We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serene Paradise”
Review of Ananda Beach Home

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alappuzha
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ananda Beach Home
Ranked #126 of 201 Alappuzha B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Hammocks, real trees that are part of the decor of an inside bathroom, and a private and quiet beach. Ananda Beach Home was a serene and unexpected oasis at a very reasonable price. The strength of this hideaway is the quirky but casual comfort of the rooms, and the accommodating staff. My travel companions, a group of American students traveling abroad and on spring break were absolutely delighted with our room. Where else could you find a comfortable bed AND an actual tree growing in an enclosed bathroom? The staff was so friendly and helpful . At one point even letting us cook in their kitchen. The end result was that a mere five hours after our arrival we had put together a beach party for 20 that included an impromptu band. Swimming in the private beach at night provided the unexpected surprise of bio-luminescence in the water. We had planned to continue traveling but lulled by the simple comforts of hammocks, friendly staff and a sandy quiet beach, we ended up staying an extra three days. The reasonable price made this feasible and not a budget buster. Truly one of my favorite places in India.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chicanapoet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (53)
There are newer reviews for Ananda Beach Home
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 53 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2013

I went with six of my friends to allepey. Resort is really good. Rooms are clean and open bath room concept is too good. Awesome hospitality :-) everything was taken care off by resort folks. Thomas was quite helpful with everything. My stay was so good that I can say it was just like a home :-) the resort has a beach next to it and it is wonderful :-)

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Niket_jmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

After a 5 minute ride in a rickshaw from Alleppey's centre through winding streets and lush nature, we arrived at the most beautiful little place called Ananda beach resort. The private beach was of course the most dazzling after having spent dusty hours in town, but the place was great in every other aspect. The rooms, bungalows, were well furnished and fresh with a great outdoor bathroom and shower which brought in the sun during the day or the moonlight and stars during the night.

Having chosen to backpack, we had not booked ahead and had plans to leave the following morning, but after five minutes at Ananda beach resort we decided to stay 2 nights instead of 1.

However, aside from the location (which was near town with a rickshaw but without the honking horns and traffic), what was the most extraordinary about this place were the people that worked there! Thomas and his friends were the reason our stay was so amazing and frankly, exactly what we needed at that point in our travels. Through Thomas we found a great Ayurveda place, great restaurants in town and even our next accommodation in Peryar. We got to play badminton at the break of dawn with him and his team, a visit in his home with a good cup of tea, got a candle-lit dinner served to us during one of the evenings, and even a picnic breakfast packed for us the morning we left for Peryar, with omeletts, sandwiches and fruit.

I don't really know how to convey exactly how pleased we were with our stay at Ananda beach resort, the combination of serene surroundings with lush nature and yet the proximity to Alleppey, the extraordinary service and personal contact with the staff, and the opportunity to see parts of India and its people that one would never have the chance to see at some other places.


Thomas and the rest of you, thank you once again from the family from Sweden (Åke, Agneta, Sara, Anton, Hanna)! We had an amazing stay and hope to see you again :-)

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank snckiskexet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

I and my Husband have gone to Ananda Beach Home Retreat for our Honeymoon on February 18, 2013 for 1 night. This resort is a complete value for money . Its totally different from the daily hectic monotonous hectic schedule. Its just on the beach that is totally private , no disturbances, no interferences. About the property is very simple but an overall new experiences. Hats off to the staff who has always given more than 100% to serve us the best quality. Food was yummy and a memorable place to stay for 1 night.
A big thanks to Mr. Thomas.Inspite of heavy rain next day morning he has done everything perfectly and with great effort.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ishani22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

A perfect getaway from the hectic life….Wonderfulous & fantabolous!!!!

We spent 10 days in Kerala, it was the most wonderful experience. The food and service was pretty good. The best part was the beach which is a wonderful experience. We would like to come again and spend more time and relax….it’s one of the best beach hotels that we have stayed. Special thanks to Thomas and his team who made our stay so wonderful and felt like home.

We miss the time…wish could come there often…thanks a lot for making this trip so memorable..

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent & good ventilent
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angel2027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Its just an average resort in Alleppey with plenty of other good options however its the amazing experience of hospitality which makes our stay wonderful.

- Rooms are small, clean and descent with just basic amenities, however open bathroom concept is wonderful

- Location is deep into a village with a small but lovely beach just beside the cottages

- Auto charges 80-100 from Allepey market/ BS/ RS

- Superb guest care, all requests are looked into well

- Food is above average in taste and low in price.. Especially breakfast was awesome

- Highly recommended for couples and elderly who wants to enjoy the beauty of sea beach just next to their cottages

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rishabh_Agg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Stayed here for a couple of nights on 26 to 28 December 2012.

FYI, this place is also known as Pozhioram (or something similar) beach home so it seemed a bit confusing at first. The place is about 7 to 8 kms from Alleppey station about 2 kms from Thumpoly church so if you take the pre-paid rickshaw just outside the station, the fare will come to Rs. 60 till the church or Rs. 80 till the home. The place is towards the end of a village gathering and you have to take the small road that leads from the main road to reach this place. On both sides of this road are village type houses.

The place is just next to a small beach and fenced all around. We had booked a non-A/C room at the gound level. The room was smallish, okay and just about functional, nothing great or spectacular about it. I guess the A/C rooms/cottages might be better fitted out.

If you need to visit the town or station, the manager can call an auto rickshaw to the doorstep and the charge will be Rs.100. However if you are in the mood for a small stroll, you can take a leisurely 15 minute walk along the village road to reach the main road and hail a passing auto rickshaw for Rs. 70.

The complimentary breakfast on both days was good, in terms of quantity, quality and variety. We are not very picky about food anyways during our travels as we tend to stay out of the hotels for the entire day for sight seeing.

It can get quite hot and humid in Alleppey (even when we visited in December) and more so in the other months so plan to book an A/C room if you are particular about the climate.

If you need to reach the place towards the evening in a rickshaw (for which the charge will be Rs. 100) after you complete your sight-seeing activities in the town (boating etc), make sure to mention the destination as Pozhioram beach home to the rickshaw driver as it seems they are not aware that this place is also known as Ananda beach home.

You take also take a stroll along the beach road and the fishing village to visit the Thumpoly church.

On the last day, Mr. Thomas was kind enough to let us stay on till about 2:30 pm as our train was at 3:00 pm.
What's more, he even dropped my mother and me to the rickshaw stand on his 2 wheeler and saw us off!

All in all, a good stay.

Room Tip: Try to book the a/c rooms if you are particular about the hot and humid climate of the Kerala plains...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abhijit_roy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alappuzha
0.3 mi away
Pozhiyoram Beach Resort
Pozhiyoram Beach Resort
#56 of 68 in Alappuzha
73 reviews
2.9 mi away
El Oceano Beach Villas
El Oceano Beach Villas
#11 of 68 in Alappuzha
62 reviews
5.6 mi away
Xandari Pearl
Xandari Pearl
#1 of 5 in Mararikulam
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Abad Turtle Beach
Abad Turtle Beach
#1 of 68 in Alappuzha
611 reviews
0.0 mi away
Beach Paradise Ayurveda Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Colonel's Beach Villa
Colonel's Beach Villa
#22 of 201 in Alappuzha
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ananda Beach Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ananda Beach Home

Address: JRY Road | Thumpoly, Alappuzha, India
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #126 of 201 B&Bs / Inns in Alappuzha
Price Range: $51 - $55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Ananda Beach Home 1*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ananda Beach Home is surrounded by a pristine lush green coconut grove and with a quiet and serene secluded beach.The cottages at our property is built in Traditional Kerala Architecture with Mangalore tiled roof, were you have splendid view of beach and the ocean beyond from Veranda. It is next to the Alleppey beach, and before Marari beach nestled in a lush green coconut grove and with a quiet and serene secluded beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ananda Beach Home Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing