We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly and helpful”
Review of Regal Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Regal Mansion
Ranked #14 of 204 Alappuzha B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 16, 2012

We stayed here for one night before we went on an overnight houseboat trip. The owners were very friendly, always smiling and very welcoming. The owners brother helped us book a houseboat trip for the following day. This home stay is close to the "finishing point" for the houseboat tours. So we walked to check out the different houseboats before we committed to anything. Definitely a good thing to do as the quality of the houseboats were vastly different. The rooms at the home stay were very clean and the price included breakfast. The owners were kind enough to allow us to hand out on the veranda after we turned from the houseboat the following day while we waited for our train.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ihearttravel5x2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (145)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 145 reviews

Reviewed March 9, 2012

This is a beautifully kept house and I stayed here with my mother for one night in a very comfortable room with a clean bathroom - what joy! The price is reasonable, food is good and the owners very friendly and helpful. There is nice garden and a lovely light verandah to sit on in the morning. Not in the centre of things but this is a good place to stay if, as we were, you are taking a houseboat trip the next day.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Penelope A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2012

To begin with, we reached the place very early in the morning (around 3:00 AM) with lot of suspicions about the type of greeting & accommodation we may get. Surprised to see Mr.Santhosh greeting us with a smile and the accommodation was neat and good. We appreciate the friendliness of Mr & Mrs Santhosh. The rooms are clean, must admit they are compact, perfect for 2 adults with kid. Rooms have hot water supply. Breakfast served was good. Location is very near to the Allepy houseboat jetty.

Would recommend on any day.

I stayed here for two days on 28,29 of February 2012 with my family.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeyakar K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2012

We stayed here for one night after our houseboat. The owner met us at the docks at 9am and walked us over which we appreciated. The hosts are very nice and the room was clean & simple. There is Wi-Fi, AC, hot water. There was a big strike when we were there and everything was closed down so they made us a nice lunch and offered to make us dinner. They can also arrange taxi--we went to the airport from there. There was no view from our room but the front porch was a lovely & calm place to sit, read and hangout. We enjoyed a long walk along the road in front at dusk, when things seemed to liven up (turn left when leaving the house).

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kimmiekat12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

Hi ,
I am Rajeev.M working as a Software Professional in chennai. I have been in allepey two times and both the time i have stayed in Regal Mansion home stay only. The ambience over here is such that it pulls you again and again to stay there.The Rooms have a professional 5 star touch and is very neat and clean Also a lot of Cine artists and foreigners keep coming as their guests to stay in regal Home stay because of the hospitality .The Owners are so friendly and you feel like you are staying at home and not a Hotel. The other great advantage is that it is near to Allepey bus station and also Boat Depot. My only suggestion to them would be to review their pricing for the rooms and a 24 hour stay period instead of a fixed check out time. Remaining everything is great here.
The Economical and Best way to travel around in Allepey city and nearby would be to hire an Autorickshaw which is much cheaper than Hiring Taxi. I personally would suggest Mr.Sujith whose email id is [--] and mobile number [--]. You can hire his Autorickshaw . He too is very friendly and knows each corner of allepey well . The rates he charge for roaming around in his Auto is pretty much less and he is a really friendly and trustworthy guy.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rajeev M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2012

We spent three nights at this nice place in Alappuzha. Not easy to write a lot about it, it was just a good place to stay.

a few more notes
- The owners are very friendly, though it wasn't always easy to communicate with them in English.
- the house has a nice veranda to sit on
- unfortunately the road in front of the house becomes quite busy during the day, so be prepared that it isn't quiet on the veranda (during the nights it is)
- it is a clean place

Room Tip: take the corner room with two windows!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank williwieberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2012

I'm happy that driver took us to this place. Very clean an beautiful house. Family speaks english well. Free wifi. Garden with birds. Very close to backwater boats.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zallesov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
0.0 mi away
The Royale Gardens Hotel & Resorts
0.0 mi away
Deshadan Backwater Resort
Deshadan Backwater Resort
#10 of 69 in Alappuzha
365 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ramada Alleppey
Ramada Alleppey
#9 of 69 in Alappuzha
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Nova Holidays
Nova Holidays
#5 of 69 in Alappuzha
187 reviews
0.0 mi away
Venice Castle
Venice Castle
#2 of 204 in Alappuzha
426 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casamaria Beach Resort
Casamaria Beach Resort
#23 of 69 in Alappuzha
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regal Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regal Mansion

Address: Near Finishing Point | Thathampally PO, Alappuzha 688006, India
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 204 B&Bs / Inns in Alappuzha
Price Range: $29 - $45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Regal Mansion 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect homestay. We treat our guests as family members. Provide homely food, on demand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Regal Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regal Mansion Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing