We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service, nice rooms, good view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The World Backwaters
Ranked #17 of 68 Hotels in Alappuzha
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Stayed there for a night in Nov 2013. We stayed in a villa, and the rooms were nice and clean. The bed was comfortable, the service was good.

The hotel is located in a quiet area and has an excellent location on lake Vembanad. The hotel has a good pool located right in front of the lake which is very nice to hang out around on a lazy day.

Then only downside was that the hotel is located in somewhat remote area and therefore there are no good food options. The hotel does serve dinner, but it wasn't great for vegetarians for the amount they charge.

Room Tip: There are some villas that do not face the lake, so do specify lake view if you want one. The ones a...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank m_ajmera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (322)
There are newer reviews for The World Backwaters
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

223 - 229 of 322 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2013

After a very thorough analysis (thanks to Trip Advisor, Makemytrip, Expedia and Google to name a few) for a month, we finalised to book this resort "The World Backwaters" (formerly called Ilona Resort). Our trip (group of 5) was in total 3 nights & 4 days in which we wanted our last night to be spent on a House Boat. So, booked this resort through Expedia where the prices were competitive. Infact I had called to the reception to check if we would get better pricing if booked directly; they advised us to go ahead with Expedia as their website rates normally doesn't include any discounts / offers. So, one must deep-drill on different online-booking availabilities to narrow down at the best price.

What we liked:
+ The Swimming Pool. In fact, the pool was one of the main reason for us to choose this resort. We just loved it
+ Their captain Chef Mr. Amit. An extremely customer focussed person. From tailor-made recipes to extending their service even aftger they actually had closed the kitchen (we ordered at 11:00 PM while their working time ends at 10:30 PM itself), this man really amazed all of us. Though the food was expensive, this man made us have almost all our food courses within the resort itself; heights being, we ordered ala-carte even when they had a wide-spread dinner buffet one day. Thanks man!!
+ Overall ambience. Traditional Kerala+continental styled villas overlooking the beautiful Vembanad lake. We were allocated the corner-most villa (both ground-floor and the first floor), each house is tastefully designed.
+ I have seen some resorts where more (most) care / attention will be offered to Foreign tourists. This is a place with no such racist treatments. All guests were treated with respect and this is what is expected in Hospitality industry. Good job team, keep it up.

What could have been better:
- Due to the close proximity to the lake, they are located a little in interior from the Ernakulam-Allepy highway. We reached late in the night and it was tedious to locate their really small signboards. It would be nioce if they place some more bigger sign-boards.
- Food (though tasty) is expensive. Can get more competitive / reasonable.
- Water canal that runs inside the resort is not "so-well" maintained. Needs attention.
- No bar license; this was not a major concern though as we already arranged by us. Travellers might find it difficult though.
- Parking is very limited inside their closed secured premises. Though we had space inside throughout our stay, we felt that it could be bothersome when their resort is more than half-full. They could think about fencing & Gating their outside parking area too so that the guests can feel even more comfortable.
- Since our visit was around Onam season, their Spa was not functional. They must have done some decent alternative arrangement I felt, as this is something I would expect as "mandatory" in any well-equipped resort.

Overall:
Inspite of all their improvement areas, we really loved the complete stay. Staff were courteous, customer-centric and well-behaved. Definitely a good place to unwind; it would be even more better if they can improvise on the above-said points.

Room Tip: The Lave-Front views are fantastic; ask for one from that row of houses.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Manoji M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

I booked this resort through makemytrip.com. It is an wonderful resort alongside the vembanad lake, and a shikara is available with the resort for boating in the lake. The resort is beautiful, with a lakeside pool that is very well maintained. The rooms are excellent and housekeeping is really good. Reception is courteous and service is good enough. Couldn't have asked for a better resort at this price. And indeed there is nothing adverse that comes to my mind, except that there is room for improvement with the breakfast buffet. Out and out, a satisfying stay. Loved the resort.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debraj_Ghosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worldbackwaters, General Manager at The World Backwaters, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Dear guest, We are extremely glad to know that you enjoyed the stay in our Resort and found it to be at par with excellence. Your good words regarding our resort and other facilities is well appreciated and your thoughts on areas that need improvement shall be immediately looked upon. Hope to of service to you next time as we'll. thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

I give this 1 star each for location, location and location. Situated right on Vembanad Lake, so much so that I am surprised people have not fallen off the property into the lake considering the low boundary walls, this is a very picturesque resort. Its perfect for a relaxing weekend off, just lounging by the poolside or enjoying a novel in the shade. The only dampener - the cool drink by your hand will be conspicous by its absence since they dont have a bar license. And in a country that runs on "jugaad" the folks here are unable to help you get one.

The other thing I didnt care about was the menu. Severely limited choice for vegetarians including all of 3 vegetarian native Kerala dishes. My wife was specifically looking for appams and the like, and was severely disappointed. Everything that IS dished out tasted pretty much the same. The less said about the complimentary breakfast, the better. However, maybe the non vegetarian fare was better.

All in all, this does not deserve the 5 stars people have been giving it. I liked the property, I really did, but would never consider returning here, solely on account of the food and drinks (or the absence thereof).

Other thoughts - This is located a little outside Aleppy (about 20 kms towards Kumarakom). You can catch an auto from Aleppy, will cost you about 350 bucks. If you want a shikara ride, its best to head back to Aleppy where you can get a boat for about 300-350 bucks an hour. The resort does offer boat rides but will try to charge you between 750-1000 rs./hour depending on how gullible you seem.
The rooms could have been kept a little better - the health faucet was broken (but was replaced on request) and the refrigerator was not working (didnt bother raising an issue over this). They have a nice canal running through the property with a pedal boat, but the water is dirty and I dont think anybody uses the boat. Pity, it could have been a nice touch.

Room Tip: All the rooms seem to be facing the look, so anything should be fine really.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArunHegde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worldbackwaters, General Manager at The World Backwaters, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Dear guest, Thanks for your feedback. It shall be used to improve the service and facilities. We shall make sure that your feedback and opinions shall be given due importance and measures taken to rectify the required matters. Once again thanks for your valuable feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We were a group of 11 and came to stay here during Onam. We had a fantastic time at the resort. Very calm and tranquil. The rooms were absolutely gorgeous and the hotel is so well maintained. The staff was very helpful and went out of their way to ensure that we were comfortable in every way. Since we are vegetarians,we were concerned about food, however, our food was excellent and we were all praises. I would highly recommend this hotel. It's value for money with a superb staff.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KejalG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worldbackwaters, General Manager at The World Backwaters, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your excellent feedback about our Resort . We are extremely delighted to understand you had a nice time in our resort. Looking forward to see you again. Once again thanks for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Wonderfully located on the Vembanad lake this compact but well maintained resort was a bit hard to find going by road but totally worth it in the end. The rooms were spacious and on par for a resort of this rating. The lake view cottages are value for money and the swimming pool is right in front and so is the gorgeous views towards the lake. The food is very nice but a bit on the costly side especially to be factored in as there are very few options outside of the resort.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
Thank prash71k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worldbackwaters, General Manager at The World Backwaters, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thanks for your positive feedback and are extremely glad that you enjoyed your stay in our Resort It gives us more strength in furthering our services for our esteemed guests. Hope we can be of service to you on your next visit as well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

the hotel was very good, excellent rooms - very comfortable bed.

the hotel is situated just on the lake, amazing view to wake up with.
It is well kept, including yards of grass, restaurant and pool

we stayed at the Family Villas - with a baby, so it was pretty nice.
the shower requires a little bit maintenance.

the restaurant - dinner was very good, not very cheap.
Breakfast should was not in a level of a 5-stars hotel.

we took also a small boat tour from the hotel - it was more than enough- three hours of cruise - amazing staff!

Generally speaking - i recommend this hotel, if you're not planning on taking an houseboat trip.

Room Tip: ask for the family villas, just next to the lake.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ybz1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
12.5 mi away
Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort
1.8 mi away
Deshadan Backwater Resort
Deshadan Backwater Resort
#10 of 68 in Alappuzha
360 reviews
14.5 mi away
Citrus Retreats Alleppey
Citrus Retreats Alleppey
#8 of 68 in Alappuzha
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Ramada Alleppey
Ramada Alleppey
#9 of 68 in Alappuzha
710 reviews
2.6 mi away
Lemon Tree Vembanad Lake Resort
11.7 mi away
Lake Palace Resort
Lake Palace Resort
#6 of 68 in Alappuzha
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The World Backwaters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The World Backwaters

Address: Kannankara Post | Thanneermukkam, West Kumarakam, Alappuzha 688 527, India (Formerly Ilona Lake Resort)
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Alappuzha
#10 Spa Hotel in Alappuzha
Price Range: $63 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The World Backwaters 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE WORLD BACKWATERS (formerly know as Ilona Lake resort) a 4 star Resort in West Kumarakam, Nestled amidst this scenic landscape of 'God's Own Country' and on the banks of Lake Vembanad, is the perfect getaway for every weary traveler. The resort renders you an unparalleled view of the seemingly boundless Vembanadu Lake with a panoramic spotting of a beautiful island called Pathiramanal. The resort is tucked right into the soul of a real village in Kerala called Kannankara; away from the hustle-bustle of the City, but yet close and accessible to all functional comforts and luxury of a classy resort. Local attractions include Thanneermokkom Bund, Kumarakom Bird Sanctuary,Pathiramanal in Vembnadnad Lake, Alleppey beach,Alleppey, musuem, Ambalapuzha sri krishna temple,Marari Beach, Vaikom Mahadeva Temple and Thirunakkara Mahadeva Temple services and facilities :Multi cuisine Restaurant|| Banquet /Conference hall || Board room || Lake side Swimming Pool || Lake side garden || Fish pond || water Stream || Gym || Ayurveda Treatment center || Gift shop || Free parking ||24 hrs Front desk || Daily Housekeeping in room || Round the clock security service || Kids play area || Travel Desk || Soft bar in room || Wi Fi || Backwater cruise || Paddle boat|| Cycling || ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The World Backwaters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The World Backwaters Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing