We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“painful and shocking(literally)”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Alappuzha
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alleppey Beach Resorts
Ranked #38 of 68 Hotels in Alappuzha
bangalore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“painful and shocking(literally)”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We stayed at the alleppey beach resort in December 2013 . The reception staff is badly coordinated and we had to repeat the instructions that were decided at the time of booking.
the property is good but the management is very poor and are short of staff . food is decent but takes time due to shortage of staff. During the stay we had a horrifying experience. My child 5 years old was playing in the play area and we were sitting around and chatting up when she stared crying uncontrollably ..we figured out that she had received an electric shock....we were terrified when we understood what had happenned and after calming her went to the front desk who were very casual about the entire episode...we asked for checking the voltage and we were shocked that it was 220 volts.. there were three poles which were uncovered and on checking we found out that they all carried 220 volts power. the staff kept harping on the same thing that they are unaware of the live wire as it had been disconnected a year ago but such sort of negligence was unacceptable ....and that too in the play area which is supposed to be safe...
no staff had even the courtesy to enquire about the child who was shaken and so were we...they kept us at bay the whole of next day and would not show up until asked for probably fearing the back lash from us....overall very disappointing staff behaviour...and cold
After we returned back home we recd an apology from the manager who pleaded helplessness in regards to what had happened

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travel1016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surajarays, Owner at Alleppey Beach Resorts, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Sir
we had already apologized for the incident immediately, really it was a painful and agonizing incident which should not have happened.As already mentioned in the mail to the guest we were under the impression that the lines to the garden lights were disconnected when we had installed the street lights in 2005. we had recently made a maintenance prior to the season and should-have made it a point to verify this aspect for which we had already conveyed our concern. we are once again conveying our anguish over the e incident and if at all the staff failed to alleviate you agony please bear with us, it may be they did not have the moral courage to face you and parents . we have since called the electrician and disconnected the line and capped the poles.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    33
    21
    11
    9
See reviews for
40
38
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 18, 2014

My stay at this place was short. Good place to stay. Well maintained and Good service.
Good beach view. We enjoyed. We would like to visit again.
Parking place is less inside resort. Small play ground with Jhoola.

Room Tip: Balcony room was very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank TMManjunath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surajarays, Owner at Alleppey Beach Resorts, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Sir
The closed door policy adopted by TRIP ADVISOR is hurting my business. I have had interactions with guest who have written to TRIP ADVISOR and they have not been uploaded ,adverse comments are sure to be loaded within short time .My suggestion is that you should let us know if such comments are written and after our views are known , then only it should be uploaded if it is warranted, TRIP ADVISOR should not be used as a portal to vent one's grievance, it is the hotel owner who is affiliated to trip advisor and not the guests, many of the guest leave their manners at home and make demands and get away, the damage destruction caused and borne silently by the management
Review written from our resort by guest were not loaded or subsequently deleted on management policy terms
Dear TRIP Advisor management people , people come stay have a nice time say all sweet words get the best treatment and just catch up with their life's, who has the time to promote others . Please understand the ground reality guests should not take TRIP ADVISOR AS A WEAPON TO DESTROY A BUSINESS AND PLEASE WHERE ARE THE REVIEWS MY GUEST SEND, I REQUEST PROPER HELP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

After arriving at Alleppey beach resort, it was interesting to find such a place right on the beach.
Check in was okay, as not speaking much english.

We stay for 2 nights, had a first night in the room nearest the beach.
Cleanliness was okay, but it is India.
Cold shower and one time had to wash in the bucket filled from the outside tap.
Beds were a little hard too.
Second night we were in a double room, same as the beach room really.

Was a great Indian experience.
Food was good and breakfast was good, staff were friendly and helpful.

We took a small boat down the small canals, which we enjoyed seeing the history and woman washing, kids playing in the canals.

Really good stay and will not forget it.
If you like your luxury, then this is not for you.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main block probably the best. As had a millipede in the bed with me in the beach room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank namiUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

Pictures showed a pool..which there isn't, no wifi in existence for the 24 hours we stayed. Worst reception ever, manager appalling, I have travelled the world for 30 plus years and never had anything like it. Bungalow like a £8 a night dormitory, so basic, tv 8 inches big, mattress 3" high and the hardest ever!!!!! Even for India. Rules, rules rules!!! Totally remote, need taxi to get anywhere, NOTHING on beach, DRY resort and area. Totally misrepresented, and unwelcoming

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surajarays, Owner at Alleppey Beach Resorts, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
The Guest is a walk in customer who came into the presort at 8/45 pm on 7/1/2014 claiming that she had a reservation made on her behalf by " make my trip " , however she did not produce any voucher for her booking.The manager on duty checked up the bookings on the internet and found that there was no booking on the guest's name till that time. The guest insisted that she should be provided a room . Since only the cottage was available it was given to her on condition she pay the room rent next day if her booking was not conformed by the travel portal.She along with her friend went out and returned around 12 midnight. prior to going out she demanded one more mattress and extra pillows which were provided.The next day after having breakfast she again checked for her booking which had not come through. She made the payment and checked out.
We have not till date advertised that we have a pool. The internet was working intermittently and WiFi was also not working that day. occasionally some guests get WiFi and some others do , we are sorting out this issue with the service providers.. the TV installed is a 21 inch
The cottage is the most sought after by all guests and there has been a keen demand for the cottage and all guests who have stayed there have only good words about it .
It is quite unfortunate that after allowing the guest to use the accommodation without any reservation and without any advance which is against the norms, for which the manager has been reprimand, we are at the receiving end.
we have advertised only what we the beach and the solitude , the cry of the sea gulls and the lapping waves , it is what people want and are happy about
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Alappuzha hotels

Bengaluru, India
1 review
Reviewed January 9, 2014

My stay at this place was short, but quite pleasurable. Best part is the location...it's on the beach and yet slightly away from main area.so,you have almost a private beach of your own. Place is very well maintained and clean, and definitely worth a visit..Cons..Food quality is average

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank sanjay253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surajarays, Owner at Alleppey Beach Resorts, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Sanjay
Kind of you to make an observation,we are really motivated by your good words adds spring to our steps, we are trying to improve the quality of food
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

pros: I had a very relaxing stay at this beach resort. The resort was very calm and rooms were very clean. The food was very nice and homely and cheap. The staff were very friendly.The beach was so close and my kids had lots of fun. There were many hammocks.

cons: Breakfast was included in my package. But it was very limited and I had to pay additional for extra food. The ayurvedic massage referred by the resort was not worthy. I paid Rs.1400 for an hour and it was very much below average.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valliappan2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surajarays, Owner at Alleppey Beach Resorts, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
SIr
Great words from you invigorates us in our effort. What we try to do is not to disturb nature and at the same time keep the premises clean, it's nice to see children enjoy the place and we see the smiles on the parents lip's.
we would definitely look into the breakfast quantity .The place recommended for Ayurveda Massage is one among the best in town, we will also look into this aspect. Thank you for your valuable suggestions
suraja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level Contributor
119 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Nice location, approx 1 kms away from crowded beach. Clean and tidy place and staffs are very pleasant. We had a b'day party their and all arrangements were great. But they don't have proper toilet facility for day time visitors (one's available are attached to the rooms). Also food quality was average.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TVijo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surajarays, Owner at Alleppey Beach Resorts, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Sir
Thanks for the good words and observations. we will definitely address the grievance, in fact there are two toilets for use of public.we would definitely take care to improve the quality of our food
Suraja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
22.2 mi away
Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort
0.3 mi away
Alleppey Beach Garden
Alleppey Beach Garden
#13 of 68 in Alappuzha
48 reviews
7.3 mi away
Abad Turtle Beach
Abad Turtle Beach
#1 of 68 in Alappuzha
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Pozhiyoram Beach Resort
Pozhiyoram Beach Resort
#56 of 68 in Alappuzha
71 reviews
1.0 mi away
Palm Beach Resort
Palm Beach Resort
#29 of 68 in Alappuzha
99 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casamaria Beach Resort
Casamaria Beach Resort
#26 of 68 in Alappuzha
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alleppey Beach Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alleppey Beach Resorts

Property: Alleppey Beach Resorts
Address: Beach Road, Alappuzha 688012, India
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Alappuzha
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Alappuzha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Alleppey Beach Resorts 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alleppey Beach resort's was my Husband's ancestral Home.In the year 2000 we converted this huge house on the beach into a small Resort.The resort is on the beach and we have one a/c cottage, three a/c rooms on the ground floor, two a/c rooms and three non a/c rooms on the first floor and one non a/c room on the ground floor . we also have an in house restaurant serving authentic food with no gimmicks. we use only home made ingredients for our dishes.Access to the beach is direct and the beach is as far as possible kept clean ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alleppey Beach Hotel Alappuzha
Alleppey Beach Resorts Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing