We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place on Allepey beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casamaria Beach Resort
Ranked #27 of 67 Hotels in Alappuzha
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place on Allepey beach”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We have stayed at the Casamaria Beach Resort on Alleppey beach in February 2013 during our travel along south Kerala coast and it was a really pleasant stay. The house feels like home, rooms (3 at the ground floor and garden and 3 at the upper floor) are spacious and comfortable, the owners and staff are friendly and helpful, the beach just in front of the house is wonderful and almost empty except a few local fishermen.
Nearby along the street there is an excellent Dreamers Cafe & Restaurant and just 200 m across there is the railway station. In fact on our way back from the south we stayed there for three more nights.

BTW – Alleppey is worth visiting not only for the backwaters tour but for the splendid and still pristine and deserted beach that is not even mentioned in the travel guide!

As a mature couple we really recommend this place. It’s wise to book in advance.

Tanja and Primoz

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Primus_SI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WilliamMaria, Owner at Casamaria Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Casamaria Beach Resort !!!

Thank you for your candid review of your stay with us.

Many thanks for taking your valuable time to write about us. I am glad that you had a wonderful stay at Casamaria Beach Resort

We will be more than happy to welcome you back and delight you as always.

Warmest Regards,

William Rodrigues
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    54
    15
    8
    8
See reviews for
52
54
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We went to this hotel towards the end of March (almost off season) and they were apparently "completely" booked! Now in normal circumstances (when temperatures are not soaring high and Kerala is a cool and pleasant place for a vacation) I would have understood all 40 (FORTY!!) rooms booked but no no no.. not when even the beach behind the hotel was closed to guests.
And get this, I asked whether they were having any conference/seminar (which could have been why the hotel was sold out in off season), but they refused.

Are they biased? Do they not want Indian guests? Or...do they judge based on your looks?

The front office weren't helpful at all and were pretty cold in their behavior.

I have stayed in quite a few 5 star hotels and trust me, the property didn't even look as if it was worth 20k per night.

Also, the Marari beach is quite far from the hotel.

All in all, not a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nams_adi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WilliamMaria, Owner at Casamaria Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Casa Maria beach Resort.

As anyone can understand from our website we are six room property and having tariff around Rs. 3500 to Rs 4000 . We neither are a 40 room property with high tariff nor a five star property as claimed in this posting. As many guests of this platform will vogue, we welcome every single guests with open hand. We believe that this posting is a case of mistaken identity and you have posted the feedback about some other hotel under our hotel name. Request you to be kind enough to write to trip advisor and remove this posting at once as it affects our livelihood.

Thanks and Regards

William Rodrigues
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Casamaria provides you with all the elements which you seek when you want to take a break with family or group of friends. Great value for money, clean, neat bed room and toilet, great food - we tried only local, good staff with excellent attitude, great access to the beach and decent space for kids to play around.
Already planning another trip with my friends.....

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shilendran M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WilliamMaria, Owner at Casamaria Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Shilendran ,

Thank you for giving your feedback through TripAdvisor.

We are all delighted to know that you enjoyed the stay with Casamaria Beach Resort , .We appreciate your effort in having time found to write about us in your review

We once again thank your appreciation which is a motivation for us to strive our best of services for the forth coming clients

Warm Regards,

William Rodrigues
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allahabad
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed in Casamaria Beach Resort in June 2011 alongwith my family...
Really location is great , Food and service was excellent...Resort have direct access to the beach...I love the place and hotel...Will come back again Casamaria...

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnsariAllahabad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WilliamMaria, Owner at Casamaria Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Guest ,

We are extremely pleased to have met the expectancy level , . That is the only thing that we strive for. We would want our guests to cherish the memories of the time they spend with Casamaria Beach Resort.

We are thankful to you for your kind words of encouragement and support

Warm Regards

William Rodrigues
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

While we were staying at the Fort Castle Hotel in Fort Kochi, Jo, the manager suggested that we might like to stay at Fort Castle's sister hotel, Casa Maria, in Alleppey, which was managed by his brother, Gypson. Since we still had another week to go until we could move into our apartment in Fort Kochi, we decided that we could suffer a week at the beach!

We were warmly welcomed by a whole host of locals, whom we assume were Gypson's family, and other hotel staff members. After booking us in, Gypson gave us the lowdown on the local area, pointing out where the ATM is, the beer parlour, restaurants, and which times were best to swim in the sea. He also said he could arrange any excursions we'd like to go on. Unfortunately, the only two days we had time to go on a backwater cruise coincided with the nationwide general strike, which meant of course, that we missed out!

Our room was a good size, with a very large bed, which, although slightly firmer than we usually like, was nevertheless incredibly comfortable (possibly a futon mattress??). All six rooms at Casa Maria face the sea, and with the windows open, we could hear the gentle roar of the tide, which was wonderfully relaxing. Since our room was on the upper floor, we had a good view of the beach, the sea, the fishermen, and the local birdlife - it all made for some great photo opportunities, particularly at sunset!

Access to the beach is via a gate at the end of the garden, and is less than a minute's walk to the sand - perhaps two minutes to the sea itself. After swimming, there is a convenient shower in the garden where we could wash away any sand we'd accumulated on the walk back.

As with Fort Castle, breakfast was basic and Western; fresh fruit, toast with butter and jam, and omelette (although had we wanted to, we could have had our eggs boiled). The usual beverages too, were on offer - juice, water, coffee, tea. It would have been good to have a choice of Western or Indian breakfast - we would have definitely preferred to have Indian breakfast! In fact, a group of Indian guests who were staying at Casa Maria had local food for breakfast - we were rather envious! Still, there was absolutely nothing wrong with our Western fare, and the Masala omelettes were delicious... plus, we could sit out in the garden to eat, which was truly lovely!

After reading several reviews which said that there was no restaurant at Casa Maria, we were pleasantly surprised to find a menu in our room. We enquired about lunch, and we told that as long as we gave at least an hour's notice, food would be no problem. Unlike most hotels we've stayed at across the world, the food at Casa Maria was very reasonably-priced, and actually cheaper than some of the other restaurants along Alleppey beach. In addition to some Western dishes, which we ignored, there is a wide variety of Indian food on offer, so we availed ourselves many times (especially during the strike). The food was simply fantastic! Lots of different curries on offer, several choices of rice and breads, and plenty of vegetarian food (I heartily recommend the tomato Masala, vegetable kadai, and paneer butter Masala). The cook at Casa Maria really is to be congratulated! Had they offered cookery classes, I would have definitely signed up!

There were a couple of minor negative aspects to our stay - no deal-breakers though! Our shower had no pressure or hot water at all unless the pump was on (which only seemed to be after we'd already washed in the mornings!). Not a big deal though - we had the customary bucket and jug, which will never cease to be a fun novelty for us(!), and given how warm the weather is, washing in cool water was not a problem at all. In fairness, we probably could have asked for the pump to be switched on but since we were happy to make do with what we had, we didn't feel the need to add to the electricity bill!

Secondly, and this may well be an issue all over the district, or it may be that there's a data cap on the hotel's connection, but as with Fort Castle, the internet was very slow, and after an hour or so of being online, it practically packed up altogether (although Skype seemed to be fine). As a food writer and blogger, this made being able to work extremely frustrating, especially when trying to upload photographs. It also meant I could not download any emails, nor even access my webmail because webpages just would not load. Had I been on a deadline, this would have been very problematic. Ordinarily this would not have been a problem at all as I have an Airtel 3G dongle, but in Alleppey, it just would not work!

Those slight niggles aside, we had a great, and very relaxing time at Casa Maria, and its beachfront location means it is always quiet. Both the aircon and the fan are extremely efficient, and the slightly darker decor of the room, with the stone floor, ensure it keeps a cool temperature very well. Gypson, his wife (we assume!), and the hotel staff are incredibly helpful, lovely, friendly, cheery people, who helped to make our stay such a wonderful experience - even teaching us some rudimentary Malayalam! We would have no hesitation in returning, and would recommend it to anyone looking for comfort, location, peace, and superb food (which I shall be reviewing on my food blog, 'Yumsome')!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yumsome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WilliamMaria, Owner at Casamaria Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Guest ,

Greetings from Casamaria Beach Resort !!!!!

Thank you for taking the time to go into so much detail and share your experience with the online community.

Our endeavor, always, is to exceed our guests' expectations so that they may have a memorable stay with us and in turn recommend the resort to their family, friends and associates. ..We look forward to retain the same as well.your feedback's and appreciation has always improvised our growth.Thanking you once again for choosing Casamaria Beach Resort for your stay in Alleppey .

Warm Regards

William Rodrigues
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We absolutely loved this place, a cozy experience full of hospitality. Rooms are clean and well maintended, the staff is very accomodating. We had a room on 2th floor, giving an ocean view and overlooking the patio, with palms and flowers. 2 minutes to Alleppey beach - deserted and calm. It is ansolutely secure. Home cooked breakfests are offered, also one can enjoy typical Kerala plates in the menu. The best part is hospitality! The place is managed by a young couple, nice people, very friendly and helpfull. They can arrange mostly everything, following your demand. We had private excursions and a professionnal massage in a trusted ayurvedic center.
Fully recommended!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katou_06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WilliamMaria, Owner at Casamaria Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Casamaria Beach Resort !!!

Thank you for your candid review of your stay with us.

Many thanks for taking your valuable time to write about us. I am glad that you had a wonderful stay at Casamaria Beach Resort

We will be more than happy to welcome you back and delight you as always.

Warmest Regards,

William Rodrigues
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 15, 2013

VERY GOOD STAY
I stayed there for two nights. Very safe and secure place. The manager, Mr. Gypson is a gem of a person and a great host. His suggestions were very valuable. Thanks to him for all his guidance. Rooms are good, clean and give a homely feeling. The Beach is very nice.. A good place for a calm and relaxing holiday...
We really enjoyed Casamaria resort. Staff are friendly and helpful. Mr. Gypson is a real care taker. A Heartfelt thanks and salute to Mr. Gypson. My kids still remember his food. The service / the staff were so helpful and caring for our needs and and were available as and when needed. The resort is a gem of comfort andgives a homely feeling.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank muhammadshafips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WilliamMaria, Owner at Casamaria Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your stay at Casamaria Beach Resort , Alleppey ..

We greatly appreciate your continued patronage and thank you for your kind feedback about Casamaria Beach Resort , It was with equal pleasure that your comments were shared with our entire team.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to. Casamaria Beach Resort , Alleppey ..

Best Regards,

William Rodrigues
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
0.3 mi away
Alleppey Beach Garden
Alleppey Beach Garden
#13 of 67 in Alappuzha
5.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
23.4 mi away
Grand Ayur Island
Grand Ayur Island
#11 of 67 in Alappuzha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
2.6 mi away
Pozhiyoram Beach Resort
Pozhiyoram Beach Resort
#57 of 67 in Alappuzha
3.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.3 mi away
Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort
1.1 mi away
Palm Beach Resort
Palm Beach Resort
#28 of 67 in Alappuzha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
3.3 mi away
Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casamaria Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casamaria Beach Resort

Property: Casamaria Beach Resort
Address: Beach Road | Alleppey, Alappuzha 688012, India
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Alappuzha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casamaria Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a place where senses are delighted and desires are indulged. A place where you pick the pace and you choose the mood. A place of inimatbale style, unprecedented privacy and ultimate personalised attention. Welcome to Casamaria set on the shores of a far blue Arabian sea of wonderful beauty. Designed for those seeking an easy going foot-in-sand experience this dazzling, small and sleek boutique resort feels like home away from home and offers the ultimate holiday experience for you to indulge with your loved ones. If you are looking to explore the backwaters or just escape to a new world, Casamaria is your perfect heaven. At Casamaria, you may choose to Unwind in the garden, Plunge into your hammock, Relax from the comfort of beach umbrellas, Dream to a symphony of rolling waves, Wiggle your toes in the soft, white sand, Snooze off in the bedroom or let the naturally air cooled winds to soothe you as you train your eyes on the horizon. When not in resort embark on a voyage of discovering the back waters or the nearby temples or the town famously known as Venice of the east. At Casamaria you create a collage of timeless moments – as perfect as you’d imagined them to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Casamaria Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casamaria Beach Resort Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing