We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Park and MV Apsara was a great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Park on Vembanad Lake
Ranked #39 of 68 Hotels in Alappuzha
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We had 3 days on the MV apsara (which is part of the Park hotel). The cruising on the lake was very well organised with varied trips every day. The food was excellent and a nice mix of something different each day. Cabins on the Apsara are pretty good and the beds are very very comfortable. I have seen some adverse comments about the size of the rooms and the ability to store suitcases, but this is a small(ish) cruiser with a small number of cabins (it's not a sea going cruise liner !). For what it it, the size of the cabins are excellent.

We had one small complaint and that is that we ate at the large outdoor table at the park for dinner and it was a little uncomfortable - the table is difficult to sit at no matter what your height (if you are tall, you can't get your legs under the table easily and if you are short, the table is a bit high). We were VERY impressed with the food and the chef was excellent, so we tended to ignore the uncomfortable table :-)

Staff on the Apsara and the Hotel were excellent and made our stay very pleasant.

Room Tip: We had an upper deck room on the Apsara and this was excellent.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin and Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (122)
There are newer reviews for The Park on Vembanad Lake
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 122 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2013

The PARK has a small but beautiful property on the vembanad lake. Their are only 10 rooms at the property but are extremely well designed, spacious and comfortable...we travelled as a family with 2 kids and the room was spacious enough to accommodate the kids...all rooms have private sit out balconies which overlook the vembanad lake...the balconies offer stunning views of the lake...the infinity pool is small but again well designed...its a quiet place....perfect for a relaxed holiday...the food tastes good and they don't offer an extensive buffet, they offer a set menu or ala carte. there is not much to do around the property apart from walk in the village, where it is located...it is better to have ones own transport if you visit this place...all in all, we had a good holiday..

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kunjna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at The Park on Vembanad Lake for three days in January.

Property & Location: The property is beautiful, a little far away from the center of Allepey, but fairly easy to find once you've taken directions from the front office. While every room has a view of the Vembanad lake, the rooms on the higher floors have more sweeping views. The scene is absolutely stunning. The property is right next to the lake and offers beautiful, uninterrupted views. You could just sit in the balcony of your room with your feet propped up, look at the changing colours on the serene lake and watch the houseboats lazily making their way through. The place is very quiet and peaceful through the evening and night. The only drawback here was that we had a corner room, which overlooked a small courtyard outside the property on one side. This place ws pretty noisy during the day, so you might want to avoid that. The property is fairly far out of the city so getting around the place is a hassle. They do help you get autos or taxis but that gets pretty expensive. It would be best to have a ride of your own before you get here.

Service: The check in was quick and hassle free. In fact we were allowed an early check in and were served pretty much the whole breakfast buffet when they realized we'd been traveling for a while. The service throughout our stay was on the slower side, the bags took a while to get to the rooms and the food even longer, but given we were in a holiday mode, that didn't bother us too much. The service otherwise ws great. The front desk staff was well informed, always ready with phone numbers, contacts and information on activities you might want to do while staying there. They booked a lovely shikara ride on the lake and backwaters for us. While it is extremely convenient to get them to book one for you, I'm sure you'll find a cheaper one on your own.

Food: The breakfast buffet was a part of our package. It's not really too much of a spread. Basic cereal, toast, eggs to order, tea/coffee/juice and one pick of a south imdian breakfast item (idly or dosa or vada etc). The food was great but if you are looking for an extensive spread, this will certainly disappoint you. Other meals are not included in your package, but given that there are no other restaurants in the vicinity,expect to have every meal at the hotel itself. The concept is unique. They send the chef over to your room to understand the kind of meal you would like to have. The food is then custom made for you. Each of our meals were delicious local food, but we wished there were more options to choose from. Also the food was pretty expensive. A meal for two with rice, curry and one other item was close to 1.5 - 2K.

Overall, it's a beautiful place and we had a lovely stay at The Park. Yes it is expensive, but if you don't mind splurging a little bit we'd definitely recommend making a trip.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashwini M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maneesh B, General Manager at The Park on Vembanad Lake, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank You for the wonderful comments made and we are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay at the Park On Vembanad Lake, We hope you to come back once again.
Thank You.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

I and my wife stayed at this hotel in Dec of 2012. We loved the place at first sight. The hotel is located on the banks of Vembanad lake overseeing huge expanse of water giving a great view of houseboats passing by. Paddle boat ride is included in the package and we enjoyed a nice boat ride in beautiful Vembanad lake.
The hotel staff is cordial and food was delicious. The hotel manager "Minu" was really helpful and attentive. The cook takes personal orders and prepares dinner and lunch based on your preference. Morning coffee was one of the best I had in long time and we enjoyed quiet mornings during our stay.
There is not much to see around so make sure to arrange a car to travel nearby places.
Overall the experience was great and we will love to go back some day.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikhil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maneesh B, General Manager at The Park on Vembanad Lake, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank You for the wonderful comments made and we are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay at the Park On Vembanad Lake, We hope you to come back once again.
Thank You.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Will not recoment this place to anyone. Unless u r ready to get robbed. Very arrogant and bad front office staff. Charged me inr 4231 for a meal when I was on all meal plan.this is daylight robbery. Rooms and food good . Aother staff esp the chef very nice and courteous.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank mohammedniaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maneesh B, General Manager at The Park on Vembanad Lake, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Dear Guest,
We are extreemly sorry for the inconvenience happened to you, though the time has passed but still we expect you to back once again to experince warm, new and a different stay without a single drawback, Hope to see you soon,
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

Thoroughly impressed by the property and service both. Reached at 4.30 am. Guy told us to straight go to room and catch up with sleep. He told can do check in formalities later . Indeed a nice gesture. This is a boutique property with only 10 rooms. All food items were made to order and no buffet. Chef showed special gesture in customising food as per individual palette. Service was too good esp Meenu, Akhil and Anand. Over all an excellent stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rajarshipanigrahi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maneesh B, General Manager at The Park on Vembanad Lake, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank You for the wonderful comments made and we are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay at the Park On Vembanad Lake, We hope you to come back once again.
Thank You.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Good big rooms...nice infinity pool .......good service.Clenliness in the rooms is properly taken care.You can enjoy the pool as in house activity aprt from that nothing more to do....or you can try fishing...by the lake side and if you are lucky and catch one...you can ask the chef to prepare the same for dinner...thats what we were told;)...but we were not so keen to do fishing...Spent most of our day time in the pool....food is ok...chef personally ask for your choice and prepare the same for dinner.....Overall very comfortable and memorable stay.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Pool and the lake have very good view.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Siddhartha80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maneesh B, General Manager at The Park on Vembanad Lake, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank You for the wonderful comments made and we are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay at the Park On Vembanad Lake, We hope you to come back once again.
Thank You.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
0.0 mi away
The Royale Gardens Hotel & Resorts
0.0 mi away
Deshadan Backwater Resort
Deshadan Backwater Resort
#10 of 68 in Alappuzha
361 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The World Backwaters
The World Backwaters
#18 of 68 in Alappuzha
322 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand Ayur Island
Grand Ayur Island
#57 of 68 in Alappuzha
86 reviews
0.0 mi away
Green Palace Kerala Resort
Green Palace Kerala Resort
#34 of 68 in Alappuzha
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Park on Vembanad Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Park on Vembanad Lake

Address: Puthenangadi, Muhamma Panchayat, Alappuzha 688525, India
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Alappuzha
Price Range: $92 - $462 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Park on Vembanad Lake 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Park on Vembanad Lake in Kumarakom West, Kerala Backwaters is the sophisticated docking station for the Apsara. With a total of ten luxury rooms and a deluxe room lake view room, the resort exudes elegance and style.The Resort offer very private stay offer complete serenity.In food we offer traditional Kerala cuisine along with complete range of Indian and International gourmet to choose from.Aura Spa keeps one relaxed and helps in rejuvenation.The M.V.Apsara Built on two levels, the Apsara consists of eight rooms, a crew cabin, a galley, saloon and dining area, a sundeck and a picturesque forward seating area. The interiors of this luxury cruiser have been designed keeping in mind the luxury and comfort that the well-heeled tourists and leisure travelers require.Apsara Backwaters Cruiser offers contemporary and modern amenities offering inspiring design, innovative dining, sensuous entertainment, instant connectivity and edgy art. The onshore gym and the tented spa offer Ayurvedic and international treatments.The dining area and salon, situated on level 1, with their grand décor create an ambience of luxury. The corner sofas with cushions and tables on level 2 provide ample space for guests to sit back and enjoy the panoramic view of the backwaters. The impeccable services extended to the guests combined with the enhanced display of sophistication makes the voyage memorable.Enjoy this unmatched abode in a perfect eco-setting - a pleasant escape to the lap of nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Park on Vembanad Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Park On Vembanad Lake Hotel Alappuzha
The Park On Vembanad Lake Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing