We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely stay”
Review of Regal Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Regal Mansion
Ranked #17 of 223 Alappuzha B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We only stayed at the Homestay for one night but were very impressed. The rooms were immaculate. The proprieters were friendly and could'nt have been more helpful. We arrived in the evening and the son brought us our drinks on the balcony and was always most polite and helpful. We were recommended a restaurant to eat at that was very good and reasonably priced. The air conditioning was modern and very quiet.
The Homestay is situated conveniently close to the backwaters although away fom the main town.. The road outside is fairly busy, but it did not affect the overall enjoyment of our stay. The new generator will certainly improve the overall comfort without the frequent power cuts. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dcool1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (147)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 147 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stayed at Regal Mansion for 2 nights in March. I did a lot of research on TA before finalizing on this property but alas, some points can only be realized upon staying at a place.

My biggest complaints with Regal Mansion are about the room. While the size was definitely smaller than what I expected, it was not really a deal breaker. But the bathrooms were totally not acceptable. There were cobwebs on corners and faucets, WC and shower looked as if they haven't been maintained / cleaned / replaced in ages. The water was so hard and smelly that my wife refused to bathe for 2 days. That is deplorable.

The AC was weird. We could feel it was switched on but irrespective of what temperature setting (we went as low as 16 deg!) or mode (we tried the Turbo cooling!) it wouldn't cool fast. It was funny because we invariably had to have the fan on all the time.

The bed was basically two single beds joined together but their construction is such that there will always be a gap between them. Hats off to their carpenter. I could not sleep properly because of this reason. The sound proofing/insulation was also not good. Inside the room, we could clearly hear the conversations happening on the dining table outside and it was frankly quite a disruptor.

The good part about Regal Mansion is definitely food. The owner's wife (Raji) is an excellent cook and we were treated to a great breakfast and lunch. Food was very reasonably priced too. Another positive feature to mention is the helpful attitude of the owners. The lady went out of her way to suggest eating options to us and Santhosh helped us get a good price on the houseboat for the backwater cruise.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_Young_Monk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegalMansion, Owner at Regal Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

We and our well-wisher guests have put some genuine photos of our rooms in website.You have booked our room ,one month before you coming here and we will not compelled any guests to stay at our home.Only accept 1/4th of the room rent in advance for booking.

If you couldn't sleep ,and your wife couldn't take a shower,why didn't you shifted your next day's stay to any other near by home stay.There is no difference in our water from others.You will get the same water all over Alleppey .

Ours is a cleanly maintained home,but have no facilities as you get in a three star hotel,like sound proofing rooms.Only a mild voice may enter into the room

.If you have took the photos of our bathroom with dirt or cob-webs,definitely will accept..If any complaints in the first sight,you can tell us at the same moment ,when you enter into the room.

We will always serve you better.Because ,you know...we provided you a delicious lunch on your arrival at 2pm,as you demanded in advance.We provided you breakfast etc
.
We usually give remotes of air-conditioners to the hands of guests for their convenience,If any of the options get changed in the remote,its not our fault.But at the same moment you can call us for service.

But you didn't informed us any thing before taking a leave,But told us "WE FELT AS IF WE ARE AT HOME.YOU ARE VERY FRIENDLY.WE NEVER TASTED THIS PRAWN ROASTED DON'T COME TO MUMBAI,AS THERE IS NOTHING TO ENJOY.WE ARE LEADING A FAST LIFE AND ARE STAYING IN A BUSY FLAT.FROM THAT FAST LIFE WE GOT REFRESHED.We know you felt a family atmosphere here.We have a request that if you feel any inconvenience from our home,pls let us know at that moment,then only we can improve it.

Anyway thank you very much for the second days stay,even though you couldn't sleep and bath.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

True, Regal Homestay is a clean and comfortable place to stay during your stay in Alleppey, but that isn't to say other homestays wouldn't be just as nice for nearly half the price. I found the location to be a bit too far from the town centre. Just to get a bite to eat (already a feat in itself since Alleppey isn't exactly known for it's restaurants) requires a 15 min walk or a riksa drive (Rs40 to town centre/busstation, Rs100 to train station). Restaurant at Sisir Palace was near disgusting - avoid.

The location isn't justified even by being "peaceful" since Regal Mansion isn't even that quiet. The road in front of the house has heavy traffic throughout the day. Toilet paper, towel and soap are provided, but the bathroom looked like it had seen better days. There was something weird going on with the bed, either the bottom was uneven or the mattress worn out. On one side it was so high I almost fell off and on the other side there was a dip. Breakfast was included in the price which was convenient. Also owners were very friendly.

Alleppey is another nondescript Indian town. You definately want to see the Backwaters. If there's enough of you, seriously consider renting a houseboat! If you decide for a daytrip, don't pay over Rs800 for a 8h trip. That's money best spent in this town!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank H J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegalMansion, Owner at Regal Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

We are very much glad to know that our home is very COMFORTABLE& EXCELLENT IN CLEANLINESS &SERVICES.You got all the required facilities like towels,soap,toilet roll,hotwater,freewi-fi etc from Regal mansion.So we can say that ours is a Perfect homestay.Our homestay locates at the proper tourist place,(Boating point) and only 1&half km away from bus stand.We have front area with a beautiful loan and a spacious varanda.So noise from the road will not affect the rooms inside the home.We don't think our room tariff is high,as we provide air-conditioned deluxe room ,without power failure.free wi-fi,hotwater etc.You will get rooms in other homestays with low rate,but may not get the homely services
We are also very much happy to hear that WE ARE FRIENDLY TOWARDS OUR GUESTS.....THANK U

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

I stayed there in March end with my family and my friends.Though we stayed there for one day only but it was pleasure to be there.Regal is a very beautiful house with a big garden.Mr. Santosh and his was were so friendly n ready to help any time.Food cooked by Mrs. Razi was so delicious that still i miss it.The moment i reached Regal,i was so excited that i was yelling out of joy.This is the best place honestly saying.
Thanks to trip Adviser for your reviews.

Room Tip: Corner room or all the rooms are equally good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NamitaJakhar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

The guesthouse is located in a lovely old house. The rooms are clean and the common area has a nice charme to it. The owners are friendly and helpful and helped us with our travel arrangements. I can recommend the Regal Mansion for your stay in Allepey.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarcelIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

I stayed in the Regal Mansion in January while i visit Alappuzha. it was very confortable with a good familly atmosphere. the room was queit and clean good service with good breakfast. The location is near to the house boat river.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vittorio b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Stayed at Regal Mansion one night for a flash visit in Allapuzha. The service was friendly and flexible. The room was over standard, in a lovely house. We really loved our stay, and only regret is we could not stay longer.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarcusHedkvist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
0 mi away
Green Palace Kerala Resort
Green Palace Kerala Resort
#31 of 70 in Alappuzha
96 reviews
0 mi away
Treebo Palmyra Grand Suite
Treebo Palmyra Grand Suite
#14 of 70 in Alappuzha
73 reviews
0 mi away
Nova Holidays
Nova Holidays
#7 of 70 in Alappuzha
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Casamaria Beach Resort
Casamaria Beach Resort
#19 of 70 in Alappuzha
172 reviews
0 mi away
Dazzle Dew
Dazzle Dew
#62 of 223 in Alappuzha
60 reviews
0 mi away
Baywatch Beach Resort
Baywatch Beach Resort
#25 of 223 in Alappuzha
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regal Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regal Mansion

Address: Near Finishing Point | Thathampally PO, Alappuzha 688006, India
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 223 B&Bs / Inns in Alappuzha
Price Range: $31 - $45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Regal Mansion 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect homestay. We treat our guests as family members. Provide homely food, on demand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Regal Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regal Mansion Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing