We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the world backwaters”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The World Backwaters
Ranked #18 of 68 Hotels in Alappuzha
Visakhapatnam, India
1 review
“the world backwaters”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

we made our booking through booking .com for 2n & 3d.everything went well for first night on the second day we received call from reception stating that there is an electricity problem in the hotel & you have to check out at 9.00am next day instead of 1.00pm as per our booking. which made us disappointed ,
best point is complimentary breakfast is excellent

Room Tip: take double bed room with lake view instead of cottage room eith lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vissu_312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    114
    42
    16
    14
See reviews for
172
93
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabad, India
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Good spacious rooms-& cozy amenities-You willl love it.at any cost- All rooms are -facing to backwater-Warm hospitality and ambience-A place to relax away from crowded mass, A must stay for honeymooners.-Limited number of rooms but quality of standard is really admirable.

Simple word--Just for relax-Calm and peaceful ambence

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AwesomeIndia68M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We were a group of 3 couples with children. We checked in late in the evening and two of our rooms were upgraded to pool rooms. (though being the rainy season, the private plunge pools were not operational). The rooms were really large and welcoming. we had our meals at the Hotel and the food really was not up to the mark. Dinner was better than the breakfast. (another friend had stayed in the same property in Dec and they had good reviews about everything including the food. I guess being off season they probably did not have their regular staff on board and seemed short on staff as well). They had bikes you could ride around the property and hammocks to laze and watch the Vemband lake. Beautiful pictureous setting. To see the backwaters we wanted to take the boat from the hotel, but it was quite expensive, so we had our driver take us to a boat operator in Kumarkom and we took a boat in less than half the price from the hotel.
On checkout we left a bag at the hotel and we realised it only when they called us to inform about the bag. They kept it safely and we picked it up 3 days later on our way back to kochi.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nandy09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nagpur, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

we stayed at this hotel a group of 50 family members from 19 th july to 21 july.Even though it was raining cats and dogs outside no hotwater was provided.My car which was parked inside the resorts parking slot was hit by another vehicle without our knowing it.we complained abot this to the office .But they were not willing to listen at all.We will never at this place in future.Food was so so...

Room Tip: Avoid the place
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank unni487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Nice place to spend with family and friends. Courteous staff, Neat place..Scenic beauty...Pleasant to eyes...over all value for Money...Worth visiting once a year atleast...Kids enjoyed the pool...Food was excellent..

Room Tip: Good Place ...rooms adjacent to River are worth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Koripally Rakes... R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasaragod, India
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Wold back waters are green and good for a family holiday as they have sufficient lawn and area for relaxation and especially for kids can enjoy well there. They have a big pool adjacent to the restaurant and lake. I used to stay as part of a group with night party. So felt that its good option for accommodating such groups to conducts night parties. Rooms are nestled in between small canals they made up and all rooms having veranda or balcony. Food is good enough.
Its not a bad option I think.

Room Tip: First floor rooms in the four room cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nomadicstories
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This is not the best-est location at the backwaters but if you are:
a) part of a large tourist group and require a place to look-like exotic kerala
b) Need food that is Kerala-ish
c) Have a front into the lake
Then this is the place for you.

I have had some very fantastic service with the help from GM there.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SujithP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
12.5 mi away
Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort
14.5 mi away
Citrus Retreats Alleppey
Citrus Retreats Alleppey
#8 of 68 in Alappuzha
674 reviews
1.8 mi away
Deshadan Backwater Resort
Deshadan Backwater Resort
#10 of 68 in Alappuzha
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Ramada Alleppey
Ramada Alleppey
#9 of 68 in Alappuzha
691 reviews
7.2 mi away
Abad Turtle Beach
Abad Turtle Beach
#1 of 68 in Alappuzha
595 reviews
11.7 mi away
Lake Palace Resort
Lake Palace Resort
#5 of 68 in Alappuzha
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The World Backwaters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The World Backwaters

Property: The World Backwaters
Address: Kannankara Post | Thanneermukkam, West Kumarakam, Alappuzha 688 527, India (Formerly Ilona Lake Resort)
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Alappuzha
#11 Spa Hotel in Alappuzha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The World Backwaters 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE WORLD BACKWATERS (formerly know as Ilona Lake resort) a 4 star Resort in West Kumarakam, Nestled amidst this scenic landscape of 'God's Own Country' and on the banks of Lake Vembanad, is the perfect getaway for every weary traveler. The resort renders you an unparalleled view of the seemingly boundless Vembanadu Lake with a panoramic spotting of a beautiful island called Pathiramanal. The resort is tucked right into the soul of a real village in Kerala called Kannankara; away from the hustle-bustle of the City, but yet close and accessible to all functional comforts and luxury of a classy resort. Local attractions include Thanneermokkom Bund, Kumarakom Bird Sanctuary,Pathiramanal in Vembnadnad Lake, Alleppey beach,Alleppey, musuem, Ambalapuzha sri krishna temple,Marari Beach, Vaikom Mahadeva Temple and Thirunakkara Mahadeva Temple services and facilities :Multi cuisine Restaurant|| Banquet /Conference hall || Board room || Lake side Swimming Pool || Lake side garden || Fish pond || water Stream || Gym || Ayurveda Treatment center || Gift shop || Free parking ||24 hrs Front desk || Daily Housekeeping in room || Round the clock security service || Kids play area || Travel Desk || Soft bar in room || Wi Fi || Backwater cruise || Paddle boat|| Cycling || ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your The World Backwaters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The World Backwaters Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing