We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply superb.....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The World Backwaters
Ranked #18 of 70 Hotels in Alappuzha
Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

Great locations, neat and clean room with lake view what else we need? Breakfast spread is good, dinner is ok. I just loved the resort. Staff is courteous and helpful. We enjoyed 2 nights and 3 days and would like to come again in future.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank nirajdesai00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worldbackwaters, General Manager at The World Backwaters, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Dear guest, Thank you Very much for choosing our resort for your vacation in Kerala. Delighted to know that you enjoyed the resort and the facilities. Hope to be of service to you again. Thanks once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (327)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

197 - 203 of 327 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2014

This was my first and much awaited trip to kerala with my best friend. It was just mommies & kids. A perfect holiday is all I can say. The property is beautiful & the location is good & view is breath taking. One of my best holidays. The staff (front office, restaurant, driver, housekeeping & all others) were very friendly & took care of us very well. The kids had a blast too. A very well maintained swimming pool. The food was awesome. We did a couple of sight seeing too. A must visit for the travellers. Thank you so much for making our stay a memorable one. Hoping to come again sometime soon.

Room Tip: A backwater facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anshuman777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worldbackwaters, General Manager at The World Backwaters, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Dear guest, Thank you very much for your review about our Resort on TripAdvisor. we are happy to note that you had a wonderful time with us . Let me thank you for staying with us and for your great review about us . we look forward to welcome you to our Resort again in future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

loved this resort,it has very good wifi and is close to the city and has a beautiful garden nice programmes a beautiful pool very good staff nice rooms and spacious very big resort and good view you must stay here

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dayne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worldbackwaters, General Manager at The World Backwaters, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2014

Dear Guest, Thanks for your positive feedback and are extremely glad that you enjoyed your holidays in The World Backwaters. It gives us more strength in furthering our services for our esteemed guests. Hope we can be of service to you on your next visit as well as

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2014

Lots of Ups:
Check in was smooth. The location of this resort is great. Right on the lake. The service was good and they respond to your request as much as possible. The rooms were clean and comfortable. You have different options for rooms depending on your budget. The place had good ambiance, and peacefulness. The restaurant had a good buffet breakfast and was tasty. For lunch and dinner the food quality varied, mostly was good. Some could feel the prices were higher, but at such places these high prices are expected. If there are enough room occupancy they offer dinner buffet like what we had for one night and it was really worth it. We had a kid and the restaurant manger was very helpful in preparing whatever they could for him. Overall a nice place that I would recommend.

Few Downsides:
The washrooms could have been better though. They were clean on the general but the corners, basins, shower area etc were stained. Not a sign for a 4 star rated place. Another down was the pool. The pool was nicely placed facing the lake, but the maintenance was poor. The tiles in the pool were coming off and the pieces were lying in the pool floor, troubling your feet. The area is frequented by birds and its feathers and droppings were found.
Another problem was there were frequent power cuts and it took upto 2 mins for the generators to kick in, even at night. During that time it will be pitch dark in the nights, with no safety for the children and elderly and everyone. We would not have minded short disruption to the A/C and TV, but pitch darkness is the down, emergency lamps would have been appreciated.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BBharath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worldbackwaters, General Manager at The World Backwaters, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2014

Dear guest, Thanks for your feedback and acknowledging us as a good place to stay in.
We have taken note of the matters you have suggested and will make sure of better service next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2014

Magnificent,Breathtaking, splendid....... I can keep on adding adjectives as many to define the location and hospitality. Stayed there with my wife and daughter from 11-13 May 2014.From the booking staff Ms Aswathy before reaching the resort to Mr Sombit after reaching the resort..... all were helpful.We reached late and were escorted in the designated room almost immediately after being greeted with welcome drink and completion of the necessary documentation.The check in was smooth.The hotel staff is warm and friendly. A point to be mentioned here is that the place is a bit in the interiors.12 kms from the nearest known place Cherthala.Airport AC cabs costing Rs 23 per Km is readily available at the airport run by CIAL, ( can check their website for other distance and details) took me INR 1700 for my trip.
The rooms are spacious and clean. The pool overlooks the vast backwaters of the lake Vembanand and is clean.The toiletries provided in the rooms are adequate and linens are clean. A comfortable hammock is placed in front of all rooms.I stayed in a lake facing cottage (room 601) which also had a separate sit out approachable through a stair inside the room. The sit out itself was excellent especially when you have a private corner facing the pool and the huge expanse of the backwater during the moonlit night.
The dining area is located next to the pool and the restaurant is fabulous with added personal attention of the manager Mr Subash.However the foods are overpriced but tastes awesome. An average non veg plate is INR 350 if not more.The breakfast spread was great and adequate.The options in the menu varies from Indian,Continental, Chinese,Kerala Cuisine and other South Indian dishes.The Karemein ( Fish) Polichetu a local kerala delight was awesome.
The hotel provides cycling facilities for its guests for free, which otherwise is charged in many other resorts of Kerala where i stayed.The property has a small waterway where they offered peddleboats.It also boosts of a Kerala Ayurvedic centre though i felt i would savour the resort itself than the treatment.... a pure personal choice.The hotel has its own Shikara which takes you around the lake at a fixed rate per hour.
Local transport is a bit costly with drop at Allapuzza costing INR 1000 fixed. Hence the cheaper option is the Tempo Cab charging INR 8 per km is an ok option to move around.
Overall an awesome place to stay and very highly recommended for all.Hope my photos clicked during my stay at the property would justify my excellent rating of the place. Highly Recommended.

Room Tip: Room 601, 602 are indl cottages and face the lakes Room 503,504,803,804 are double storeyed rooms a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Calcatian77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worldbackwaters, General Manager at The World Backwaters, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2014

Dear guest, Thank you very much for your detailed review about our Resort on TripAdvisor. we are happy to note that you had a wonderful time with us . Let me thank you for staying with us and for your great review about us . we look forward to welcome you to our Resort again in future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

I stayed at the World backwaters during March 2014. A great resort with great support staff and a fantastic kitchen crew. My kids also had a great time in the pool, doing cycling and playing games, all the facilities provided by the resort free of cost. Also the room was great with view of the backwaters from the room. A hidden gem in the backwaters, really!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worldbackwaters, General Manager at The World Backwaters, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Dear esteemed Guest, Thanks for your excellent feedback and glad to know that you had a wonderful stay with us. Great to know that your Kids had a great time in our resort. Hope to see you again on your next visit also

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

We stayed in this Hotel for 1 Night with my family.The Hotel staff is marvelous and welcoming always ready to help you.The rooms are beautiful and spacious enough.The breakfast is very nice with tasty food.We will stay in this hotel in future also.Thanks a lot to Backwaters Team.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RAINY S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worldbackwaters, General Manager at The World Backwaters, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Dear Esteemed guest, we at The World Backwaters are extremely glad to know you enjoyed stay with us & are happy to know you enjoyed our services and had good words to say about our staff.. We wish to be of service to you next time as well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
1.8 mi away
Deshadan Backwater Resort
Deshadan Backwater Resort
#8 of 70 in Alappuzha
375 reviews
10.7 mi away
Ramada Alleppey
Ramada Alleppey
#9 of 70 in Alappuzha
755 reviews
12.5 mi away
Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
The Royale Gardens Hotel & Resorts
7.7 mi away
Lake Canopy
Lake Canopy
#1 of 70 in Alappuzha
111 reviews
2.6 mi away
Lemon Tree Vembanad Lake Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The World Backwaters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The World Backwaters

Address: Kannankara Post | Thanneermukkam, West Kumarakam, Alappuzha 688 527, India (Formerly Ilona Lake Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Alappuzha
#10 Spa Hotel in Alappuzha
Price Range: $74 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The World Backwaters 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE WORLD BACKWATERS (formerly know as Ilona Lake resort) a 4 star Resort in West Kumarakam, Nestled amidst this scenic landscape of 'God's Own Country' and on the banks of Lake Vembanad, is the perfect getaway for every weary traveler. The resort renders you an unparalleled view of the seemingly boundless Vembanadu Lake with a panoramic spotting of a beautiful island called Pathiramanal. The resort is tucked right into the soul of a real village in Kerala called Kannankara; away from the hustle-bustle of the City, but yet close and accessible to all functional comforts and luxury of a classy resort. Local attractions include Thanneermokkom Bund, Kumarakom Bird Sanctuary,Pathiramanal in Vembnadnad Lake, Alleppey beach,Alleppey, musuem, Ambalapuzha sri krishna temple,Marari Beach, Vaikom Mahadeva Temple and Thirunakkara Mahadeva Temple services and facilities :Multi cuisine Restaurant|| Banquet /Conference hall || Board room || Lake side Swimming Pool || Lake side garden || Fish pond || water Stream || Gym || Ayurveda Treatment center || Gift shop || Free parking ||24 hrs Front desk || Daily Housekeeping in room || Round the clock security service || Kids play area || Travel Desk || Soft bar in room || Wi Fi || Backwater cruise || Paddle boat|| Cycling || ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your The World Backwaters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The World Backwaters Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing