We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food & taste”
Review of Thaff

Thaff
Ranked #1 of 80 Restaurants in Alappuzha
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
Restaurant details
Rayagada, India
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Good food & taste”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Very good food around the place but due to only one hotel around the place, its very busy in peak lunch times, very conjested and too crowdy. in this crowd they maintain very well. overall good.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank SurendraKumar_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    148
    59
    29
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bombay
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“What A Waste!!!”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

First of all there is no sense of seating.... You got to share a table when it gets crowded, something I personally don't enjoy.
We asked for a sweet corn chicken soup and at first they said they didn't have it so we then ordered for another kind. When the soup arrived it was something like your instant sweet corn vegetable soup with pieces of gravy chicken thrown in. (It was obviously chicken that was removed from some dish)
We then decided to order something traditional to kerala, however, nothing much was available apart from a boney fish curry with rice.
We then decided to go with a veg fried rice and a garlic chicken. The chicken felt like it was in a gravy of tomato sauce and the rice was insipid.
We have never eaten such disgusting food and would definitely never recommend anyone to this place again.
For locals its probably alright, but if you are a tourist used to eating decent food, I wouldn't recommend it.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Backpackerosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Made to wait a long time for below average food.”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

The service was incredibly slow and it seemed that all of the locals were getting served much quicker than the tourists.
The food ranged from average to poor - my veg was a strange grey colour which suggests it had been sitting around a long time.
Twice I asked for a bottle of water and twice my request was ignored. However, I decided not to ask again as I clearly saw a waiter filling up a bottle of water using a funnel and a jug, which suggests he was using tap water but selling it as bottled water.
Don't bother going here, you'll be disappointed, or ill.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank amy-nich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, India
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Ordinary”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Exploring options to see what the local food was like. Pretty ordinary stuff .Rather enjoyed the food at the sisir hotel a 100 metres away .Liked the karimeeen here ,can get pretty crowded and sometimes need waiting to get in. If ur in a larger group chances are ur need to wait too long

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Wayfarer1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum), India
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Decent”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Located near YMCA junction, in Allepy, this restaurant is decent for a stop during a roadtrip, but not for a eatout. Curries taste decent. Does not have tandoor, so the only Indian bread available were Kerala Parotha and chappathy. Ambiance is not that good. Not exactly value for money, but will do.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ultimix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thaff also viewed

Alappuzha, Alappuzha District
Alappuzha, Alappuzha District
 
Alappuzha, Alappuzha District
Alappuzha, Alappuzha District
 

Been to Thaff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing