We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“HOT STEAMING MASALA DOSAS”

Indian Coffee House
Ranked #1 of 6 Coffee & Tea in Alappuzha
Cuisines: Indian, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level Contributor
177 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“HOT STEAMING MASALA DOSAS”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

well, this one joint is there since the last few decades. The taste of the Masala dosa, coffee and chapathi is the same in all their branches throughout India. The attire of the stewards is remarkable and one should opt to have a picture taken with them wearing the stiff turbans.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank RAJESH S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    144
    62
    20
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just Phenomenal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

We had the most amazing cold coffees. The coffee house was so typically Indian, with lightening-fast service. The first time that we went there, it was filled with people. Everyone stared at us as we squeezed onto a communal table filled with locals.
The second time that we went was a bit later and we were two of four people in there.

The food and drink were amazing. We had such a fun experience in this establishment and thoroughly enjoyed its no nonsense approach to service. We thought that the idea of a co-operative establishment was fantastic and loved meeting the people who own part of the business.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Eliza R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good food and coffee, basic ambience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

Have this place on your itinerary more for its nostalgia...
Basic ambiance, run down in all areas. Try the little milk confectionery item they sell off the counter of course besides the eggs and the dosas..and coffee.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank anandurban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karwar, India
1 review
“good and resonable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

this is good place to eat out in the city resonably priced clean and good
remarkable to note the dressing style it is very attractive overall good but there serve largly traditional food

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rupeshnaik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margão, Goa, India
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Classy, in a quiet way!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

This place is in such a contrast to its surroundings. It gives you a feel of India of the pre-1970s era, with the head waiter wearing a Pagri (turban) and the other waiters wearing other headwear. The menu is simple and very reasonably charged. This is one place I'd love to grab a snack every evening while at Alleppey. Do try the toasts & cutlets!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indian Coffee House also viewed

Alappuzha, Alappuzha District
Alappuzha, Alappuzha District
 
Alappuzha, Alappuzha District
 
Alappuzha, Alappuzha District
Alappuzha, Alappuzha District
 

Been to Indian Coffee House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing