We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for homestay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alappuzha
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nelpura Heritage Homestay
Ranked #20 of 201 Alappuzha B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We had an idyllic stay at Nelpura, perfect for people who are looking forward for a country side set in the backwaters. Clean air, unpolluted by the city fastness, you can feel time here! Mr. Chacko and family are very hospitable, kind and they respect your privacy too. Perfect. The food is excellent and one feel sperfectly at home. We never had the feeling that we are with strangers. Thanks to Mr. Chacko, Mrs. Salimma and the kids for making our stay enjoyable and memorable too.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank renumr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (114)
There are newer reviews for Nelpura Heritage Homestay
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 114 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2012

We cannot recommend this home stay highly enough. The family is very friendly, interested but also respectful of guests' privacy. The food is delicious and the accommodation unique set in a wonderful garden next to the backwaters. Access by canoe - wonderful!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kath J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

This was the first time we stayed a homestay and I was very apprehensive as my husband and i enjoy our privacy and space. But, it turned out to be the highlight of our two week tour of Kerala.

Mr Chacko and his family were warm and welcoming and we very much enjoyed speaking to them over our meals, which were excellent. Some of the best food we had in our whole trip.

The location itself was excellent, we really felt that we were 'off the beaten track' and experienced rural india, the people were friendly and welcoming and it was fascinating watch tehm go on with their normal daily routines and lives. Mr Chacko even arranged a visit to the local school which was really insightful.

We can not recommend this place enough.

We even booked our houseboat through Mr Chacko, which again we highly recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Staying with Mr Chacko and his family was fun and pleasant. In my opinion, it is a much better backwater experience than the usual overnight trip on a house boat. Nelpura is located in a small village about 10 km away from Alleypey, there is access by car, but it is much nicer to ask Nelpura's boat to pick you up at the nearest jetty. Don't miss the sunset cruise on Nelpura's boat, it's wonderful. Cycling along Monkompu's small canals or across the rice fieds and visit the local temples is also a great way to spend an afternoon.
Mr Chacko's guest house is set in a real Keralan antique wooden house that he has rebuilded piece by piece in their (lovely) garden. It's quite classy, comfortable (good shower, aircon, good beds) and very clean. The middle room is not a very good deal though (it has almost no natural light). Meals are in the main house with the family. Mr Chacko entertains with good conversation, Mrs Chacko overfeeds you, the kids are cool and speak perfect english.
So, yes it is quite pricey and what you pay for is mainly the atmosphere and the opportunity to stay comfortably in a remote village in the middle of the backwaters. Let's say it is a cosy adventure. I liked it. Thank you Mr Chacko !

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ccile A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

What a wonderful place. The house where the guest rooms are is stunning. The rooms are very clean and well equipped. What really stands out at Nelpura is the friendliness of the family. They go out of their way to make sure that you feel at home. The food is so delicious! I had the best green mango chutney I ever had. The kids are so friendly (they were kind and played with the 3 year old that I was travelling with when we were having dinner!!!).
What is special about this place is the location. You get to experience how locals live. People are so friendly and are always keen to learn your name and where you are from. The first afternoon we went for a walk it coincided with the end of the day at the schools. We had at some point over 10 kids around us wanting to know more about us and wanting to share with us who they were and what they did. The scenery is very picturesque. And if you are ready to walk for a few hours there is a map in the room suggesting a rout and what to visit and it is worth it.
Chackochan went out of his way on the last day to take us to the train station! It had rained the night before and he was concerned the road might not be good and we might missed an early train. He even packed a little breakfast for us!

If you are looking for a genuine experience staying in a wonderful place, I really recommend Nelpura.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amalianu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Nelpura had everything we looked for and more. Awesome atmosphere, traditional and comfortable accommodation, clean and neat. There was something exhilarating in every bit of the property. Prof Chacko and his lovely wife Salamma have put in every effort to bring Nelpura to a life time experience to the visitors. Special mention to the warmth and attention we received. Food was superb, authentic Kerala taste. We thoroughly enjoyed the stay and exemplary hospitality. Certainly looking forward to go back again with more time in our hands. We highly recommend Nelpura and wish Chacko and family touch many more hearts of visitors!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jj17161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We really enjoyed our short stay at Nelpura, even though heavy monsoon rains had flooded the canal-sides and walking and cycling would have been difficult. The gardens are pretty and a perfect setting for the splendid traditional house that is both the guest accommodation and a fine example of Keralan craftsmanship (spot the wooden door hinges!). Bird-life abounds and we saw many rose-ringed parakeets and black-hooded orioles (beautiful golden yellow colour) in the mango trees, so binoculars essential. Mr and Mrs (Prof) Chacko are great hosts and the food is delicious, so this is a great place to stay and absorb the local atmosphere.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Althea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
26.4 mi away
Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort
3.7 mi away
Citrus Retreats Alleppey
Citrus Retreats Alleppey
#8 of 68 in Alappuzha
686 reviews
2.8 mi away
Thevercad Homestay
Thevercad Homestay
#10 of 201 in Alappuzha
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Maria Heritage Homes and Spa
Maria Heritage Homes and Spa
#16 of 201 in Alappuzha
122 reviews
7.0 mi away
Punnamada Resort
Punnamada Resort
#2 of 68 in Alappuzha
817 reviews
3.6 mi away
Kurialacherry House
Kurialacherry House
#23 of 201 in Alappuzha
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nelpura Heritage Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nelpura Heritage Homestay

Address: Edayady House | Monkompu P O, Alappuzha 688502, India
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 201 B&Bs / Inns in Alappuzha
Price Range: $110 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nelpura is one of the top ten Homestay in India (Guardian paper Sept '10) It stands calm and serine on the bank of a canal leading leading to river Pamba. A perfect getaway from the din and bustle of every day life, the idyllic premises of Nelpura is an ideal retreat into the soothing lap of nature.The building showcases the fine features of traditional Kerala architecture and wood carving.What makes Nelpura special and unique is the serine dignity it gains from the proximity of a happy home.The meal plan is AP- lunch, dinner and breakfast of Kerala cuisine.Activities. Village walk, bicycle ride, narrow canal cruise, visit to ancient churches and temples, cooking class, ayurvedic massage, motor boat trips etc. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Nelpura Heritage Homestay Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing