We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, took a while though” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thaff

Thaff
Ranked #1 of 80 Restaurants in Alappuzha
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good food, took a while though”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

The fact it took a while probably meant it was fresh.
It was excellent food, just took a lot longer to get than everyone else who ordered biriyani.

Good shout for a quick cheap bite (probably the best in Alleppey!)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jason P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    138
    53
    27
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

We went to Thaff twice. Once for south Indian thali, and another time ala carte -- kerala porotta and curry and some chinese food. Both the times they did not disappoint, although of course, the south Indian thali was much better. Dont expect a great ambience.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank SwatiPandey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
109 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good food cheap.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

We ate here several times while spending a week in Alleppey, both because we liked it and because we didn't find a lot of other options. The place is small and quite basic and most of the crowd eats quickly and leaves. We liked the food and appreciated the good, quick service by the friendly, knowledgable waiters. We especially enjoyed the coffee milkshakes for dessert.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank chixcurry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good food at reasonable rate”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

having Kerala food in a good clean place was an issue, when our driver directed us to Thaff. Their new restaurant is a nice clean place. Have Kerala food only.. Fish r good here..

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Vipul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
83 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Easy lunch stop.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

Had a quick meal at Thaff while in Alleppey for a houseboat tour. The place is very popular, and you'll likely have to wait a few minutes for a table. Biryani seems to be the food of choice, though we had a few vegetarian dishes. All good, but nothing spectacular. Quick, easy, and affordable. A good option.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thaff also viewed

 
Alappuzha, Kerala
 

Been to Thaff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing