We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SOLID LOCATION....AND NICE WELCOME”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The World Backwaters
Ranked #19 of 71 Hotels in Alappuzha
Reviewed February 17, 2013

one of the best resort i stayed in kerala the location of this resort is too good if u want a complete rest from ur tour this resort is the best service and food is really too good the only thing is they dnt have fishing rod in there resort as show on my voucher that i have got fishing rod i had on recepiton they we will give you in morning then in morning also i not got other we had enjoyed in fishing also.........ne ways over all good stay there enjoyed alot.....

Room Tip: shikara boat ride too good and the man handling the boat is very friendly helping guide too
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AHUJAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (331)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

287 - 293 of 331 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2013

We arrived at night after a long drive, it was me and 2other friends. We requested an extra bed and it was ready in our spacious room .

The young gentleman at the reception was very kind and funny , and he lend us a lonely planet guide and explained all the details we needed to know about the hotel.

Breakfast was beautiful by the pool with the view of the lake .
The wifi was fast and worked perfectly and it was for free. We also had complementary bottlesof water in the room.
Our driver had a difficulty finding the location of the hotel, but once he asked few locals we were all set .
I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AviNY2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

The World Backwater gave us an excellent satisfaction. This was a wonderful place to spend with family and friends. The staffs were very co-operative and ready to help us in anyway. For any request action were taken immediately and people were very polite. Food was excellent; I greatly appreciate the main chef. Pool was very clean and we had our own freedom. I did not find any pool guard there. I was expectation lots of mosquitos to my wonder there were none.

God bless you all..... Thanks

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank koshy_kurien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

This is a lovely place to stay at and enjoy ur holidays if u r a nature lover.the place has gr8 ambience.backwaters on one side and hotel's beauty on other side.rooms r perfectly designed.u have paddling,cycling,boat cruise and many options for enjoyment.highly recommended place.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank SRITAM M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

It was an extremely delightful stay at the world backwaters. Booked the stay thro booking.com. . . Reception was warm and inviting ( fresh with wet towels ). They were courteous to call us and confirmed our booking. . Stayed there for 2 nights.

Restuarant was excellent. . . . ( Quite Expensive. . ) all dishes were excellent right from continental to traditional keralite and northindian. . . all are worth commenting .. . .
Complimentary Breakfast was slightly not upto the mark compared to the quality of the other dishes served in the restaurant. . . . Restaurant staff were extremely courteous and were always ready to help us with our requirements.


The hotel even provided us with our own person pedal boat which made us so proud. . . ( in a small artificial stream inside the hotel. . . . with a lot of fishes to feed on ). Hotel also has lot of bicycles for the guest to use around the resort, quite an amusement. . . . They also offer hourly boating trips in the vembanad lake on chargeable basis which is quite nice to take feeling of the lake rather than to take the lazy houseboats

All other services were excellent. Room was classy and spacious with all amenities as described by the hotel on the website. . . . not much to complain about the hotel. . . .

Though my review is a little late i always wanted to do this review for this wonderful hotel. . ..

Room Tip: all rooms are quite the same. . . . u can request for rooms with the Vembanad lake view ( which most...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sajjad M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

This was truly "God's own Place" in "God's own Country"

It is hard to say it in few words on my experience, Excellent, Superb, exceptional, fantastic, and outstanding!!!!

The Staff was 10 Star Exceptional!!
The Chef did wonders!!
The place was immaculate!!

This will be the place for me to go when visiting Kerala!

Thank You
The Kurian Family..

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pkurian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stayed at the resort for two days after backwater cruise. We had four cottages, which neat and clean were excellent amenities. The surroundings were very good with excellent Backwater views. Resort is very clean and maintained regularly. Swimming pool is good. Also enjoyed the bicycle, boat ride and gym.
The only thing let down in Restaurant, which only provide option of buffet dinner and you cannot make your own choice of food, which is annoying at such a good exotic location.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Backwater toward is really nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shashikant_Raghvani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
1.8 mi away
Deshadan Backwater Resort
Deshadan Backwater Resort
#8 of 71 in Alappuzha
384 reviews
10.7 mi away
Ramada Alleppey
Ramada Alleppey
#9 of 71 in Alappuzha
789 reviews
7.7 mi away
Lake Canopy
Lake Canopy
#1 of 71 in Alappuzha
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort
0 mi away
The Royale Gardens Hotel & Resorts
2.6 mi away
Lemon Tree Vembanad Lake Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The World Backwaters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The World Backwaters

Address: Kannankara Post | Thanneermukkam, West Kumarakam, Alappuzha 688 527, India (Formerly Ilona Lake Resort)
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Alappuzha
#10 Spa Hotel in Alappuzha
Price Range: $74 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The World Backwaters 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE WORLD BACKWATERS (formerly know as Ilona Lake resort) a 4 star Resort in West Kumarakam, Nestled amidst this scenic landscape of 'God's Own Country' and on the banks of Lake Vembanad, is the perfect getaway for every weary traveler. The resort renders you an unparalleled view of the seemingly boundless Vembanadu Lake with a panoramic spotting of a beautiful island called Pathiramanal. The resort is tucked right into the soul of a real village in Kerala called Kannankara; away from the hustle-bustle of the City, but yet close and accessible to all functional comforts and luxury of a classy resort. Local attractions include Thanneermokkom Bund, Kumarakom Bird Sanctuary,Pathiramanal in Vembnadnad Lake, Alleppey beach,Alleppey, musuem, Ambalapuzha sri krishna temple,Marari Beach, Vaikom Mahadeva Temple and Thirunakkara Mahadeva Temple services and facilities :Multi cuisine Restaurant|| Banquet /Conference hall || Board room || Lake side Swimming Pool || Lake side garden || Fish pond || water Stream || Gym || Ayurveda Treatment center || Gift shop || Free parking ||24 hrs Front desk || Daily Housekeeping in room || Round the clock security service || Kids play area || Travel Desk || Soft bar in room || Wi Fi || Backwater cruise || Paddle boat|| Cycling || ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The World Backwaters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The World Backwaters Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing