We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly but location not great”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Dazzle Dew

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dazzle Dew
Ranked #47 of 191 Alappuzha B&B and Inns
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Friendly but location not great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

The rooms are in nice little cottages with chairs out front. There is wifi and the rooms have TV. The bathrooms are open-roofed so rather a lot of insects but clean. There was no hot water. Tony the owner was often not around but usually available by phone and his wife was as helpful as possible (and everyone incl children and grandmother very friendly). We spent an afternoon with a very nice tuc tuc guy who took us around town and to beautiful Marari beach for a swim. The next day Tony organised a canoe tour for us which was a great way to see the backwaters. The only downside was that the guide spoke almost no English (even though Tony claimed he did) so it was almost impossible to ask questions about what we saw. The guest house is difficult to find - even with the instructions in Malayalam they provide for drivers. It is about 3km from the canal (to the ferry dock) and 6km from the beach. A bicycle would have been great...

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronaele_N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonyrossu, Owner at Dazzle Dew, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you for staying with us and for your feedback..We know very well that Open Bath room have advantages and disadvantages are there..Any way we can't enjoy the open bathroom everywhere.So PLEASE ENJOY and ADJUST.

Because of the highly restricted electricity problem we remove the water heater from the cottage and now the water heater we fixed in my house just opposite to the cottage and every one can take HOT WATER 24 hrs by Bucket.
Guests Our new DELUXE Rooms are coming by next season ( ( BEDROOM and DRESSING ROOM with 275 sq feet ) and we are fixing Solar Water Heater and the problem will be solved

To the Lake -- 1/2 km just 5 min walk ,To the main crowded street -- 1 k.m ,To the Bus station and government ferry jetty -- 3 km. To the Beach and Railway station 6 k.m
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    18
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
25
20
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in November. Tony and his wife are very friendly and helpful (he arranged a shikkara boat trip for us which was a highlight). We had food one night and it was really good. Tony also got hold of some beer and kept it in the fridge for us which was great. The cottages, set in some land adjacent to the main house, are very basic and very small. I was looking forward to the open bathroom at the back but it was covered in a piece of blue polythene which had collected a lot of dirty rain water. It's in a quiet area of Alleppey which was really interesting but quite a way from the town and shops on foot. It's also really hard to find and has no sign outside. I probably wouldn't choose this place again, mainly because of the location.

Room Tip: There are 2 semi-detatched cottages which as all the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMR243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonyrossu, Owner at Dazzle Dew, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Dear guests,
Thank you for staying with us and for your feedback.Some of the Indian families don't like the open Bathroom.That is why we temporary close one of the bathroom with sheet..Unfortunately we give that room for you..If you just tell me to open it's a matter of 1 minute and you can enjoy the open bathroom. We are making a new sign board ,so we remove all the boards.SORRY for the inconvenience.

Dear guests as you know Dazzle Dew is not located in the crowded street or at the busy side of lake .From Dazzle Dew
To the Lake ---- 1/2 km Just 5 min walk,To the main crowded street -- 1 km,To the Bus station and government ferry jetty -- 3 k.m,To the Beach and Railway station -- 6 k.m
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

Stayed there in October 2013 for two nights. Thoroughly enjoyed. Comfortable room, homecooked traditional kerala food, very close to the jetty. North Indians may find its half open bathroom not to their liking but it was a good experience. Tony arranged clean, comfortable Shikara and canoe. The cottage is away from Tony household. Quiet and peaceful. Highly recommended

Room Tip: There are two cottages with two rooms each. If possible, choose a cottage with the other room empty
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aroranuj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonyrossu, Owner at Dazzle Dew, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Dear Anuj and family,
Thank You for staying with us and for your feedback.See You Again .THANK YOU.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kochi (Cochin), India
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

Stayed last month with my family.Very nice room. Clean, Quiet.Home cooked food very tasty and also the best food we have .( Special Thanks to Tony's wife Swapna and mother ).And the BATHROOM very funny with half top open (Very good Experience) Tony is very helpful for finding a boat and the boat he arrange is very EXCELLENT .

Room Tip: Enjoy The Front Verandah
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank itoop a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodford, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

We spent two nights here and it was very comfortable, the home cooked food was lovely and Tony helped us arrange a traditional riceboat along the Kerala Backwaters for a few days, he also helped arrange transport with tours around Alleppey I would definitely recommend Dazzle Dew to friends.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonyrossu, Owner at Dazzle Dew, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for staying with us and for your feed back.SEE YOU AGAIN .THANK YOU from the whole family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kottayam, India
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

Our recent trip to Alleppey was reached upto our expectations due to the comfortable service we received at Dazzle Dew.The Kerala dishes we needed were served to us with quick service.The
garden in the front of the resort is very beautiful.The facilities like WiFi connectivity,car parking,
e.t.c are very useful.It was a wonderful stay we had.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shinysunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kottayam
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

Spent the Holidays with my family at Dazzle Dew.Very clean rooms.Delicious Home-cooked food.Nice and peaceful environment.Fabolous service.The garden is very spacious and beautiful to relax and is suitable for the children to play.The best facility is that WiFi connection is available 24 HRS a day.
Tha host Tony fulfilled our expectations for a wonderful homestay and also took us on a backwater and sightseeing trip.
Best suited for people who wish for a wonderful Homestay with their family.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saji j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
1.9 mi away
Alasr Heritage Home
Alasr Heritage Home
#1 of 191 in Alappuzha
5.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.0 mi away
Regal Mansion
Regal Mansion
#17 of 191 in Alappuzha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
0.7 mi away
Alapatt Homestay
Alapatt Homestay
#26 of 191 in Alappuzha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Kalappura Homestay
Kalappura Homestay
#4 of 191 in Alappuzha
5.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
19.8 mi away
Breeze Backwater Homes
Breeze Backwater Homes
#20 of 191 in Alappuzha
5.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
0.7 mi away
Venice Castle
Venice Castle
#2 of 191 in Alappuzha
5.0 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dazzle Dew? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dazzle Dew

Property: Dazzle Dew
Address: East of Cheramankulangara Temple | Thathampally p.o, Alappuzha 688013, India
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 191 B&Bs / Inns in Alappuzha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have 4 rooms with a/c and non a/c facilities. Looks like traditional Kerala cottage with a front open veranda to get a good view of garden and with a top opened bathroom. Only homely food we are serving.Our Location is in a very good Residential Area between town center and lake side Distance from Bus Station and Government ferry 3 kmFrom Railway Station 6 kmTo Lake side 5 min walk (1/2 km)To Main street 1 kmTo Beach 6 km ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Dazzle Dew reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dazzle Dew Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing