We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'll be back, and next time for longer!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Pamba Heritage Villa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 9, 2013

The only negative I have to say about my stay at the Pamba Heritage Villa is that it was only one night and I could have stayed for weeks. We arrived and were welcomed by the owner, Rajeev and his family who run the homestay.
The first meal was served in the traditional style on a banana leaf and was so tasty and plentiful, I then spent the afternoon chilling out reading in one of the hammocks by the waters edge. It was truly a fantastic experience. If you want a place to experience a more laid back lifestyle with fabulous food, welcoming hosts who cannot do enough for you and space to relax then this is the right place for you.
Having bikes available for customer use was a huge plus in my eyes as I cycled as the sun rose over the paddy fields waving good morning to the locals, unforgettable, one of the outstanding memories from my trip.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martinhancock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (206)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 206 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2013

Fantastic days spent there, unfortunately only 2... The best place to find oneself or just to rest a little bit with mind and body. thanks to the beautiful river just in front of your eyes and the nice people who live the house: Rajeev and his beautiful wife!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elislow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

This is the best way to experience the backwaters. Staying at a family house on a river shore, watching the boats go by, and exploring the villages around. To this one should add the warm hospitality, the great local homemade food, and the nice rooms. Rajeev, Angeli and the children gave us the feeling that we were their personal guests and enabled us to experience the way of living in the backwaters.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iditi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We enjoyed our two night stay, taking boat rides on the river, hanging out on the porch talking with the relatives we were traveling with, eating on a table out in the grass under a tree, watching the boats and the world pass by. The rooms are simple and lovely, the bathrooms are a kick (western style and very nice with a surprise), the food yummy. This is a place to kick back, take it easy, slow down.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CuriousSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The Pamba Heritage Villa is a stunningly beautiful property where you can soak up the Kerala sun and the calming vibe of the backwaters. Rajeev's is unbelievably hospitable, helping us with everything from organizing a sunset cruise on the water to acquiring some delicious toddy for a nightcap.

But, perhaps the most amazing part of the trip was the food. We stayed there for 4 days and were treated to a constant stream of delicious Keralan dishes. It was truly some of the best food I've eaten in my life.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

A 109 year old traditional Kerala house overlooking the river, Pamba heritage villa is a great place to unwind and soak in the Keralan village life.

Our memorable stay here a week back, began with a warm welcome by Rajeev, the host, who through out our stay ensured that we were utmost comfortable. For instance, our request for veg food being considered to the extent that the family went without cooking fish / non veg for the 1 day (a tall order for a Keralite) that we were at Pamba (we were the only guests), speaks volumes of the hospitality!

Lush green garden surrounded by banana plantation and trees, placid / gentle river flowing right in front of the property, hammocks to stretch yourself out with a book in hand or an iPod, lazily watch the boats go by, paddy fields where one can watch the sunrise - all at a reasonable price - That's Pamba Heritage for you!! The place is such that even our 8 year old didn't have a dull moment and thoroughly enjoyed it.

What makes Pamba Heritage unique is the personal touch and care and hospitality extended by hosts , the delicious Kerala cuisine (didn't taste such delicious authentic Kerala cuisine during the remaining days of our visit in Kerala) and a property amidst the Kerala backwaters.

The only thing that marred our trip was the blaring music because of a local festival that was happening the day we were at Pamba. But that's ofcourse something which is not in Rajeev's control

Please don't miss the canoe ride which Rajeev can arrange for you a reasonable price.

Strongly recommend this place for those who want to see and experience Kerala village life far away from the maddening city.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drifter_bangalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

what more can you as for? considerate care from rajeev and his family, Mouthwatering delicious food, lounging on the veranda, relaxing in a hamock reading or watching riceboats, canoes and small boats pass by on the serene river. Breakfast and lunch on the grass over looking the river. The house is an exquisite historic wooden house. To top it all i found out his mother teaches Kerala cooking which i want to experience on my next visit.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank billie clare r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
26 mi away
Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort
5.6 mi away
Nova Holidays
Nova Holidays
#6 of 70 in Alappuzha
192 reviews
11.7 mi away
Purity at Lake Vembanad
Purity at Lake Vembanad
#1 of 181 in Alappuzha
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Punnamada Resort
Punnamada Resort
#4 of 70 in Alappuzha
840 reviews
5.8 mi away
Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort
12.1 mi away
Lemon Tree Vembanad Lake Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pamba Heritage Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pamba Heritage Villa

Address: Kanjooparambil-Umbukadu, | Nedumudi Jetty, Alappuzha 688503, India
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 181 Specialty Lodging in Alappuzha
Price Range: $67 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pamba Heritage -a most perfect blend of old world charm and modern amenities. The antique wooden structures "Ara" and "Nilavara" which were originally used for storing grains have been restored for modern living.This is the home away from home, which is sandwiched between the silver cascading Pamba River on the western side, and emerald carpeted paddy fields on the eastern side. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Pamba Heritage Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pamba Heritage Villa Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing