We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Really Excellent Homestay"”
Review of Venice Castle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Venice Castle
Ranked #2 of 223 Alappuzha B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 1, 2014

This is excellent property 6 years old though maintained very well and give you fill as good as newly built. The rooms are super clean and have minimum furniture required. Toilet and bathroom are very clean with all necessary things and good quality fittings (see photo's).
The location is very good well connected to main road still calm and peaceful. The Boat jetty & KSRTC Bus stand, market place are at walk able distance. The beach is 4km away by auto Rs. 60.

Mr. Matthew & Mr. Thomas are very kind and caring.
Mr. Thomas the man with smiling face. He is so kind and helpful that he took care of our every need during our stay. I would specially like to thanks Mr. Matthews Mother for her kindness and tasty breakfast.
He booked for us separate "Shikara boat" for lake tour (Rs. 1200/-)

Pros :- Hot Water, good south Indian breakfast, free Wi-Fi access. In room have AC & Cupboard.
Cons:- No place to dry your cloths inside room. have to dry @downstairs garden area. TV is very old with limited channels without remote operating.

I would highly recommend this place for its hospitality and cleanliness.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RAHUL7916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (446)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

155 - 161 of 447 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2014

We contacted Mr. Matthew via phone a month before our planned trip and the booking was done very easily, without any hassles. We were in touch with him from a day before for road directions and timings. He proved to be extremely helpful with early check-in and flexibility with breakfast as well.
Rooms are the cleanest we have experienced in any homestay so far, and all the amenities are very good. Breakfast was a spread of traditional Kerala fare (Kadala curry & Puttu - if I got the names correct) and toast, butter, jam, eggs, tea/coffee - all the items were fresh and very well presented. Mr. Matthew was the most helpful host, and went out of his way to get us houseboat booking, dropping us to the venue, and fetching us auto-rickshaw at 6 am!
Extremely well maintained property in the middle of the town, with some good restaurants nearby and very reasonable room rates. Highly recommended. Will definitely stay here if we visit Alleppey next time.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NoopurM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Good Home Stay and Hospitality. Nice place. Well located. Clean rooms. Keralite breakfast - tasty. Mr. Mathew is very friendly and helpful. Like to visit every year with friends and family for a break.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OMatthew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Had good fun with family. Stay was pleasant. Affordable and friendly staff. Located in the heart of Alleppey. Mr. Matthew and Mr. Thomas were very friendly and helpful along with the care taker.

Good place to spend your holiday.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Solomon V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

This really was an excellent home stay! The rooms were clean and the showers clean and function al. Thank goodness foe an efficient air con - really appreciated. The house had good wifi connections and the hosts were very helpful at all time - even offering bottled water for the beach and booking auto rickshaws.
The homestay ahead a comfortable balcony area for guest which was well lit and had a fan. I felt that this house offered very good value for money.
We had a very early start the next day and the hosts prepared a good breakfast especially early for us - great scrambled egg and decent toast!
This homestay deserves to be number one in Kerala if not India!!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spikeuk12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

We were a family of 5 and we stayed there for 2 nights here. Followed google maps and we reached without asking for directions. Mr. Matthew and Mr. Thomas were very friendly and helpful along with the care taker. Matthew booked us houseboats for the next day and it was a brilliant one.

The breakfast was tasty and served hot. Will recommend this to our friends and family.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank razorBlades
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

I stayed with my girlfriend and friend from Ukraine, wanted to give them bit of local homestay experience .Got exactly what I wanted. Clean rooms and bathrooms with air conditioning in a nice and well maintained house. 1st floor verandah is great place to enjoy your morning tea with birds ,sunshine and greenery.Very warm and welcoming Matthew and Thomas, helped us in getting a houseboat for day trip, booked table for dinner in a nearby Restaurant,(Royale Park) , suggested massage place. Have decent wifi, overall great experience!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AniBanerjee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
0.7 mi away
Nova Holidays
Nova Holidays
#7 of 70 in Alappuzha
196 reviews
18.9 mi away
The Royale Gardens Hotel & Resorts
1.5 mi away
Alasr Heritage Home
Alasr Heritage Home
#3 of 223 in Alappuzha
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kalappura Homestay
Kalappura Homestay
#4 of 223 in Alappuzha
131 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bella Homestay
Bella Homestay
#6 of 223 in Alappuzha
349 reviews
1.3 mi away
Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Venice Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Venice Castle

Address: Opp.to D.T.P.C Office | Behind CANARA Bank, Boat Jetty Road, Alappuzha 688011, India
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 223 B&Bs / Inns in Alappuzha
Price Range: $20 - $28 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Venice castle is the home stay of your dreams It is ideally located in the very heart of the town. Yet, Venice castle is cut off from the din and bustle of the town by wooded surroundings that lends an ambiance of the country side. The home stay is set in large of lush green plants, landscaped premises and a well mowed lawn with garden lights.Peace and alms prevails over the place which is broken only with the chiming of soft bells from the nearby temple, the chirruping of birds or the playful whistling of the squirrels in the tree. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Venice Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Venice Castle Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing