We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Holidaydiva28
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates

Wonderful

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Mar 30, 2017via mobile
Had an overnight trip on one of their two bedroom boats. It exceeded our expectations in every way. Was very relaxing with very helpful friendly and kind staff. Everyone was happy floating down the river. Food was fabulous, varied and plentiful. Kayak tour of the smaller backwaters was memorable getting so close to all the families living on the waters edge. We stopped at the end of the day for a massage at Ayurvedic Centre and that was an experience. Not for the body shy. Would recommend it though. Then stopped in our spot for the overnight stay which was calm and peaceful. Sad to leave after breakfast the next day. Did as part of a tour so not sure of the cost.
Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GM_Xandari, Manager at Xandari Riverscapes, responded to this review
Responded Apr 6, 2017
Hello there,

Seems like you had a fabulous time cruising through the backwaters and witnessing life at the water edge! We are also delighted to know that our fellow Xandarians brought you a flawless holiday experience. The Ayurvedic massage is a very relaxing experience and we suggest it to all our travelers – we are happy to know that you enjoyed it.

Should your travels bring you back to Kerala, we wish you would join us to experience the backwater journey once again.

Happy travels.

J Sunil
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • MakeMyTrip
    $78
  • Booking.com
4.2 miles from Xandari Riverscapes
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $64
  • Booking.com
2.1 miles from Xandari Riverscapes
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    $82
  • ZenHotels.com
    $78
  • Priceline
4.4 miles from Xandari Riverscapes
Free Wifi
Free parking
$83
$72
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
13.2 miles from Xandari Riverscapes
Free parking
Breakfast included
Go to your Happy Price
  • Agoda.com
  • MakeMyTrip
    $18
  • Vio.com
6.0 miles from Xandari Riverscapes
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    $137
  • Trip.com
5.8 miles from Xandari Riverscapes
Free Wifi
Free parking
$16
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
3.9 miles from Xandari Riverscapes
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $70
  • Booking.com
2.6 miles from Xandari Riverscapes
Free parking
Restaurant
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    $66
  • eDreams
10.9 miles from Xandari Riverscapes
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • MakeMyTrip
    $57
  • Priceline
24.1 miles from Xandari Riverscapes
Free parking
Restaurant
View more hotels in Alappuzha
Reviews (509)
Filter reviews
509 results
Traveler rating
407
80
13
6
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
407
80
13
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews smaller boat upper deck one night night cruise house boat air con unique experience boat crew bedroom boat overnight stay prawns kerala backwaters canoe ride river cruise daily life chicken curry fish market
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
224 - 229 of 509 reviews
Reviewed February 27, 2017

Booked this through Cholan Tours and again they picked a gem.
Arrived at the jetty and welcomed with a cold drink and towel. Check in took minutes and after the explanation of where we were going were taken to the boat to find we were the sole occupiers - how marvellous. We were introduced to the three man crew who were extremely welcoming and given a drink of fresh coconut. Setting off through the backwaters lazing on our relaxer chairs was completely charming. This has got to be experienced!!!
Philip our chef cooked us a lovely meal on a banana leaf for lunch while all around birds chirruped around us. This is a birdwatchers paradise. We then set off again until we stopped for dinner and the night. Again dinner was excellent and a Keralan meal was served. Once darkness fell we retired to our aircon room which was very comfortable. Expected lots of mosquitoes but actually less bites than on an evening in Skye with the midges!!!
After a substantial breakfast we set off again visiting a church, some shops, on the way watching life as it happens on the backwaters, then after lunch a canoe trip through the narrower backwaters, a visit buy some fish which were cooked for dinner that evening.
An excellent peaceful trip made special by the crew of the Chandari.
I would recommend two nights to get the full flavour of the backwaters. One is not enough

Date of stay: February 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank hearthammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GM_Xandari, Manager at Xandari Riverscapes, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2017

Hi there,

We enjoyed reading the elaborate account of your perfect backwater cruise! Vembanad is absolutely a birdwatchers paradise since a lot of migratory birds make a stopover here. Kerala cuisine charms every traveler with its blend of aromatic spices and herbs, which is a delight for the senses! Our chef Philips is thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the food. Thank you appreciating the efforts we made to make your journey marvelous.

Here’s to hoping for more such beautiful travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2017

We had a three bed room boat for six of us. The boat is very large with air-conditioned bedrooms and attached bathrooms. There is a large sitting area with benches along the sides and a dining table in the middle. The best part was the upper level deck. The boat is kept very neat and clean by the crew. The onboard chef prepared excellent meals. Variety was very good. The Karimee fish was excellent and so were the fresh dosas and Idly for breakfast. we were also taken on a smaller boat through the narrow channels providing a glimpse of the village life on the back waters. The three crew members on board were very courteous. The check in process was very quick and the boats were ready when we arrived. There was no delay boarding the boat. I think these boats were far superior compared to the others we saw on the water. Excellent experience.

Room tip: This is a boat so rooms a not very large but not very small either.
Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank sanjayk468
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GM_Xandari, Manager at Xandari Riverscapes, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2017

Hello Sanjay

Tranquil and comforting are the two words that best describe the backwater cruise in Kerala! Travelers from far and wide consistently praise the beauty of the backwaters and its marvelous backdrop. A magnificent haven like this has got to be shared with nature enthusiasts like you and Xandari Riverscapes does just that. We are happy to know that you enjoyed the experience we brought you and hope you will be back for more nature holidays.

Happy travels to you.

J Sunil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2017 via mobile

We are Seniors travelling from Australia. This was a wonderful experience, the attentive staff Joseph, Prince and Jobbi are to be congratulated for attending to our every need. We were picked up from the Wharf at Kumarakom Lakes Resort for our backwater adventure. On arrival at the end of our experience, when our LPTI Driver miscalculated the traffic congestion and was 45 minutes late, a Shore Crewmember, who could converse in fluent English, was able to call Cochin LPTI Office and keep us informed on the drivers arrival - many thanks to all concerned.

Date of stay: February 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank 524diannea
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GM_Xandari, Manager at Xandari Riverscapes, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2017

Hello Dianne,

Your heartwarming review has made our day. Our fellow Xandarians are experts at making travelers feel comfortable at all times and it’s great to hear your comments about them. The backwater adventure is an exclusive feature of Kerala holiday and glad to know that you enjoyed it. If Kerala makes it to your travel itinerary again, do check out the tranquil experience we have kept for at Cardamom County, our haven in the hills.

Happy travels to you.

J Sunil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2017

The boat was very relaxing, the crew was friendly and helpful. The meals were fantastic.
Very relaxing way to spend a day after your tour of India. Highly recommend.
The rooms are simple but comfortable with a/c and showers.

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Fay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GM_Xandari, Manager at Xandari Riverscapes, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2017

Hi there,

Thank you for joining our mesmerizing cruise through the breath-taking water network of Alappuzha – one of the most relaxing ways to soak in the natural beauty of Kerala. It is indeed a matter of pride and joy to know that you had a lovely time with us and enjoyed the entire experience.

We look forward to having you on board soon.

J Sunil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2017 via mobile

We boarded our houseboat the "Karamana around 12.30pm and were greeted by a delightful crew of Shibumon - Captain, Saneesh - Driver/Engineer, and the wonderful chef Shiju, with a coconut milk drink and great smiles.
The rooms where clean and nicely presented and the boat was immaculate.
The crew were very attentive and the food provided was great and plentiful.
The scenery amongst the backwaters was also great, going through the canals viewing day to day village life.
The cruise itself was wonderful and very relaxing, just what was needed after the 4 hour drive from Thekkady.
Lunch, Dinner and breakfast is provided along with aircon in the bedroom.
I would suggest that anyone going on the houseboats if you would like a drink (alcohol) that you purchase it beforehand at the Government appointed stores as there is none available on the boat apart from fresh water. Saying that the crew where happy to make a detour should you require any provisions.
A very relaxing and thoroughly enjoyable trip.

Date of stay: February 2017
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank andreasO6927QU
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GM_Xandari, Manager at Xandari Riverscapes, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2017

"Hello Andrea!

A sail through the mesmerizing nature with a personal entourage is an absolutely fabulous experience, isn’t it? Backwater cruise is one of a kind experience that you get to enjoy in Kerala from serving fresh sea food to ensuring a relaxing stay, Xandari Riverscapes includes all the essential elements to create a memorable holiday experience.

We are very happy to know that you had a good time with us! Should your travels bring you back to Kerala, do check out the beautiful experiences we have kept for you at Xandari Harbour, our harbor-facing, waterfront property at world heritage-worthy Fort Kochi) and Xandari Pearl at Alleppey, our beach hideaway.

See you soon!"

J Sunil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews