We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dance story”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Kathakali

Kathakali
Ranked #8 of 56 things to do in Alappuzha
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
DURBAN SOUTH AFRICA
Level Contributor
367 reviews
264 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“dance story”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

kathakali is a beautiful amalgamation of drama. communation is made through the remarkable use of gestures and much also lends kathakali its universal appeal. they have elaborate costume and is a magicial sight to watch kathakali artists to per their traditional attire. it is something very different and experience, its the dance of kerala.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank SHDD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    50
    22
    2
    6
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bhopal, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Indias Most Expressive Dance form”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

Better don't miss it for any damn reason. At the end of the show all u feel is "ONCE MORE PLZZZZZ" One cannot realize the hard work behind, unless he/she witnesses the half an hr when the dancers get dressed in front of the audience. After all they dance with an attire weighing 20-25 KGS !!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank sneha0707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kottayam, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A must see for every Indian”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

Thank you Indraprastham holidays for filling my trip with lot of wonderful memories,especially the kathakali show. Earlier i was not interested inn kathakali.But the arrangement was so superb that all the credit goes to our tour planers-Indraprastham Holidays. Thank you for the wonderful experience.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank travelz05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Hotel did it for us”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

The Hotel did it and it was truely so good and nice to see the vibrant colours and style.. India is Great is all its aspects it is only how well we can see what we have and take it further

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank suresh-Lakshmipathi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Interminable!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Always interested to take in a bit of culture, we took the opportunity to go to a Kathakali show. Although this is very much the dumbed down version for tourists (about 2 hours, rather than about 12!) it could have happily been 30 mins lmaximum....everyone else in the theatre seemed to think the same! It's not something I would rush to do again.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank ljsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kathakali also viewed

Alappuzha, Alappuzha District
Mararikulam, Alappuzha District
 
Alappuzha, Alappuzha District
Alappuzha, Alappuzha District
 

Been to Kathakali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing