about this place is definetely the rooftop, where you can chill out on hammoks, listen to music or play some games. Ideal place to meet other people.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fabienne911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greece
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

If you're looking for a bohemian paradise filled with plants, cool tunes, a roof top and a quiet location, than this is the place to choose.
Clean, friendly staff and they are more than willing to help out with tours and any other info.

Great place

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lmm27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulamben, Indonesia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

In spending 3 months in India, this was by far the best backpacker i stayed at. Rooms were nice. Mine was on the ground floor, so i had WiFI in my room as well. Staff is very friendly and laid back. At night, the rooftop was a prefect place to hang out and socialize with other backpackers. A feature that most guest houses in India seem to lack, They also organize day tours through the backwaters, which i really enjoyed. Other places in India should take an example of this place!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark_van_Vroonhoven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

The roof gets really toasty during the day, but there are hammocks and small tables (no chairs) to hang out at! This is great because you can talk and mix with other travelers! Most hotels in India don't seem to have this feature!

The staff is really nice. The place is run by a bunch of young guys. Staying here feels a bit like staying at a frat house, and some of the guys can get annoying at times, so if you're a solo female traveler and any of them hit on you, just be firm and say "no".

The rooms are standard. There is wifi downstairs. It's close to the public bus park/station.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BlandDragonfruit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
1.5 mi away
Nova Holidays
Nova Holidays
#5 of 68 in Alappuzha
182 reviews
2.5 mi away
Punnamada Resort
Punnamada Resort
#2 of 68 in Alappuzha
810 reviews
5.0 mi away
Riverine Resort
Riverine Resort
#9 of 160 in Alappuzha
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Lovedale Lakeside Homestay
Lovedale Lakeside Homestay
#2 of 199 in Alappuzha
187 reviews
1.3 mi away
Lake Palace Resort
Lake Palace Resort
#6 of 68 in Alappuzha
373 reviews
8.8 mi away
Lemon Tree Vembanad Lake Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lemon Dew? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lemon Dew

Property: Lemon Dew
Address: near Bhargavan Jetty | Pallathurathy, Alappuzha 688009, India
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 160 Specialty Lodging in Alappuzha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lemon Dew is a place where you can see the sunrise on the backwater and the sunset will be in the paddy field. Our house is situated in a beautiful backwater village with awesome backwater views and gorgeous paddy views. You can always swim on the backwater because where we live there is clean water. Come and join us; you will get heaps of fun and lovely views and you can also experience the real beauty of village backwater life. We are situated just 2.5 km from the Alleppey bus station. You can always get public water transport from our home to town, and the railway station is just about 5.5 km from us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Lemon Dew reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lemon Dew Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing