We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Little Homestay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Malayalam Lake Resort Homestay
Ranked #13 of 195 Alappuzha B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kunming, China
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Beautiful Little Homestay”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

My only regret with this stay was that I only booked one night. I would have loved to have a couple of days to sit on our little balcony and watch the boats go by. This is a small little inn. The terms "resort" and "homestay" are clearly just local marketing quirks as it's neither thing, but it's a real gem. It's situated so close to the water in Alleppey's backwaters that half of the rooms are just a yard or two from the river, and they all have balconies or little patios with chairs and tables. (Four of the rooms are set back a few more yards from the bank to create a tiny courtyard; they have larger balconies with full-size tables, but the space means there are some plants and tables between them and the water.) The rooms aren't big, but they're simple and beautifully made with finished wood floors, walls, and roofs, and enough room for a bed with a mosquito net canopy and a little desk. There are shutters on the windows to close at night, but there are some open slats with screens on them near the ceiling, and in the morning the light reflected off the water and threw a rippling effect on the ceiling, which was beautiful to wake up to.

The potential downsides of the place for some people:
You do have to walk along a dirt path next to a lovely little canal for about three minutes to reach the place, but this means it's not right on the road, which is really nice, and the hotel staff will come out and put your bag on a bike to wheel it in when you arrive. Just make sure you have a flashlight if you're going out at night.

The bathroom doesn't have hot water in the shower, but there are hot and cold taps in the wall that are used to fill up a bucket that has a scoop; this is traditional for all homes and lots of guesthouses in Kerala. It's actually a nice way to bathe if you need hot water, and it's so warm out that a cold shower in the afternoon is really nice.

There's no air conditioning, but it cools down a bit in the evening, and there's a ceiling fan. And I have to admit, the mosquito netting isn't really big enough for the size of the bed (it doesn't come close to reaching the floor, and there are gaps where it meets the bed), but for some reason we didn't have any mosquitos at all while we were there; it's possible the town treats the water for them since the water is the main tourist attraction.

Lastly, it is quite a walk into town for lunch or dinner, and there's no food (or beer or bottled water) on site other than breakfast, but there are auto-rickshaws parked in the lane at all hours, and the ride is less than $1 each way.

The guesthouse's owner was extremely friendly and helpful and provided us with a town map and restaurant suggestions. And when he found out that we wanted to take a boat trip on the river, he arranged for the right kind of boat to actually pick us up at the banks in front of our room. He also arranged a car to take us to the airport when our stay was done.

The next time I manage to make it to India, I'm going to set aside three days at the end of my trip to just relax here. It was the most beautiful, lovely place I stayed in two weeks of traveling, and while it had a couple of slightly rustic qualities, it was still much nicer than many of the supposedly fancier (and much more expensive) places we stayed.

Room Tip: The more expensive rooms are the ones that are closest to the water. I loved the upstairs room they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    32
    10
    4
    0
See reviews for
14
70
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hitchin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Took two rooms on the ground floor with a long private balcony and our own poop deck for lounging and watching all the fun of the river.
One of my favourite places to stay in all of Kerela !!
Simple and immaculate rooms with such a pretty view right at your door .
Thomas and Jose who run Malayalam were wonderfully friendly and welcoming especially with our 2 teenage boys ... Thomas lit incense for us at night to help keep Mosquitos away .
Thomas also recommended setting our alarm for 6am to watch the sunrise.... Breathtaking and he joined us bringing fresh coffee with him.
It's a wonderful spot to take a small boat and explore the narrow canals and observe river life up close..

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HitchinKerrigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 30, 2012

I was wondering whether I’d made a mistake with this place, having been hastily dropped off around 1am in what seemed like the middle of nowhere by a rickshaw driver too terrified of snakes near the waterways to take me the whole way!

However, the manager came out to rescue me swiftly and showed me to the room which turned out to be only a couple of minutes away. The view out my front door in the morning was breath-taking, with space to lie down under a shade overlooking a gorgeous stretch of the backwaters.

The manager, who didn’t speak a huge amount of English but was very friendly, suggested several walks around the area which turned out to be amazing – tropical scenery like nothing I’d ever come across. A couple of canoe trips from the homestay around the labyrinth of tiny waterways were also unforgettable.

A brilliant homestay in a top location a bit out of town from Allepey, the only minor down-side being that at certain points during the day, the river can get jammed with rice barges and the noise / whiff of diesel fumes a bit over-powering. Don’t let this put you off though – the place is generally calm, peaceful and highly recommended. Tony C

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

After a terrible experience at the so-called Paradise Inn, I moved to Malayalam and was delighted with Jose and his guesthouse. A lovely, friendly manager, and a nice peaceful, picturesque location. Yes, there are lots of boats going past, but that adds to the enjoyment of being there, or it did for me anyway. Good customer service from this team, highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agra, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

Such a great little piece of paradise.

Situated right on the waters edge of the backwaters you get to enjoy the house boat traffic scooting past your window.

Us personally enjoyed that, however it does involve a lot of boating traffic and touristing waves from the water boats.

The particular type of style of building encompasses nature and I feel if this was a modern building with air conditioning you would miss the vibrancy and charm of this beautiful place.

I would recommend this place, but if sleeping in no air conditioning, with mosquito net over your bed with locals loving a wave this is not for you.

For us, it was a piece of paradise.

Thank you Jose and Thomas and your wonderful staff thank for your hospitality.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank thebohemianjuhnkee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

This homestay was the most beautiful place we have stayed from our whole 3 week trip through South India. We had 2 splendid rooms on the first floor, with a huge private terrace, on the front of the main building. The view in the morning and the evenings are splendid, watching the boat passing by. The location is very quiet, located just outside the city center. The homestay is not reachable by car, a five minutes walk from the road brings you - along a small canal - to the river and the homestay. The owners are most friendly and helpful, they can arrange everything you would like to do in Allepey: houseboat, massage, ricksha, taxi, ... A real must-stay place!!

Room Tip: Ask for the new front rooms on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas3054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We got to Malayalam Resort in the late afternoon and the nice staff welcomed us with a light and delightful dinner served in our room's balcony: just fabolous.
Right under the balcony the water of the channel was jently flowing and we could admire the nature and the boats. It was like sleeping on a houseboat (which we did the day after) but even more relaxing. Friendly owners suggested us trips and tips.
Very cheap for what is offere, don't miss it!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fra_camilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
20.7 mi away
Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort
0.7 mi away
Ramada Alleppey
Ramada Alleppey
#9 of 68 in Alappuzha
678 reviews
8.8 mi away
Shanthitheeram Lakeside Heritage Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort
0.9 mi away
Punnamada Resort
Punnamada Resort
#2 of 68 in Alappuzha
795 reviews
2.4 mi away
Alasr Heritage Home
Alasr Heritage Home
#1 of 195 in Alappuzha
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malayalam Lake Resort Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malayalam Lake Resort Homestay

Property: Malayalam Lake Resort Homestay
Address: Near Nehru Trophy Snake Boat Race Starting Point | Punnamada Road, East of Tottathodu Bridge, Punnamada, Alappuzha 688006, India
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 195 B&Bs / Inns in Alappuzha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a place with best lake front location in Alleppey, best sleep quality, best in class rooms with wood and bamboo, excellent service with calm and quiet atmosphere...!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Malayalam Lake Resort Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malayalam Lake Resort Homestay Hotel Alappuzha
Malayalam Lake Resort Homestay Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing