We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXcellent choice for stay”
Review of Ashtamudi Homestay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ashtamudi Homestay
Ranked #25 of 68 Hotels in Alappuzha
Reviewed June 1, 2014

we were welcomed as walkins , due to unexpected change in plans for a couple of hours, and yet had a great experience .Very authentic breakfast , served hot and fresh, good service , clean accomodation .........i would definitely reccomend this place and yes if i had a chance to revisit i know where i will be staying

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maria E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (378)
There are newer reviews for Ashtamudi Homestay
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 378 reviews

Reviewed May 10, 2014 via mobile

The room itself is very basic, AC in ground floor was comfortable. Bathrooms were not great, dusty, water was very slow in tap.

The boat house experience was awesome. Decent boathouse, courteous staff, good food.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank Vinodraj D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Firstly, this place looked amazing. It is the one hotel room I remember the most vividly from my travels- unfortunately for all the wrong reasons.

The staff are wonderful, and very accommodating. we asked about boat trips and were very reasonably priced compared to others along the backwaters.

It seems it is very difficult to keep a bamboo room clean and with the exception of the bed (which was lovely) everything else felt dirty. cobwebs, dust etc. The net over the bed is more than necessary as the gaps in the bamboo mean this is more of an outdoor adventure, but the bed could do with posts to hold the net off of your face, as it is very difficult and uncomfortable to relax (although the balcony area is quite lovely, you can't really use it in the evening for fear of being eaten alive!!). TV didn't work (no real hardship there).

Now, being made of bamboo i appreciate it must be difficult to ensure sound proofing. However, I could hear my neighbours at all times (at one point I thought the man next door was in our wash room and ran out). At night you could clearly hear the rats running along the roof- and there had certainly been one in the bathroom as it ate our soap and left a poo in the sink!!! Hilarious, bizarre, and an experience. Just not one i'd be willing to repeat

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kirstie0504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

This is a brilliant homestay. We stayed one night then headed off on their boat trip over night. While everyone at the pier was trying to rip us off, this family offered fair and honest prices and we had a fantastic time. While the boat itself isn't the most stunning on the water, we discovered its not about what the boat itself looks like; the views that you get from it are far more important. The food was sensational. The staff very friendly and helpful.

We did one other cruise on an aesthetically pleasing boat with someone we found at the pier. While the boat itself was nicer the staff were rude and only cared about money. They weren't willing to waste fuel going far out into the backwaters. The cruise on the astamudi boat was tenfold better at a fraction of the price.

The Ashta Mudi boat experience was one i will cherish for a long time. People say its easier and better value to find a boat at the pier but actually that was stressful and we couldn't find anyone offering a better deal than ashtamudi (even after hours of haggling!). If I was you I would book the Asta MUdi boat, it wont disappoint.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Will O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014

We arrived at the homestay late in the evening. But the reception was prompt & we were straight away shown our room.

Tourists do frequent this place, as the auto-drivers are well aware of this location. We got all possible help & information from the owners.

Would recommend this for people who want to stay for 1 - 2 days. Budget stay with excellent food.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jesthi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

A historic building centrally located in downtown Alleppey. It's easy to hop on a Tuk Tuk and be at the beach for a nice sunset walk or shopping. However, in our experience, management is a bit cryptic. Although It was not busy during our stay, somehow we felt rushed to make snap decisions with inconsistent information. We asked to have cloths washed and were charged 10x the rate of other homestays - leading us to question other prices quoted. We asked for direction and logistical help to visit near by attractions recommended by Karela Tourism and told "no, just go to the beach." Also, Ashtamudi is not a place to just hang out. It's hot, loud and the upstairs lounge is not comfortable.
We rated 3 stars because of the houseboat experience arranged by Ashtamudi management. The food, staff and all around houseboat experience arranged by Ashtamudi was positive.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Kirk2480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

We booked 2 nights with aircon beginning of March. We did put up a mosquito net, so had no problems sleeping. Bed was comfertable. The owners were helpful, and very pleasant. The email communication was excellent. The balcony upstairs was a nice place to sit and read. There was Mosquitos in the evenings, but this is to be expected in India- so we just made sure we were covered up.
The breakfast wasnt great- basic ommlette- but adequate.
The homestay is in a good location, and met all our needs. Don't expect luxury, but a decent enouph bed for the night.The downstairs rooms stay very cool, with the benefit of aircon. The bamboo rooms may be a different experience.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kath d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
2.2 mi away
Tamarind KTDC Easy Hotel
Tamarind KTDC Easy Hotel
#47 of 68 in Alappuzha
9 reviews
12.7 mi away
Suvasam Lake Resort
Suvasam Lake Resort
#31 of 68 in Alappuzha
42 reviews
0.9 mi away
Nova Holidays
Nova Holidays
#5 of 68 in Alappuzha
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel AJ Park
Hotel AJ Park
#20 of 68 in Alappuzha
55 reviews
9.8 mi away
Shanthitheeram Lakeside Heritage Resort
2.2 mi away
Pozhiyoram Beach Resort
Pozhiyoram Beach Resort
#56 of 68 in Alappuzha
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashtamudi Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashtamudi Homestay

Address: West of S.D.V. Central School | Zilla Court Ward, Alappuzha 688 001, India
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Alappuzha
#4 Romantic Hotel in Alappuzha
Price Range: $16 - $29 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the vibrant town of Alappuzha which is the centre for adventures into the Backwaters of Kerala. Ashtamudi Home Stay is a welcoming and peaceful place with friendly English speaking staff. The rooms, although fitted with modern conveniences such as cable TV and air conditioning, are styled in the Keralan tradition, echoing the look and feel of the backwater houseboats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Ashtamudi Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashtamudi Homestay Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing