We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I never expected to find somewhere so addictive, fun, friendly and unforgettable!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Vrindavanam Heritage Home
Ranked #51 of 195 Alappuzha B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“I never expected to find somewhere so addictive, fun, friendly and unforgettable!”
Reviewed August 23, 2010

I came to Alleppey with my Mum and two friends for the Snakeboat race. At the bus station we were met by a young guy who invited us to Vrindavanam Heritage home for some fun activities to celebrate the boat race which was the next day. We were lucky enough to get a room there that night also. we never expected we would have such a great time. upon arriving we were shown our rooms and then on to the Garden Restaurant at the back. The place was lit up beautifully and we were able to sit at a table and watch some traditional Kerala dancers put on a show while we enjoyed some amazing food that we could see cooked in an open kitchen. The atmosphere was very cool and the staff incredibly friendly. We ended up staying for 3 more days than we planned. My Mum and I loved it and will definitely be going back again as soon as we get the chance. I would recommend this place to anyone going to Alleppey!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizzcawley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    33
    4
    10
    11
See reviews for
22
31
31
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kettering
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2010

We stayed at Vrindavanam Heritage Home in January 2010 and booked it after reading the good review in last year's Lonely Planet. It was very cheap and the building itself is very nice with some real potential but unfortunatley the guys who run it don't really know what they are doing. They were all very friendly and gave us some good information about beaches and boat trips but they did not keep the hotel up to standard.

We had to wait over an hour for breakfast (coffee and a pancake!). They are trying to run a restaurant from the hotel but don't know anything about food so I would urge anyone staying there not to order anything more complicated that toast or pancakes - we ordered chicken fried rice and were served up chicken that was off!!!! It was revolting

However, this is a good option for backpackers who just want a bed for the night in a good location and aren't too worried about cockroaches in their bathrooms (seriously)

If you stay here in Allapey ask about a beach which is about 9 km out of town, can't remember the name but it is a beach mostly used by locals with no tourists on it and it is AMAZING! One of the best beaches I have ever been to - deserted and beautiful white sand

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emskiebeebop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shafees, Owner at Vrindavanam Heritage Home, responded to this review, May 24, 2012
hi,

we take over the place after 2010 so we dont now what happend to the guest who stayed before ,and to be honest why we keep the same name because lots of people who looking the old lonely planet and coming to here , and mean while we started the new restaurant inside the property called avocado garden restaurant , so now a days no issue for any guest who staying here ,they all happy a recommend our place. so if the guest who stayed before having some experience we are very sorry for that.so please understand our situvation
thank you
shafee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerllish
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2010

dirty rooms and poor service though its a lovely old building

  • Disliked — lovely old building
  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Gerlish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shafees, Owner at Vrindavanam Heritage Home, responded to this review, May 24, 2012
hi ,

we started new restaurant inside our building called avocado garden restaurant , and last 2 years on wards guest dont have any problem like that. so pls update our status

thank you
shafee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 23, 2009

This place is excellent value for money. It is five minutes walk from the beach,two minutes from the train station and a short rickshaw ride into the town centre. The rooms are clean and comfortable. We were in the old section of the house set around a very quiet courtyard. Service could be slow depending how busy they were, but that is usual in India and everything was made fresh. We were not sure how long we would stay when we arrived and ended up staying for two weeks we felt so relaxed.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MartinSusanUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SINDHUDURG
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 21, 2009

We had a Brief stay at VRINDAVANAM for 2 days in April 2006.
The Management was very Co-operative. They also arranged for a Day in Motor Boat. It was all Fun and Myself & my Family Cherish the Memories.
Converted From an Old Property which is More than 150 years Old.But Beautifully Renovated.Tree House was really Nice and Our Grandmother also Enjoyed it

Stayed April 2006, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank SindhudurgMadhu_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 10, 2009

Myself and five female friends spent the night at Vrindavanam and had a very similar experience to the previous reviewee. We arrived late to discover that our booking had been given away despite phoning ealrier in the day to confirm it.
With no rooms available we were offered the floor in a communal area for the night for free, which we accepted. The staff were highly unproffesional more interested in having a good time that seeing to the needs of their guests. We waited well over an hour for our dinner and breakfast.
The young guys who ran the place continued to play load music late into the night which was construde by other guests as our fault. The next morning after a terrible nights sleep in a room which was infested with ants (we have the bites to prove it!) we were told by a waiter dressed in only a towel that a man was refusing to pay for his room due to the noise and could we make a donation.
We were a little taken aback to be told we had a room for free then have to pay for a terrible nights sleep, when it was the staff who were holding the party. Having been told we could make a voluntary contribution we where then presented our food bill with RS600 added on for the room. We later found out that the guest had not refused to pay, the guys where just trying to cover their backs as their superior had arrived that morning.
The heritage home is noce, and if we had been given the room we had booked I am sure we would have had a pleasent stay, but we left feeling that we had been taken advantage off and used as scapegoats.
This place needs to readress the way they treat there guests.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank sbethany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shafees, Owner at Vrindavanam Heritage Home, responded to this review, May 24, 2012
hi,

actually we takeover the place from the people who run vrindavanam heritage home before and still we keep the name because lots of people using the lonley planet old edition and coming to here ,but mean while we started the new resturant inside and its call avocado garden resturant. now a days we looking forward our business in a professional way... and last two years all the guests who staying here is very happy and recommend lots of guests to coming here also.

so this review and all happend before we buy this place only ,so pls do some help for us

thank you
shafee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2008

Vridavanum is a good deal pricewise, though the glowing review it enjoys in Lonely Planet is slightly misleading. "Beautifully preserved" might be too generous a descriptor--while it's not downright filthy, it's not overly clean either. The bathrooms were a bit dank and smelled pretty musty. The rooms are set around a charming courtyard filled with greenery and wildlife including a sedentary eagle (cool!), and, at night, roaches and a rat (not cool!). Some better upkeep could do wonders for this place.

Vrindavanum's location is fair--the public beach is 20 minutes on foot, and since Allepey is a small place, it's not far by auto-rickshaw to get to wherever else you need to go. The fast and readily accessible internet connection at the hostel is a bonus.

The staff is comprised primarily of young guys who make up for their sometimes-humourous want of professionalism (ie. taking meal orders soaking wet in nothing but a bath towel) with friendliness, smiles, and musical skills--they were a big hit particularly with the ladies staying beside us. When we first arrived, the guys at the front desk had given our room away despite the fact that we'd called they day before to confirm our late afternoon arrival time, but they did manage to get us into another room.

If you're willing to sacrifice some cleanliness for character and economy, Vrindavanum is a good choice.

  • Liked — Loads of character
  • Disliked — Uncleanliness
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank HooliganGorilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shafees, Owner at Vrindavanam Heritage Home, responded to this review, June 2, 2012
hi,

we take over the place from the people who run vrindavanam two years ago ,after that we make lots of changes inside this building eg like starts a in house resturant called avocado , and mean while why we keeping the old name because lots of people still looking the old edition of lonely planet travel book. and in this last two years we do our best for the guest who staying here.

so sorry for your experiences with our place

shafee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
0.8 mi away
Funky Art Beach House
Funky Art Beach House
#19 of 195 in Alappuzha
91 reviews
0.3 mi away
Seaside Residency
Seaside Residency
#71 of 195 in Alappuzha
62 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mantra Heritage Home
Mantra Heritage Home
#16 of 195 in Alappuzha
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Cosy Regency
Cosy Regency
#59 of 195 in Alappuzha
139 reviews
1.4 mi away
Venice Castle
Venice Castle
#2 of 195 in Alappuzha
416 reviews
1.9 mi away
Dazzle Dew
Dazzle Dew
#47 of 195 in Alappuzha
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vrindavanam Heritage Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vrindavanam Heritage Home

Property: Vrindavanam Heritage Home
Address: Zachariya Bazar, Alappuzha 688001, India
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 195 B&Bs / Inns in Alappuzha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"The dream house of priceless memory" Heaven of Alleppey Rich, mystical cultural heritage that spans back through the ages: Alleppey opens its secrets to those who wish to leave behind the stresses and worries of everyday life. Situated close to the beach, Vrindavanam Heritage Home epitomizes Alleppey's true spirit and flavour. As the sole Heritage Home approved by the Govt. of Kerala (KTDC Alleppey), every day is a celebration of music, dance, fun and elation at Vrindavanam Heritage Home. Vrindavanam Heritage Home offers the best in accommodation and cuisine with plenty of facilities and services to play the perfect host. With 20 well appointed, spacious guest rooms and expansive options for dining, from Pan Asian to delectable Kerala cuisines, Vrindavanam Heritage Home promises an exemplary experience with a plethora of recreational tour packages for you and your family so that the fun never stops. Beautiful and exotic a place is Kerala, best known for its sun-kissed beaches, serene blue seas and lush greenery which has been very well maintained; you find a reflection of the same at Vrindavanam. This Heritage Home also boasts a meandering garden area that stretches across the property, making for a location that is a grand sight to behold. Being the only Heritage Home, we continue to offer our guests the best of service and amenities. A unique abode in the land of Alleppey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Vrindavanam Heritage Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vrindavanam Heritage Home Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing