We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant getaway in the heart of the city”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Venice Castle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Venice Castle
Ranked #2 of 191 Alappuzha B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A pleasant getaway in the heart of the city”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

Located close enough to the heart of Allepey city as to be easily accessible, but far enough from the main road as to seem set apart from the bustle of civilization, Venice Castle is a great getaway.

We were able to find our way there easily, and the two days we spent there were comfortable in all aspects. The rooms were pleasant, the food was made to our taste, their chai was out of this world, and the owner recommended perfect places to go for sightseeing and eating, after listening to what we were looking for.
They also have a small but lovely selection of books - English, Japanese, German and French - and we spent half a day just browsing and reading comfortably, lounging about on the upper floor.

The only points of concern are:
1. The AC in our room was a bit too cold, and the remote did not allow for it to be controlled properly.
2. They have an overly friendly dog which is quite likely to jump on you when he first sees you. If you don't like dogs, do ask the owner to tie him up before you get out of your vehicle.


Overall highly recommended.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TigerPandaBunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    64
    13
    2
    0
See reviews for
76
204
40
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madurai, India
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

We loved staying at Venice Castle (from 2nd may to 6th may 2014).Owner Mr. & Mrs. Mathew, his mother, his son Joseph and staff Mr. Thomas are very friendly and helpful.i highly recommend this home stay and will definitely stay there again. House is situated very near to bus stand, Boat jetty, beach.The TripAdvisor awards they have on display are clearly well-deserved.------ V.Kannan Advocate High court, Madurai. 9443154058

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nellaivkannan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

We stayed here for one night before heading out on a houseboat. It was a bit more than we usually spend but still very good value. Beautiful house in quite gardens but still right in the centre of town. That said our taxi driver had trouble finding it - emphasise Canara Bank.

Rooms were huge, comfortable and spotless with complimentary geckos to deal with errant mosquitos. Air con was AMAZING (Alleppey in May = very sweaty). Owner's mother gave us chilled water and made us some fresh, ice cold pineapple juice. She also cooked a spectacular breakfast - puttu, chickpea/coconut curry, toast, eggs, fruit, juice, tea and coffee. The family also sorted us out with a houseboat for a small commission, which made everything less stressful for us. Wifi was the fastest we've had in three months in India. In fact the only thing I can think of that could have been improved was the auto driver that they gave us to get to and from the dock - he tried every trick in the book to up his fare!

In summary, we've stayed in a lot of home stays all over Asia and this is the perfect balance between giving you your own space and still making you feel welcome in someone else's home.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamescO7086RB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

Very clean and fully equipped hotel. Staff is very friendly and most helpfull, also the breakfast was very nice. There are good airconditioners and also vans everywhere, so there are almost no mosquitos.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank fvtklooster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2014

We stayed for 1 day in Venice Castle and had an absolutely peaceful and enjoyable stay. We have 2 extremely active toddler boys and they had so much fun playing in the front garden of the house and with their pet dog Julie. Mr.Thomas was very very warm and welcoming and he was available around the house always to take care of our smallest needs. I troubled Mr.Mathew's mother many times asking for milk and hot water for my kids from the kitchen, and every time our request was serviced with a lovely smile. They made us feel so comfortable, we felt we were staying at a close relative/friend's house. With kids wanting to play outdoor, a 5* hotel wouldn't have suited our stay better. Would highly recommend for short stay for families with young children.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sumitha_Alex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pune
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2014

Rooms and bathrooms are spic and span very very clean all info about boat ride was given by Mr Mathew The room rates are very reasonable friendly atmosphere i recommend this homestay for all tourist visits

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vivek164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

My negative review does not refer to the accommodation as such - the room was perfectly fine. However, host Matthew also offers Backwater tours which you cannot necessarily rely on.
We happened to arrive in the evening without having booked any tour for the next day in advance. We could have just gone to town the next day to book something but he assured us he would take care of it and find a guide for a half-day trip. Unfortunately, all of his "regulars" were already booked - without us knowing, of course. What we got was a villager who could understand and speak hardly any English - which is quite dissatisfying if you really want to learn about the Backwaters. The boat was old and he also seemed to want to save gas as he was going extremely slow and we only saw a handful of channels. The trip cost us 1200 Rs - way too much. What made things worse though was that when we told Matthew about our disappointment he wanted to give us 120Rs to make up for it. The next morning when we paid for our room he even offered 1000Rs, which seemed like it was intended to keep us from writing a bad review.
As I said, the place is fine to stay at - but you cannot necessarily rely on the Backwater tours offered here.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Melanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
0.7 mi away
Nova Holidays
Nova Holidays
#3 of 66 in Alappuzha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ramada Alleppey
Ramada Alleppey
#9 of 66 in Alappuzha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
1.5 mi away
Alasr Heritage Home
Alasr Heritage Home
#1 of 191 in Alappuzha
5.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kalappura Homestay
Kalappura Homestay
#4 of 191 in Alappuzha
5.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
1.3 mi away
Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort
1.9 mi away
The Wind n' Waves Alleppey Beach Stay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Venice Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Venice Castle

Property: Venice Castle
Address: Opp.to D.T.P.C Office | Behind CANARA Bank, Boat Jetty Road, Alappuzha 688011, India
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 191 B&Bs / Inns in Alappuzha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Venice castle is the home stay of your dreams It is ideally located in the very heart of the town. Yet, Venice castle is cut off from the din and bustle of the town by wooded surroundings that lends an ambiance of the country side. The home stay is set in large of lush green plants, landscaped premises and a well mowed lawn with garden lights.Peace and alms prevails over the place which is broken only with the chiming of soft bells from the nearby temple, the chirruping of birds or the playful whistling of the squirrels in the tree. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Venice Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Venice Castle Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing