We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to paradise”
Review of Abad Turtle Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Abad Turtle Beach
Ranked #1 of 68 Hotels in Alappuzha
Certificate of Excellence
Odense
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Close to paradise”
Reviewed January 30, 2011

Very quiet and private resort style hotel. A small number of bungalows and villas well laid out in garden like surroundings. Very nice and reasonably priced restaurant with good local and north indian food – no alcohol but try asking for energy drink as special room service. Excellent and beautiful private beach plus nice pool area. Ayurvedic massages available. Very quiet and only few people there. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TueKempf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    311
    192
    55
    19
    10
See reviews for
227
219
15
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Llandrindod Wells, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed January 20, 2011

This is a beautiful place. Guest bungalows situated in 13 acres of lovely gardens with trees, butterflies, lovely birds. Rooms comfortable, staff n service excellent. Truly somewhere to forget about the cares of the world and to relax.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leelott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandrindod Wells, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed January 20, 2011

ABAD Turtle Beach is a piece of heaven on Earth. A haven away from the stresses of life. The gardens, setting are superb. The staff and service excellent. The accommodation very good.

It is the perfect place to relax and appreciate how good life can be.

We do not hesitate to recommend it

Lee and Jack Lott

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeeTeresaLott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2011

Having read previous reviews, arrived apprehensive but this place exceeded all expectations. First the grounds are now really taking shape so this is a small, pretty resort in an excellent location with a really well kept beach. As it is small, there is a really personal feel and the staff go out of their way to make your stay great. The restaurant serves lovely food and as I had back problems they brought comfortable chairs to our table every night. It is also always possible to sit outside the main area at tables with chairs in lieu of the benches (photo'd on website) and mentioned in previous reviews. The management told us they will be getting chairs as soon as possible and this will do credit to the chef who served up excellent food for the 4 nights of our stay. Ajit at the Restaurant also spoke excellent English and helped a difficult family (food intolerances and a 10 year old) to understand exactly what was in each dish! We cannot praise him highly enough and we really enjoyed our discussions with him. Also Stephen the lifeguard was outstanding. When our daughter and a little friend (10&9) wondered off to the beach on their own, he didn't let the two out of his sight and it was a great relief for both Mother's that there was such a conscientious man on duty. He also seemed to appear out of nowhere with loungers just when you needed them.... All in all, a truly magical stay, not luxury, but clean with all the facilities you need and excellent value for money. We would love to go back.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Europeanfamily3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2011

I stayed at the Abad Turtle Beach with my family and two children. I was disappointed by the poor amenities. Given that it is a beach hotel there are only ten beach loungers available. The very nice beach attendant tried his best to accommodate all the guests coming on the beach but many people found themselves without anything to sit on. Not a tragedy but not what you'd expect if you had paid the rack rate on what isn't supposed to be a budget hotel. We had no means of getting to our next destination due to a taxi strike. The management were useless and did nothing to help. A very kind porter helped us with our luggage to the bus stop and got us on a local bus. His kindness showed up poor management at the hotel. There's a big pressure to eat the buffet meals which are expensive. The alternative is a 45minute wait for a la carte food which may be a problem if you have hungry kids. The rooms and bathroom are reasonable quality but lack comforts. Hard wicker chairs with no cushions are not ideal to while away an afternoon with a book. It's not possible to control the level of aircon and so unless you like fridge temperature in your room, hard luck. There are few alternatives along the beach to eat at as you can not access the other hotels from the beach for security reasons.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank roarcus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2011

We stayed here in Dec 2010. with our 2 young children.The staff were really not intrested in helping us in any way. The food was pretty poor and we had to wait for 45 minutes if we wanted anything other than the daily buffet. We wanted to go on a bike ride but most of the bikes at the hotel were broken in some way and the staff were totally uninterested in helping us.
The worst of all was that on our last day there was a taxi strike, what did the hotel do, organise a private car? NO, they let us drag our luggage on our own to the front gate and get a public bus to the nearest town. ABAD Hotel in every way!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AndrewH64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2011

exceptionally helpful friendly staff. made the stay a hugely pleasant one

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fitmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alappuzha
14.9 mi away
Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort
10.8 mi away
Citrus Retreats Alleppey
Citrus Retreats Alleppey
#8 of 68 in Alappuzha
664 reviews
8.2 mi away
Abad Whispering Palms Lake Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Xandari Pearl
Xandari Pearl
#1 of 5 in Mararikulam
285 reviews
6.9 mi away
Ramada Alleppey
Ramada Alleppey
#9 of 68 in Alappuzha
677 reviews
5.7 mi away
Punnamada Resort
Punnamada Resort
#2 of 68 in Alappuzha
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abad Turtle Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abad Turtle Beach

Property: Abad Turtle Beach
Address: Varankavala, Pollathai P.O. Mararikulam | Mararikulam, Alappuzha 688567, India
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Alappuzha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Abad Turtle Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spread across an area of 13 acres of land, Turtle Beach Resort is ideally located at Mararikulam, a fishing village about 30 kms from Kochi. The resort overlooks the white sandy Marari Beach and has a rivulet flowing on one side. Stretching across the expansive area are 16 cottages comprising 29 beach cottages and villa. Facilities: The rooms are spacious, air-conditioned with en-suite toilets and individual patios. Room are equipped with TV, telephone, fridge, tea/coffee maker and individual safe deposit locker, Ayurveda centre, doctor on call, currency exchange, credit card accepted, travel arrangements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Abad Turtle Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abad Turtle Beach Hotel Alappuzha
Abad Turtle Beach Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing