We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“enjoy your private space”
Review of Ananda Beach Home

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alappuzha
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ananda Beach Home
Ranked #128 of 212 Alappuzha B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 29, 2012

This resort is located next to beach. This overrides all minor disadvantages of the resort like slight old cottages, not very good food...etc....But the location is fantastic....we reached there post sunset and could not see how far is sea but could hear the sound of the waves hitting the shore as if it was just a stone throw away....There are cottages spread over the space with a small private portico also....the bathroom is open (no roof) gives you a feeling of taking bath in open in a beach...we didn't go anywhere....went to be near shore in morning and spend the rest of the day idling in the garden...kids were busy playing with sands...overall a good place to spend leisure moments.....

Room Tip: There is a cottage facing the sea directly...and take ac cottage only as the weather is generally ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharmaak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (53)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 53 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2012

What works well - great location of the property which is right on a small beach. There are cottages with amazing sea views. The tariffs are very reasonable for a resort which is right on the beach. Service is excellent with very friendly staff. The resort itself is well maintained. The rooms are very clean and the bathrooms are excellent with a sky view. Hot water was provided on request and there is a power generator backup in case of power failures. The manager of the resort, Mr. Thomas, was very helpful and he went out of his way to accomodate us and make us comfortable in all ways. My son fell ill during the stay and he helped us with the doctor visits and the medications. Our heartfelt thanks to him. The resort is 2 kms away from the Alleppey town and ideal in ensuring that people are away from the hustle and bustle and the sounds of the city. The food was authentic kerala cuisine was very well done. My wife went for some ayurvedic massages and it was very professional. Children will love this place since there are huge open green spaces for them to run around and parents can feel absolutely safe. The staff arranges for boat houses as well, which is a plus. We dont need to approach multiple people for this. Missus loved it and my son enjoyed a lot. This made my holiday worth it.

What did not work so well - A fisherman's village is right next to the beach. It is better to avoid the beach and its surrounding rocks early mornings since it is used for their nature calls. If you don't see this, you will be fine. The house boat was a slight disappointment since it was not very clean and the room was very smelly. Since the resort is slightly far from the town, one will end up shelling out money on auto's if visits to the town are required. I had a few visits to the doctor since my son was not keeping well. Otherwise, visits to the town might not be required.

Room Tip: All cottages are equally good. All provide great sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hemanth r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

It's always a worry, when you travel with the missus, if things will be up to her liking -- if she likes it, it's a great holiday. If she doesn't, well, you hope to be next time lucky.
By this yardstick, Ananda Beach Home, run by John K Jose, is a winner. The resort, just abutting the seaside, is a charming place, with compact cottages that are accessorised thoughtfully. Loved the little touches like traditional clothes hangers, etc. The verandah with hammock nearby, was too beautiful, with its view of the sea. The bathroom is a personal favourite, with partly open roof. The resort is clean, well planned, and to top it all the kitchen turns out awesome food. What more can you ask for!

Room Tip: If the sound of waves thudding on the rocks a few metres away will keep you awake at night, then ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Saisuresh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2012

This is a nice place with friendly staff, and like someone has mentioned, a short rickshaw ride from the main city. The rooms were clean, and this was just next to a fishing village. There is a beach which you step on when you step out of - but be careful - the fishermen have an interesting use for the beach.

The stay was good, and the food decent. I cannot complain, and I will stay there again if I have the chance.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YSSridutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

Hi, our first visit to Alleppey kerala on (8th & 9th of March 2012 ) referred by one of our collegue became an memorable experience for us. It gives us an immense pleasure to share our feelings with you. Firstly coming to hospitality is very good.Secondly the way of receiving and treating the visitors by them is so ausum.Especially, i cant close this review without saying thanks to Mr.Thomas.He is very co operative .Nextly , coming to the food its really so good as we never felt that we are out of our home,

We are glad to share our feelings with all of you and can surely say that others also feel the same and make their moments more memorable.



With Best Regards
Sushmita & Sharath
[--]

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharath b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2012

We were visiting Alappuzha district for three nights and looking for homelike accomodation by the seaside. Ananda Beach Home is located a little further up the coast, hidden in the peace and tranquility of a fishing village, yet only short taxi ride away from the bustling center of Alappuzha. We could not be more satisfied with our choice. From the very first moment, we felt like home and Mr. Thomas did his best to make our stay pleasant and memorable. We will never forget the magical atmosphere of the tropical nights. A full moon was shining over the nearby canal. Waves were breaking on the beach. We could have stayed all night on the verandah and in the hammock, enjoying the night with all our senses. Early in the morning local fishermen went to sea. If you are seeking a touch of authenticity, this could be your place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matka0pas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2012

Alleppey was added to my travel itenary jus a week before my departure date...
My friend said its gonna cost me a BOMB for a Beach resort. I showed him Tripadvisor page of Ananda beach Home - Alleppey. He was still not satisfied and said that resort should be a Kilometer away from the beach and they r making a false claim. Even i doubted Tripadvisor reviews at that point. but still i decided to go with ananda beach home with a gut feeling.

Abt the location: When I landed at the location my friend and myself were very wrong. The Beach home is right on the seashore. Very beautiful compound (Lotta trees). Scenic beach in its backyard. Ananda beach home is a visual treat.

Abt Staff: Very friendly staff. I get spell bound by the extent they can go to help their guest. They are willing to help and support their guest even after check out. They have an exhaustive list of most happening places around and (Manager) Thomas: [--] is always ready to guide you to the location.

The name suits them rite: Ananda Beach HOME... Its definitely a home away from home.

Mr.John ([--]) owns this place. dint get an oppurtunity to meet him... Mr. John keep up the good work.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
3.3 mi away
Lake Palace Resort
Lake Palace Resort
#5 of 70 in Alappuzha
405 reviews
7.8 mi away
Lemon Tree Vembanad Lake Resort
2.9 mi away
Nova Holidays
Nova Holidays
#6 of 70 in Alappuzha
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Punnamada Resort
Punnamada Resort
#4 of 70 in Alappuzha
840 reviews
3.1 mi away
Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort
3.1 mi away
Ramada Alleppey
Ramada Alleppey
#9 of 70 in Alappuzha
760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ananda Beach Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ananda Beach Home

Address: JRY Road | Thumpoly, Alappuzha, India
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #128 of 212 B&Bs / Inns in Alappuzha
Price Range: $23 - $54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Ananda Beach Home 1*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ananda Beach Home is surrounded by a pristine lush green coconut grove and with a quiet and serene secluded beach.The cottages at our property is built in Traditional Kerala Architecture with Mangalore tiled roof, were you have splendid view of beach and the ocean beyond from Veranda. It is next to the Alleppey beach, and before Marari beach nestled in a lush green coconut grove and with a quiet and serene secluded beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ananda Beach Home Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing