We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”
Review of Palmy Residency

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Palmy Residency
Ranked #21 of 201 Alappuzha B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

Had a great stay. Awesome location, lovely large clean rooms and bathrooms. Cable tv, nice grounds and friendly staff. Very low price for what you get. Organised a canoe backwater trip thru them too which was FANTASTIC!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holschier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (131)
There are newer reviews for Palmy Residency
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 131 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2013

THIS is what budget hotels should be like - basic and good. Perfect place and highly recommended. Despite the low rates this places does "basic" well. Large clean rooms, a little veranda to sit on, landscaped gardens, friendly and helpful staff. The bathroom only had cold water but we were ok with that. Happy to have found this.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lalaland0815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Really don't expect too much from the rooms which are large, clean enough but basic. We came to really like this place because the staff were so helpful. We booked a house boat & a canoe trip through them and both were very good (especially the lunch on the canoe trip!) In the end l was abit sad to leave Alappuzha even though when first arrived from Varkala l thought l wouldn't like it at all, l put that all down to this place and the staff's genuine desire for us to enjoy our stay!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank suellene3132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Palm residency is a small budget hotel located a few minutes walking from the bus station.
The rate was Rps 550. For that price, don't expect much from the rooms. They are basic and not very clean. The bathroom was not really luxurious either. But palmy residency is worth going for its very friendly and helpful manager Joseph. The guy came to pick us up at the bus station and walked us to the hotel. Very humble and discrete man, he helped us a lot, giving us tips for restaurants, organizing a tour in the backwaters, lending us his own cell phone etc..
He was not the kind of greedy /obnoxious host you try to void in touristy Allepey.
The second reason why we liked to stay there was the trip in the backwaters. Trust joseph amd give up the house boat plan.
Palmy has its own canoe and the whole tour cost only Rps 600/ pers ( for 6hours) including transportation to the boarding point. It was magical...
As a conclusion, i recommend this place but I strongly advise the owners to refresh the rooms and to provide clean sheets and a mosquito net..

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Chez N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

we stayed for 2 nights and we were pleasantly surprised by this place. the residency is very clean and has a small quite garden. the staff was the most friendly and helpful that we could find in our 3 weeks trip in India. they made things very easy for us. they told us where to eat and they aranged a driver for us and a day trip through the backwatters in a small boat. we didn't have to bargain at all. we had a very good time in Allepey thanks to them.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M_RALUCA_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

Walking into Palmy Residency you instantly feel at home with a cute little lobby area, mini library and computer on standby! The rooms are large and extremely clean and we had a cute little veranda where you can sit in the morning and enjoy Kerlan coffee and breakfast.
The staff are lovely and there's a really relaxed and safe feel to the place.
Great value for money.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KasiaHuchrak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

If you are looking for somewhere to spend a night or two that is clean (exceptionally clean) and in a good location (5 minutes from the bus station and 5 minutes into 'town'), this place is perfect.It is good value too!! The rooms are huge but very basic and sparsely furnished, it had a mosquito net above the bed, netting over the windows (for mosquitoes) and a clean attached bathroom. Beds were really comfy and the ceiling fan perfect!! Although there is wifi, we were unable to get a good signal from our room, but when seated in the common area, it was fine. The only things we were a little disappointing with, were the grounds - they could be in a bit better condition and while we had a yummy breakfast (eggs and toast) we sat at the only table in the common area - if there were more people having breakfast, I wouldn't know where they would have sat!
The staff, Surish (the manager I think) in particular is absolutely fantastic!! He made us feel so welcome and really looked after us well. As most people who visit Alleppey, we were after a houseboat and he mentioned that they had one available (for a couple) for the next day. He wasn't pushy AT ALL and showed us a picture and gave us some info. After doing some research, we went with the one he was selling as a) my gut gave me good feeling about going with his:-) and b) it was in line with all the other houseboats (pricewise). The next morning, Surish went with us to the houseboat and introduced us to the crew. Our houseboat was fantastic! honestly, it was so perfect, we couldn't have asked for better. We kept on looking at all the other 'living areas' on the other boats and ours was by far the best! The food was good (not amazing, not terrible) and our water bottle was replaced when we had finished a bottle. The whole experience was better than we thought it would be! Surash also went so far as to book us a tuk-tuk for our return as we were going to the bus station!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tanja S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
1.9 mi away
Thoms Homestay
Thoms Homestay
#9 of 201 in Alappuzha
55 reviews
1.0 mi away
Malayalam Lake Resort Homestay
1.6 mi away
Alasr Heritage Home
Alasr Heritage Home
#1 of 201 in Alappuzha
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Funky Art Beach House
Funky Art Beach House
#19 of 201 in Alappuzha
92 reviews
0.1 mi away
Venice Castle
Venice Castle
#2 of 201 in Alappuzha
420 reviews
0.0 mi away
Springs Inn
Springs Inn
#31 of 201 in Alappuzha
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palmy Residency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmy Residency

Address: Palmy Residency Opposite Matha Jetty, Alappuzha 688003, India
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 201 B&Bs / Inns in Alappuzha
Price Range: $10 - $26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Palmy Residency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palmy Residency Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing