We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, nice family”
Review of Regal Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Regal Mansion
Ranked #15 of 195 Alappuzha B&B and Inns
1 review
“Nice place, nice family”
Reviewed February 8, 2012

I'm happy that driver took us to this place. Very clean an beautiful house. Family speaks english well. Free wifi. Garden with birds. Very close to backwater boats.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zallesov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    33
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
40
45
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2012

I stayed at the Regal Mansion in late November 2011, having found it quite by accident - from the outside it is the nicest looking homestay (guest house) on the street. Walking through the front door it was a wonderful surprise to find how beautiful and new it is inside as well. My room was bright and clean, and had cable tv and wi fi. The location is on a quiet cocoanut grove lane that is walking distance to the "Finishing Point" (houseboat dock), and there is an ayurvedic center across the way. Every morning Raji prepared a delicious omelette and toast for me for breakfast.

Unfortunately, the weather was unusual while I was there and rained for several days in a row - and then there was a local labor strike. I ended up staying for three nights. Raji and Santosh, the owners, couldnt have been more hospitable and charming-- they arranged my overnight houseboat tour and transportation there, Raji arranged a manicure appt in town for me (something to do on a rainy day) with a rickshaw ride, they gave information about restaurants in town, and even sent their brother-in-law to pick me up after my houseboat tour when the rickshaws were on strike. On the labor strike day when all the restaurants and shops were closed until 6pm, Raji took pity on me and prepared a lovely Southern Indian lunch. We had time to chat and share photos; it was a wonderful personal experience and so nice learning about her family and the Southern Indian culture.

If you are traveling through Southern India and want a real "homestay" experience, you will love the Regal Mansion. It is just that -- staying at the home of an Indian family, in a lovely guest room. I dont think being asked to take off your shoes before you enter (we do that in the USA also) is an inconvenience (as one reviewer remarked); it speaks about how clean the property is kept, and how informal your stay will be. If you enjoy homestay comfort, you will completely love the Regal Mansion.

Room Tip: There are only five rooms; they all seem to be equal - and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElissaUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2012

very nice family, great hospitality. The only place in Alleppey with wi-fi

Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Evi l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2012

We did not plan for this stay at Regal Mansion, after we are done with our overnight houseboat trip, we wanted to stay for the day because our train for Bangalore was leaving in the evening.

Overall, we enjoyed our (me and my wife) stay at Regal Mansion. Don't go by the name, it is not royal or regal. But it's a nicely and neatly built double storied house. Room is clean and airy, it has got TV, fan and AC (chargeable). The bed is comfortable. Owners are nice and friendly. Bathroom clean too. We had good local vegetarian Kerala food (what we ordered after a hectic trip in the state), was tasty and reasonably priced, guess made by the landlady, she was sweet and friendly. She also arranged free Wi-Fi for us, which got me city like speed.

Overall a nice stay.

Room Tip: Corner room is good with two windows. Dont know about other rooms though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Krishanu_Bhatta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2012

We arrived into Allepey late at night after a long train journey, and were delighted to land at regal mansions. The room was a good size, and exceptionally clean (a real treat after staying in more expensive but quite dirty accommodation beforehand), large bathroom with hot water. Communal areas were nicely designed, with little terrace areas out the front with table and chairs, where we enjoyed sitting having a drink and using the wifi.

We hadn't eaten, and the owners went out of their way to get us a takeaway from a lovely local South Indian place, setting the table (and chiling the beer we had bought!), and generally making us feel really welcome. They gave us advice on local activities including a temple festival which was great (dont get that kind of info from the books). Breakfasts were amazing, really good coffee and lovely south indian breakfasts.

We liked the location in Alleppey as it wasnt right in the middle of town so a bit more peaceful, but good access by rickshaw, and close to the houseboat terminal if you are planning to check out some boats. We accidentally took the room key with us on a houseboat for 2 nights when we left, and when we returned it the owners let us leave our baggage for the day while we did some shopping in alleppey!

Fantastic place to stay, super friendly owners, good value - thanks for a great stay!

ps we just read a couple of other reviews and were very surprised - especially regarding shoes outside house as this is normal in south india, as well as 'servants', as this is clearly a homestay not a hotel!!! hopefully such reviews wont affect other people staying at this lovely place!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theycallmeclare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2012

Remotely located. No servants r there. You have to load and unload your luggage yourselves. You have to remove your footwear outside the mansion. Before booking confirm bedsize. They may give u one and half bed instead of double bed. Because once u have confirmed u r booking u r trapped.
I advice to book house boats, shikaras yourselves. There r plenty of houseboats, shikaras available near finishing point. On bargaining u can hire houseboat for as low as 500/- per hour. houseboats are available for as low as 6000/- per night. Regal mansion Check out time is 11 a.m(Beware). Ac rooms 1500/- per room(peak season).U have to Ask for towels, soaps. Personally won't recommend.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prg12186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegalMansion, Owner at Regal Mansion, responded to this review, January 2, 2012
As it is a home ,its a custom to remove footwears while getting into home ..We have only five double rooms,(72 INCHES DOUBLE COT)could accomodate only three adults.But your family includes father,mother,daughter of age above 15 and a son of above 13 years.For this family you booked only one room .So its not at all our fault. Its our favour to accomodate these four persons in a double beded room with out extra cost for bed provided.Because of season time CHRISTMAS &NEWYEAR, we could 'nt provide you sikkara at your rate .We can provide only a homely atmosphere ,don't take it as a hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne
1 review
Reviewed December 30, 2011

after visiting 3 hotels that weren't available, we asked at the regal mansion. it wasn't as expensive as we thought and we stayed for 1 night. we arrived late and there is nothing to eat directly in the street, the housekeeper cooked for us and it was absolutely delicious. we were looking forward for the breakfast that we ordered for the day after! there is not a lot to do around but the place is very nice, and the family warm. one of our best experience in india

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robalie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
0.0 mi away
Nova Holidays
Nova Holidays
#4 of 68 in Alappuzha
176 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort
0.0 mi away
Arcadia Regency Hotel Alleppey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Pagoda Resorts Alleppey
Pagoda Resorts Alleppey
#52 of 68 in Alappuzha
310 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lovedale Lakeside Homestay
Lovedale Lakeside Homestay
#3 of 195 in Alappuzha
184 reviews
0.0 mi away
Venice Castle
Venice Castle
#2 of 195 in Alappuzha
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regal Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regal Mansion

Property: Regal Mansion
Address: Near Finishing Point | Thathampally PO, Alappuzha 688006, India
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 195 B&Bs / Inns in Alappuzha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Regal Mansion 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect homestay. We treat our guests as family members. Provide homely food, on demand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Regal Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regal Mansion Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing