We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay in Ashtamudi Home Stay”
Review of Ashtamudi Homestay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ashtamudi Homestay
Ranked #26 of 70 Hotels in Alappuzha
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Rooms are very neat and clean and uniquely built. The owners are also pleasant and caring. However the service levels are not very appropriate - I mean the time taken to provide food is very long and kills the patience. However the quality of food provided is very good.

Room Tip: Bamboo rooms are really good and worth
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CRK9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (379)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 379 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

So, so lovely and generous. Very helpful, went above and beyond for us helping plan our stay and take is places. We felt very welcomed. Extremely cheap too! Rooms were nice and clean, our belongings were safe while we were gone for a few days. Highly recommend!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank zoejayne89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

booked this property through tripadvisor and thanked them with all my heart. the family there took so good care of us and made out stay enjoyable. they arranged the boats for us at half the cost and the owned didn't hesitate to take us to the beach in his own car as their driver was on leave that day. my taxi drive, whom i had picked up from kochi airport kept on persuading us against going to that place and thank God we trusted tripadivsor over him. genuine people and genuine comforts.
highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anj191824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Happened to read the TripAdvisor reviews on this home stay and I must say that the hospitality was up to the notch. Though missed the dinner as the host Umajii was not feeling well, but happened to catch the Breakfast in the morning ( I must say nice Dosa). They also guided to a good houseboat (Gowri) and the staff aboard were very courteous and polite.

Room Tip: Better to choose A/C as Bamboo rooms can be a bit stuffy for some.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ganesh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

I'm so glad we ended up at Ashtamudi! We arrived by bus at 6am and they didn't hesitate to open up their doors and offer us coffee. The place is clean, comfy and has solid wi-fi. Over the course of our four day stay we felt completely at home. Uma arranged tours and massages for us and fed us delicious traditional breakfast. When a family emergency meant we had to leave abruptly she offered to help us arrange tickets back to the US and even accompanied us to the airport in Kochi to speed up our exit. Sometimes you feel like people are nice because they 'should' be but Uma, Subash and their team are just genuinely good people. We hope to visit them again someday.

Room Tip: We stayed in an A/C room downstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AshlieTBO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Never written a review but this homestay and the owners lovely couple really deserve it ;) !!!!! Words can't describe how much I adore this place and the people who make it so incredible!!!
They wer very kind, lovely and adorable to me !!always welcoming !! I should say i had ma best stay at Ashtamudi Homestay.... cant forget those wonderful dayz i had with them.... Umma aunty and Subash uncle was sooooo kind to me..really wonderful people. ....
The room was impeccably clean, spacious and lovely !!!The balcony is too beautiful offering the best sight one can get as you step out of the room !!! cool place to relax!!
And yeah gotta say Umma aunty who is a fabulous cook ;) I would love to say her food is amazing ... she made me delicious food...dont forget to ask for her special DOSA & yummy FRIED RICE :) & Subash uncle is a fantastic man he will take u to boating n all those stuffs he alwayz teases me around but in a way i enjoyed it ;) had lots of fun ... ever memorable
love you both sooo much :*
If you have a chance, this is a place you shouldn't miss in Alleppy , maybe in India.
Very strongly recommended for everyone.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 101,123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

yes .. my alleppey plan was to in a Houseboat a day n then at ashtamudi homestay ... but unfortunately there was a houseboat strike going on when went ... thus we directly decided to go at ashtamudi homestay .. we decided to go for bamboo rooms which were awesome , Uma helped us a lot with travel tips & food options ... in short - Awesome Stay !

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Viraj S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
0.2 mi away
Royale Park Hotel
Royale Park Hotel
#29 of 70 in Alappuzha
77 reviews
0.9 mi away
Nova Holidays
Nova Holidays
#7 of 70 in Alappuzha
195 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pagoda Resorts Alleppey
Pagoda Resorts Alleppey
#57 of 70 in Alappuzha
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Treebo Palmyra Grand Suite
Treebo Palmyra Grand Suite
#14 of 70 in Alappuzha
73 reviews
2.2 mi away
Pozhiyoram Beach Resort
Pozhiyoram Beach Resort
#59 of 70 in Alappuzha
76 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel AJ Park
Hotel AJ Park
#25 of 70 in Alappuzha
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashtamudi Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashtamudi Homestay

Address: West of S.D.V. Central School | Zilla Court Ward, Alappuzha 688 001, India
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Alappuzha
#4 Romantic Hotel in Alappuzha
Price Range: $21 - $28 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the vibrant town of Alappuzha which is the centre for adventures into the Backwaters of Kerala. Ashtamudi Home Stay is a welcoming and peaceful place with friendly English speaking staff. The rooms, although fitted with modern conveniences such as cable TV and air conditioning, are styled in the Keralan tradition, echoing the look and feel of the backwater houseboats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Ashtamudi Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashtamudi Homestay Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing