We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing backwater tour”
other traveler has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Average
14 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Houseboat -
24 Bedrooms, 24 Bathrooms, Sleeps 48
Alappuzha, Alappuzha District, Kerala

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Ameya S
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing backwater tour”
Reviewed November 30, 2017 for a stay in November 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Really nice experience with indiavacationz luxury houseboat .
Suitable for couples and family. Friendly staffs and lovely atmosphere.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 26, 2017
Thank you for spending time to update your review on our Houseboat It was an absolute privilege to have you with us. We are indeed delighted to know that the services rendered were up to your expectations. It is comments such as yours that inspire us to strive for greater heights of excellence in our services. We appreciate your patronage and sincerely look forward to the pleasure of having you stay with us again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sukhvinde...
Chandigarh, Chandigarh, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“worse experience ever.”
Reviewed November 29, 2017 for a stay in November 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This is regarding my stay in houseboat arranged by you (India Vacationz) with “local vendor-Pulickattil Houseboats” was the bad experience in total.

They had provided strawberry houseboat, which was 3 bedrooms big houseboat and never required by my end. I would like to explain the thumbs down experience.

• I had requested/paid for 1 bedroom private houseboat.
Feedback: you gave me 3 bedroom houseboat, which was messy and scary to stay for a couple alone. This is not the commitment you made at the time of booking, I would had opted for another premium houseboat in this cost.

• The food was worse, I would say.
Feedback: In APAI, I had very bad experience during the houseboat stay, no hospitality, no hygiene were taken care. I had my food in the hot dining area, which was worse than ever in my life. The cake you provided was third class and I never have cake like that with the tag “ Happy Marrid Life”(wrong spelling). The flower were dry/dead enough to make you sleep uncomfortable, so that refused to spread on the bed.

• Staff, was not professional enough to take care of the guest.
Feedback: I don’t think so that you or Pulickattil houseboats have ever trained or briefed the onboard staff, how to behave with the guest. They were greedy enough to demand for alcohol and tips to your customer. We started at 2:30 Pm then they parked at 5:30pm and They ended our trip at 8:15am (took just 35mnt to comeback from that parking point) in the morning, I was feeling cheated and sailor was repeating same thing that this houseboat is in loss because of one couple in three bedroom houseboat.

I am not a complained kind a person but would like to spend some time to write back to you Manoj. I paid huge amount (INR 12,200) to you being a travel professional, just to experience and avail the services. I figured out that, I should stay in the good 5* hotel/resort in Kumarakom and experience the houseboat or local gondola(Village tours) for 2 to 3 hours, would be value for money rather than this worse experience.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arun K
1 review
“Memorable houseboat experience in lake”
Reviewed November 9, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Greet experience. ...
We start our cruising on 1 pm .the staffs are friendly.friendly . they help us to learn more about kerala traditions. Got a chance to taste TODDY (kerala traditional natural alcohol) . The food is too delicious especially the kerala fish fry .evening they parked in a village side that's awesome place it's very cool and calm place .
Really enjoyed the trip with my family .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 13, 2017
Thank you for spending time to update your review on our hotel It was an absolute privilege to have you with us. We are indeed delighted to know that the services rendered were up to your expectations. It is comments such as yours that inspire us to strive for greater heights of excellence in our services. We appreciate your patronage and sincerely look forward to the pleasure of having you stay with us again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajeth M
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Good experience”
Reviewed November 8, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Thanks for wonderful experience on my first wedding anniversary.. suprise flowers Deco and cake was which we are not expected..delafinelty will recommend to others..

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 13, 2017
Thank you for spending time to update your review on our hotel It was an absolute privilege to have you with us. We are indeed delighted to know that the services rendered were up to your expectations. It is comments such as yours that inspire us to strive for greater heights of excellence in our services. We appreciate your patronage and sincerely look forward to the pleasure of having you stay with us again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shakthi G
1 review
“Best trip in luxury boat.”
Reviewed November 8, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Its really look like an five star hotel. With delicious food . Staffs are freindly and attentive . Alappuzha is a best place for relaxation.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 13, 2017
Thank you for spending time to update your review on our hotel It was an absolute privilege to have you with us. We are indeed delighted to know that the services rendered were up to your expectations. It is comments such as yours that inspire us to strive for greater heights of excellence in our services. We appreciate your patronage and sincerely look forward to the pleasure of having you stay with us again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hari M
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Houseboat overhypE”
Reviewed November 7, 2017 for a stay in November 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Over Hyped.. that's d best review for this houseboat team.You spend 12000 Rs nd you will get a boat ride of maximum 3 hour. I will tell you my experience from starting point
1. You book a ticket nd internet showing the boat is near to KSRTC bus stand alappuzha nd finishing point ( boat place) is only 2 km.But when you get down you will get a call from your operator that boat is 10 km away from bus stand and you have to come n auto or taxi...so payment from your pocket only.
2.when you reach the boat you will find its not the boat which you seen in internet..quality is less and may b just above a 2 star hotel.But the price is 12k to 15k. Now the agent will come nd tell you that another boat is fully occupied or some groups are there in that...thats y arranged another boat.Now if you are alone couple n that boat ..the quality of food will go down...nd ofcourse the food is just basic Kerala food..even you get better food in HoMe.In a 12k to 15k houseboat afternoon menu is Sambhar.. last finger ...cabbage...nd only fish fry ( fish is available for 30 Rs )..
3.You starting at 1.00 and lunch at 2.30 ..but boat is actually starting near to 1.30 to 2.00..nd stops.Now lunch time for one hour.No travelling..why ? You can't have food while n travelling...
4.Now after 3.30 boat starting to a location close to the usual boat route ...No extraordinary background scenes...No sunset view...nd more than this ...the boat is travelling 30 minutes..nd now on same route returning back...so what you seeing is actually nothing..Nd now the real bluffing begins...no boat is offering fish n dinner..you have to but nd give to them...normally when you book..you can find ..all meals included..but the menu is so pathetic..Now they will take you to a fish stall which they knows we'll.. Now the fish rates rising suddenly...no fish is available for less than 500 Rs...so one more time you bcme fool...( If you are lucky you will get a new fish..or the ice packed one only )
5. Now the boat a returning n same route ..where no sceneries....only boat ride...nd at 5.00 the boat a stopping near the owners house...No houseboat view...you can see one dirty road nd black coloured water near by...nd lot of mosquitos...
6.Dinner again depending on a cook..if he a good..you will get good food...but most of the time you are unlucky..
7.now the boat is there up to 7 in morning...The reason they are giving is that as per govt rules ...regulations no one can use houseboat between 6 pm to 6 am..but for what...the transport boat is travelling up to 10 n night...nd on that way no fishing boats are going..so basically making you fools n the name of govt nd stopping houseboat at 5.00 nd saving their fuel.Nd its a combined cheating by all houseboat..so you will not feel it

7.Now the most important brkdown..
YOU PAYING ABOVE 10K
what you got ... Two hour boat ride
Nd returning n same route so a max three hour boat ride..same boring scenes nd no village scenes as houseboat is big so it can't go in small canals

Nd lunch of max 500 Rs outside you so get a betterfood that this ...so a total 3 meals 1500 for food . Nd rooms of 2 star ..Max of 2000 to 2500 standard.. Nd the boat is travelling for 12 km up and down..so max 25 or 30 km...If you are hiring a boat from alappuzha ..it will cost 600 to 700 for one hour..you take it for three hour or four hour..max cost is 2500 nd you can go through small canals too... so the total cost is near about 5000 is good for a houseboat

8. The payment for the houseboat driver nd all is nearly 20k per month..nd maintenance cost for a houseboat will n max of 2000...nd you are paying 15 k for one day...so the houseboat owners are really enjoying the payment you giving nd doing nothing...

9.Suggetion for all the travellers is
Get down n alappuzha bus stand.Get your lunch from any good hotel..Have it...nd then hire a boat ...travel for two to three hour ....feel the sunset nd all comeback....nd have dinner outside nd get a hotel of three star or shift to your next l9cation...Except houseboat ...nothing s there to see in Alappy...you can try your stay n kochi...or start travelling to munnar or some other places. Because n houseboat you will not get a chance to see sunrise or sunset...so if you want to watch ...you hire the small boat which is available in alappuzha boat centre..near the bus stand

10.if you want to feel the actual boat journey..Reach at Alppy around 9.30 n morning...There s a boat ..transport boat at 10.30 from alappy to kollam...nd it will reach kollam around 5 n evening..getdown n kollam...get a KSRTC bus to trivandrum or kovalam...nd enjoy the night there...if you got bore n boat journey ..get down n any stop nd get a KSRTC bus from near by town to any location you want to go.....Bus is available n all times to trivandrum..nd kochi direction..

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 26, 2017
Thank you for spending time to update your review on our house boat, It was an absolute privilege to have you with us. we have noted the feedback and take it up with concern team , I wish to assure you that we are taking corrective steps to ensure that such incidents may be avoided. You are sure to find marked improvements in your next visit. We appreciate your patronage and sincerely look forward to the pleasure of having you stay with us again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rujuta S
Alba, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place, bad service”
Reviewed November 7, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

To start with, the person in touch with us was efficient in communicating and receiving us at the docks. We were delayed for the check-in due to diversions in kochi city, hence advised the contact about this delay (and expected that everything would have been ready for us to depart as soon as we arrived). Unfortunately we departed on our tour with a further 2 hours delay, due to several reasons - they had forgotten to buy the fuel hence one of them had to go fetch it, the guy made some mistakes in calculating the total amount due, payment and lastly cause they could not manage to un-anchor the boat!!
Lunch was served at 3,30pm. Anything additional that we asked for they replied with "we have very limited portions, else we will make it for dinner". If we needed anything, we were entering that (dirty) kitchen to get it ourselves, and we found ourselves also cleaning the glasses. Any questions (also sheer curiosity about the boat/backwaters/ speakers/ asking for a clean glass /spoon etc) made to them the 1st two times were always ignored, third time if they felt like it, they would respond. The description of the boat on the email was far from reality, the gen set was not on board. Cleanliness was very low. The air conditioning was to be on for all the duration that we were on the boat (and we paid for that) instead there was only 1 remote, strictly regulated by one of the guys. Just 1 towel for 2 people. 250 rupees and 30 euros went missing from one of the members of our group. All in all, these guys really need some hospitality training, especially for the amount of money that they are charging, which is equivalent to a night in a 5 star suite, one would expect atleast a fair level of service!!!! And last recommendation, never leave your valuables unattended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 26, 2017
Thank you for spending time to update your review on our house boat, It was an absolute privilege to have you with us. we have noted the feedback and take it up with concern team , I wish to assure you that we are taking corrective steps to ensure that such incidents may be avoided. You are sure to find marked improvements in your next visit. We appreciate your patronage and sincerely look forward to the pleasure of having you stay with us again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing