We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but could be better!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The World Backwaters
Ranked #17 of 68 Hotels in Alappuzha
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good, but could be better!”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

The visit to the World Backwaters Resort in Kumarakam was interesting. I gave it a 3/5 because their bathrooms were terrible and the thermostat in the presidential suite we were in failed miserably. The bathrooms were mouldy- almost everything including the faucets and the shower head was spotted with mould- not the best thing if your allergic to fungal spores!
We were there in June 2013 so it was really humid and the thermostat in the suite that we were in had issues with temperature control- it would not go below 24 deg C. We wrestled with it for a while and then called room service but they were not really able to fix the issue.

The good thing about the place was the views and the service. The suite we stayed in was close to the waterfront and was easily accessible to the houseboat we booked. The food at the pool-side restaurant was delicious-we stuck to dishes native to Kerala but continental dishes were available as well. The resort has a nice Ayurvedic hospital/massage center and the total rejuvenation body massage I had was relaxing.

Overall, It was not as calming as I expected it to be- I would recommend the place for a day or two max.

Room Tip: Stay at the resort during the winter months- the monsoon causes the cheap quality plywood used for t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jocelinjoseph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    114
    41
    16
    14
See reviews for
171
92
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Good Hotel, Best Location, Good Food, Courteous staff
although play room was under construction, but enjoyed at pool which is very near to lake.
HOT water and COLD water available. other bathroom amenities also available.

Morning sunrise and evening sunset is very enjoyable.

Room Tip: Choose a first floor rooms, view from these rooms are very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deepak O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Previously known as the Ilona resort did succeed to charm us with great location, amazing room, fantastic food and more importantly nice pool. The rooms facing the lake vembanad had breath-taking views and were very comfortable and clean. The bathroom and entrance vestibule could have been better, but can't complain for all the other excellent things that the place had to offer. The room service was prompt, polite and immaculate. In all, a good option to stay in allepey/kumarakom area, if you want to avoid the imperfections of the houseboat stay.

Room Tip: Lake facing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toyam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anand, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

The world backwaters! it is divine. Worth every penny. Great property, right on the backwaters. Beautiful swimming pool. Excellent staff and co-ordination. Food is expensive but it is too worth every single penny.

We visited this place in june 2013, during monsoons, with friends and it was exactly as we expected it to be. You get your own villas here starting from 8000 per night to 20000 for presidential ones.
Then you have this wonderful swimming pool and pool side resturant. You have a mini gymnasium which really needs to improve to be equal to the standards of the property. Games room is decent with indoor games such as TT and badminton. You have paddle boats to travel around the place.

People there are really friendly. It is way away from alleppey and you have nothing worth visiting around, but if you have a car then its okay. It is in interiors from the Main road but still the place is highly recommended.

Room Tip: Go for room no 204,304,401 if you are on honeymoon, they have excellent lake views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bhavin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adoor, India
1 review
Reviewed June 11, 2013

It was an ever memorable experience for our 18 families. Excellent support from the manager side and amazing cooperation from the front office and also from the kitchen in charge. The area was well maintained. We utilized their volleyball court, swimming-pool, pedal boats, indoor game room and also the banquet hall. Rooms were spacious. I don't have any negative findings.
coordinator for the batch get together
Dr Nirmal George Saibu

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nirmal_saibu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worldbackwaters, General Manager at The World Backwaters, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Dr. Nirmal, Thanks for your positive feedback and are extremely glad to know that all of you had a wounder full get together in the resort . It gives us more strength in furthering our services for our esteemed guests. Hope we can be of service to you on your next visit as well .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

This property is really nice. Really nice rooms, clean and innovative bathrooms of rooms situated on 1st floor, lake view is too good, swimming pool is breath taking which is at tip of backwaters with great view of lake and moving houseboats. Food is average and little expensive. But there is no nearby good restaurant, so no option. Service is quick and good. Food quality should be improved as guest are shelling out too much for food. Overall, this resort is good for all family, couple, friends.

Room Tip: Try to stay in lake view 1st floor rooms for best view of backwaters and swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sumitjain121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamnagar, Gujarat, India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

It was memorable stay at Ilona resort. According to our plan, We 10 people group stayed one night but we should stay more days there. It is really well developed with many amenities property. Though it is far from Alleppy , location is great.
Rooms and bathrooms are spacious with modern furniture and facilities. Lots of indoor and outdoor sports are available with cycling too. Swimming pool is best of its class. Canal boating also have great fun.
Breakfast was so tasty with lost of regional as well as western varieties. Desk and room services were satisfactory and Check-in, Check-out process was also fast.
I would like to highly recommend this property.

Room Tip: Every room has its own value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brasspart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
12.5 mi away
Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort
14.5 mi away
Citrus Retreats Alleppey
Citrus Retreats Alleppey
#8 of 68 in Alappuzha
663 reviews
10.7 mi away
Ramada Alleppey
Ramada Alleppey
#10 of 68 in Alappuzha
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Abad Turtle Beach
Abad Turtle Beach
#1 of 68 in Alappuzha
587 reviews
1.8 mi away
Deshadan Backwater Resort
Deshadan Backwater Resort
#9 of 68 in Alappuzha
331 reviews
11.7 mi away
Lake Palace Resort
Lake Palace Resort
#5 of 68 in Alappuzha
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The World Backwaters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The World Backwaters

Property: The World Backwaters
Address: Kannankara Post | Thanneermukkam, West Kumarakam, Alappuzha 688 527, India (Formerly Ilona Lake Resort)
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Alappuzha
#10 Spa Hotel in Alappuzha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The World Backwaters 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE WORLD BACKWATERS (formerly know as Ilona Lake resort) a 4 star Resort in West Kumarakam, Nestled amidst this scenic landscape of 'God's Own Country' and on the banks of Lake Vembanad, is the perfect getaway for every weary traveler. The resort renders you an unparalleled view of the seemingly boundless Vembanadu Lake with a panoramic spotting of a beautiful island called Pathiramanal. The resort is tucked right into the soul of a real village in Kerala called Kannankara; away from the hustle-bustle of the City, but yet close and accessible to all functional comforts and luxury of a classy resort. Local attractions include Thanneermokkom Bund, Kumarakom Bird Sanctuary,Pathiramanal in Vembnadnad Lake, Alleppey beach,Alleppey, musuem, Ambalapuzha sri krishna temple,Marari Beach, Vaikom Mahadeva Temple and Thirunakkara Mahadeva Temple services and facilities :Multi cuisine Restaurant|| Banquet /Conference hall || Board room || Lake side Swimming Pool || Lake side garden || Fish pond || water Stream || Gym || Ayurveda Treatment center || Gift shop || Free parking ||24 hrs Front desk || Daily Housekeeping in room || Round the clock security service || Kids play area || Travel Desk || Soft bar in room || Wi Fi || Backwater cruise || Paddle boat|| Cycling || ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your The World Backwaters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The World Backwaters Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing