We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My best stay in India!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Pamba Heritage Villa
Certificate of Excellence
Florence
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My best stay in India!”
Reviewed April 12, 2012

I've been traveling around India with a friend in march 2012 and we spent a night in this wonderful place. For sure it was the best place we found during our trip around this country. The owner and all his family are very kind, the place is beautiful and the location is great. Also the food was very good (for sure homemade).
Before we arrived we booked a trip on a small motorboat, as the owner suggested to us, and it was the perfect choice because the big boat (whit rooms to sleep) are too big to go in the smal channals that are, in my opinion, more beautiful than the big one.
Moreover my friend had coff and cold and all the family of the Pamba helped us with natural remedies!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martina b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    28
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
49
64
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
1 review
Reviewed March 28, 2012

Before our marriage itself we were planning for a suitable place to celebrate our honeymoon.
Many places came to our mind... Gwalior, Ooty, Lakshadweep, Andaman, Munnar, Shimla or Singapore and Mauritius... Finally we decided to spend it in Alappuzha... Though this was not in our list, dont know how we finalized this place. Then we searched for a better and affordable place to spend our initial days. Finally we decided on Pamba Heritage after some googling. As the name suggests, it is just on the banks of river Pamba. Very calm and quiet place. Only the silent sigh of the river tides were heard and nothing else. This place or villa is an 100yr old mansion or more and well maintained. After reaching there, we were so happy that we made a good decision. The host was unbelievable, the 60+ year old couple welcomed us in an unusual manner, dont want to crack the nut, you feel it yourself... we had no words to thank them for giving such a good welcome. We booked a double room. Very neat and tidy room I should say. Ample, ventilation, an open roof bathroom which can be covered if requested, but we kept the roof open, good flooring. The food; I should say I had the best ever food in my life at Pamba Heritage. You cant beat the food. Its so yummy... Still its watering my mouth when i write about it. They arranged the house boat for us. Though we could have went back to Bangalore from Alappuzha, we came back in the same house boat and stayed that night at Pamba Heritage. Its like the feeling of going back to the nature again and again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thulasimani S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2012

My boyfriend and i have just spent the past week in Kerala in a fancy expensive hotel but one weekend in this family owned Villa on the backwaters has totally beat that hands down! We arrived in the morning to a freszhly squeezed fruit juice made with home grown fruits from the garden! Sitting in the natural shade of the tall mango, papaya and coconut trees, in a beautiful landscaped well kept garden! The view is idylic! Looking right out on to the dreamy backwaters...U can spend a whole day lazing in the hammocks looking out on to the canoes and old rice barges chugging along....Meanwhile we enjoyed the best homemade Indian food on our trip so far, all served on a natural bananna leaf outside by the Lake! Rajeev the son who was our perfect Enlish speaking host was so welcoming and attentive and we totally trusted him to organise us a backwater canal boat cruise for the following day for a very fair price compared to alot of our friends! He also organised us a wondeful 2 hour sunset boat trip on the smaller canals the larger boats cant go down! This was incredible as you see true nature as its best!\
The rooms are clean and wonderfully simple with a perfectly positioned fan abouve the bed and good AC if needed! The outdoor en suite shower under the stars was dreamy too!
I would reconmend this authentic Idilic homesaty to anyone wanting to escape the maddness and chill out in pure bliss and Tranquility! We will definatly be returning and telling all our friends about this one!!
Enjoy..!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Natasha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2012

Pamba Heritage gave us a real insight into family life in the Kerala Backwaters. From the moment that Rajiv picked us up from the ferry he and his family could not have been more welcoming. The rooms are beautiful and we loved the outdoor shower. The food was delicious and plentiful - we all put on a few pounds - and the house was so peaceful that we just relaxed into the place and hardly wanted to move. We sat on the verandah and watched the comings and goings of life on the river, and we sat in the garden eating fantastic home-cooked food. This was a perfect place to relax.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hebertshausen, Germany
1 review
Reviewed February 17, 2012

Sorry about my english. But its a requirement for me to say what a beautiful stay in here.
After a journey throug South India we have been 2 days in this house.
It realy was a relaxtion, we enjoed the food, the silence and the sunsets very much.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ostertage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calcutta, West Bengal, India
Level Contributor
89 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2012

Staying @ Pamba Heritage Villa was a real pleasure amidst nature and the looking old wooden mansion. The hosts were really nice and hospitable and the food served was eqaually good. We visited in Dec 2011 and even if staying for 2 days it was a real memorable experience.

Room Tip: choose the room on the south end
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaushik_Basu_1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2012

This was my first trip to Kerala, and out of the busy schedule, kind of stole 2-3 days just for myself and my family. I just wanted to enjoy every bit, and every moment of it. After staying at Pamba heritage, only wish came, aaah I should've stayed little more! The experience is just unforgettable!

It is the home-made cup of hand-picked tea for those, who want something diffferent, which they can treasure for a lifetime. The place itself is at an amazing location, and to reach the homestay property you need to forget the roads at one point, only a boat can take you there. A real disconnect from day-to-day life at cities, isn't it? The owner Mr. Thomas and Thomas are the great humble, literate fellows, who will take care of you. Thomas junior is a friendly person, who came with a boat to pick us up. And mind it, he works in a top MNC at Singapore, but you'll never realize it for his humbleness. After reaching homestay boating for some 5-10 min, you reach the serene property on the banks of Pamba river. Every river has some stories to tell, and this one being at the threshold of your home, tells many more.

Reached there, amazing kerala delicacies will be served with great love, care and affection. Almost on demand :o) My wife is veggie, myself almost carnivorous, and kids just wanting milk with bournvita, expect all that served hot on the family's dining table. Now the time about the host couple. They are lovely couple, caring, smiling, smart, intelligent and bright eyed. The beautiful lady is also an enlightened author, and you should feel honoured when getting served with delicious Appams, that she is an artist not just in cooking. Support the author!!

There are 2-3 kids, and if you planning to go with kids, they feel just amazing. My son after catching his first fish from Pamba river, excited and already telling Papa Kerala rocks! They were already calling the place home, and roaming around freely! Can I say more?

About the sight-seeing of Alleppy part. I was not intersted in houseboats, so here again, the owner, Rajiv Thomas also arranged me for a boat ride through the rural Kerala, passing through narrow canals, showing the most marvelous part of the trip. The boatman he arranged was a quiet person, who could just understand what I am looking for. Taking us though the narrow passges of rivers, canals, lakes, he finally brought us to the adjoining sea! In one day, in just 3-4 hours we almost saw the world!!! Thanks to Rajiv for making this possible. The best thing was, the boatman allowed our family to sit on the hood of the boat, and even the houseboats guys were jealous seeing us enjoying the purest oxygen, views and feeling being on the top of the world!

Massage is also a fun in itself. The masseur would come to 'pick' you from homestay, take you though the boat to his place, not too far, and after a good kerala massage, will bring you back making you feel little dreamy this time :o)

A place worth visiting, and repeat trips for sure. It has created too many good memories, and I just hope it'll not fade away, as I have so many recordings with me. I wish, I'd have stayed more, and carried few more tapes for my cam! Also, I could have enjoyed those Kerala delicacies a little more!!! Anyway, just after coming back, we immediately learnt many of those like killler appams and cute puttu! We need to come back for those authentic gravies though?

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MMadhav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
26.0 mi away
Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort
2.7 mi away
Citrus Retreats Alleppey
Citrus Retreats Alleppey
#8 of 68 in Alappuzha
664 reviews
11.7 mi away
Purity at Lake Vembanad
Purity at Lake Vembanad
#1 of 154 in Alappuzha
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Xandari Riverscapes
Xandari Riverscapes
#3 of 154 in Alappuzha
283 reviews
6.4 mi away
Punnamada Resort
Punnamada Resort
#2 of 68 in Alappuzha
795 reviews
5.0 mi away
Lake Palace Resort
Lake Palace Resort
#5 of 68 in Alappuzha
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pamba Heritage Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pamba Heritage Villa

Property: The Pamba Heritage Villa
Address: Kanjooparambil-Umbukadu, | Nedumudi Jetty, Alappuzha 688503, India
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 154 Specialty Lodging in Alappuzha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pamba Heritage -a most perfect blend of old world charm and modern amenities. The antique wooden structures "Ara" and "Nilavara" which were originally used for storing grains have been restored for modern living.This is the home away from home, which is sandwiched between the silver cascading Pamba River on the western side, and emerald carpeted paddy fields on the eastern side. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Pamba Heritage Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pamba Heritage Villa Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing