We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not up to standard of other places we stayed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lemon Tree Vembanad Lake Resort
Ranked #7 of 68 Hotels in Alappuzha
Certificate of Excellence
Wantage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not up to standard of other places we stayed”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Beautiful location, however, food poor, room had damp down walls, restaurant staff slow and breakfast buffet only appeared when more people arrived. No parasols by the pool but some did arrive when we were leaving. Reception staff rude when we gave what we thought was an honest revue of our stay - actually you were fortunate we ticked average!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cathb7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLemonTreeHotels, General Manager at Lemon Tree Vembanad Lake Resort, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your visit to Lemon Tree Vembanad Lake Resort, Muhamma-West of Kumarakom, Kerala. May I apologize for not meeting some of your expectations during your stay.

We have noted your comments and are reviewing the relevant processes. Specifically:

•Food quality: we are sorry you did not enjoy the food. We continuously upgrade and refresh our menus and buffet offering at our restaurants to try and ensure that customers enjoy their experience.
•Dampness in the room: we are sorry about the dampness in your room. This is a common occurrence in humid places like Kerala. We have since been able to repair and refresh that room, along with other rooms that faced the same challenge.
•Speed of restaurant staff: we apologize for the service not meeting your expectations. We have re-briefed our staff to follow predefined procedures and be timely in attending to guest requests.
•Breakfast buffet: on days when the number of guests is not high enough to warrant a buffet we offer guests complimentary breakfast as per their request on an a la carte basis.
•Poolside umbrellas: we are sorry for the inconvenience you faced during your stay. This issue has now been resolved and there are many umbrellas and sun loungers available near the poolside.
•Front Desk staff: we apologize for the service you experienced at the Front Desk and have re-briefed our team to engage with all customers in a friendly and caring manner – which is what Lemon Tree is known for.

Please give us an opportunity to make amends. Should you accede to my request, please email me at gm.vlr@lemontreehotels.com and I will be happy to handle the arrangements personally.

Best regards,

Abhilash A Bhadran
Hotel General Manager
Lemon Tree Vembanad Lake Resort, Muhamma-West of Kumarakom, Kerala

14 cities. 24 hotels. 2800 rooms. Refreshing India.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,026 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    507
    336
    92
    48
    43
See reviews for
456
391
20
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (340)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

My wife & I only had two nights open on a recent trip to Kerala. We needed a place to relax from a stress filled trip. Through a friend living in Kerala and London i(n the travel business,) we were referred to Phillip Mathew (Philip's Travel Boutique - Cochin,) who suggested we try the Lemon Tree Resort. Lemon Tree is a rapidly expanding chain of resorts & hotels in India & we had wanted to try them for a while.

We were not disappointed! It is a well maintained, compact QUIET resort right on the lake. The infinity pool in fact is just a few feet from lakeside and you really feel as if you can swim right into the lake. The entire property is clean & well maintained & managed. The rooms are large & most have a wonderful view. The service was excellent and the property maintains a no tipping policy (they apply a service charge.) The staff is very friendly, fully conversant in English and very obliging. If you want frenetic action, don't come here. However, if you want a relaxing break, great local food and some peace & quiet, this is a great spot. Other than swimming, activities available are; badminton, billiards, table tennis, carom board and fishing. There is also an Ayurvedic Spa with a wide range of services. House boating & other boating and back water activities can be easily booked. The resort is best reached by taxi from Kochi ( about an hour drive - Rs. 1200 - 1400 should be the range.) You can also take the train & then a taxi, but this will be a much longer trip ( 3+ hours total time) and not save you a lot.

The booking & follow up service provided by Phillip (Mobile +91 808949945) was exemplary! He called us upon arrival & again near departure to confirm that the booking met our expectations and that we were happy. He is an experienced and knowledgeable professional and we will not hesitate to act on his recommendations during future visits.

We have stayed on the opposite side of the lake before ( at the Taj resort Kumarakom) and find the level of comfort and service at Lemon Tree to be just as good, at a lower price. The Lemon Tree represents a far better value and only lacks on the site water skiing.

Room Tip: Full Lakeview Rooms are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Schtimper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Lemon Tree Vembanad Lake is a good property. The resort is green, clean and very silent. One of the best places for relaxing right on the banks of the lake. Fodd is okay - not out of the world kind of (vegetarian). Cannot comment on non-veg food since I did not have it. Service quality is superb. The resort team is very kind and helpful.

Overall it is a very good place and worth a visit.

Room Tip: Room having full view of pool and lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ravi---747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coimbatore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

The resort looks the same as in the photos. Located away from the main roads but has a stunning view of the Vembanad lake. The infinity pool is excellent with lake view and water very clean. The staff were good in providing a swift check-in. The restaurant has decent variety of dishes, but priced slightly high and service is not that quick but ok. The Ayurveda massage is a good one to relax and enjoyable. One of the best resort to be in if you were to have a look around Kumarakom as well as alleppy. Auto rickshaws are arranged by the staff, they are economical ones for travel. Don't miss the shikara ride at alleppy - no wonder its the "Venice of the East".

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aravindr007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
74 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Slightly remotely located but excellent location. You need your own vehicle to stay here. Great view from all rooms - I believe around 25 or so. Good, alert, trained staff. Restaurant is having good food. Trying the local dishes of Kerala out of their menu was really satisfying. Good swimming pool and having a few activities around to keep the children happy and occupied. A trip on a Shikara from the hotel itself is recommended. Speed boat ride to reach the full day Houseboat trip arranged by them was good.
All in all - a very happy stay.

Room Tip: All rooms are back water facing. Either on 1st Floor - from where view is excellent or on ground flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bimaltrivedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finchampstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
169 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Firstly a good point. The view of the sun rising over the lake is absolutely stunning!
Sadly the hotel didn't live up to the photos. There was damp in the rooms and food was poor. The reception staff were un helpful and sometimes rude.

There was only one parasol which meant if you wanted to use it you had to get up at dawn!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLemonTreeHotels, General Manager at Lemon Tree Vembanad Lake Resort, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your visit to Lemon Tree Vembanad Lake Resort, Muhamma-West of Kumarakom, Kerala. May I apologize for not meeting some of your expectations during your stay.

We have noted your comments and are reviewing the relevant processes. Specifically:

•Dampness in the room: we are sorry you were inconvenienced because of dampness in your room. This is a common occurrence in humid places like Kerala. We have since been able to repair and refresh that room, along with other rooms that faced the same challenge.
•Food quality: we are sorry you did not enjoy the food. We continuously upgrade and refresh our menus and buffet offering at our restaurants to try and ensure that customers enjoy their experience.
•Front Desk staff: we apologize for the service you experienced at the Front Desk and have re-briefed our team to engage with all customers in a friendly and caring manner – which is what Lemon Tree is known for.
•Poolside umbrellas: we are sorry for the inconvenience you faced during your stay. This issue has now been resolved and there are many umbrellas and sun loungers available near the poolside.

Please give us an opportunity to make amends. Should you accede to my request, please email me at gm.vlr@lemontreehotels.com and I will be happy to handle the arrangements personally.

Best regards,

Abhilash A Bhadran
Hotel General Manager
Lemon Tree Vembanad Lake Resort, Muhamma-West of Kumarakom, Kerala

14 cities. 24 hotels. 2800 rooms. Refreshing India.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

This was our first trip to Alleppey and selecting Lemontree wasnt too difficult having seen its reviews and photos on tripadvisor! However, reaching Alleppey was quite a pain, given that most of the bus tickets were sold out and there are very few operators that provide services to Alleppey directly from Bangalore. After getting down at Alleppey bus stand, we quickly found an auto rickshaw to take us to the hotel. Fare was quite reasonable at around 180/- odd. The stay was full of pleasantries.... upon reaching the hotel, we were told that we have been upgraded to a lakefront room for free! Checkin was hassle free, so was the online booking. Staff were extremely courteous and helpful, always ready to take special care of our needs. Rooms and bathrooms were quite spacious with a mesmerising view of the lake all through the day to keep us hooked. No point talking abt the location and view...those are readily available on the web. All I can say is that the hotel looks exactly the same as the photos...so rest assured. The pool is free to use from early morning till 7-8 pm. Restaurant is average with food being just decent but not bad at all. Prices are obviously steep given the remoteness of the place from the town. One important alert: The hotel doesnt have a liquor license, hence it would be a good idea to carry your own stock. The staff would ofcourse will be more than happy to oblige you with services and ice etc. You can enjoy boat rides either from right outside the hotel onto the lake or choose to go around the lake to the other side to Kumarakom and take a boat ride on the lake for a hourly package enjoying local food with beer at lakeside joints. The hotel was also ready to arrange for the annual boatrace tickets but we didnt opt for it since the best ones were sold out. The boatride more than compensated the loss :) To sum up, dont think twice before deciding to stay here. You will enjoy every moment!! Bon Voyage!

Room Tip: Lake view rooms are definitely better, provided you are ready to pay slightly more or get upgraded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abhijeetkol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alappuzha
14.2 mi away
Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort
11.9 mi away
Citrus Retreats Alleppey
Citrus Retreats Alleppey
#8 of 68 in Alappuzha
664 reviews
5.2 mi away
Abad Turtle Beach
Abad Turtle Beach
#1 of 68 in Alappuzha
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Ramada Alleppey
Ramada Alleppey
#9 of 68 in Alappuzha
678 reviews
0.9 mi away
Deshadan Backwater Resort
Deshadan Backwater Resort
#10 of 68 in Alappuzha
332 reviews
3.8 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lemon Tree Vembanad Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lemon Tree Vembanad Lake Resort

Property: Lemon Tree Vembanad Lake Resort
Address: Janasakthi Road | Kayippuram, Muhamma, Alappuzha 688525, India
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Alappuzha
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Alappuzha
#4 Family Hotel in Alappuzha
#5 Romantic Hotel in Alappuzha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lemon Tree Vembanad Lake Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Lemon Tree Vembanad Lake Resort, West of Kumarakom. Unwind at our upscale, full service moderately priced resort. Rediscover yourself at this visually stunning resort situated on the Western shore of Kumarakom, at the very edge of Vembanad Lake with a magnificent view of the calm backwaters. Located in Kayippuram, Alleppey, the resort is easily accessible from both Cochin and Kumarakom. Rejuvenate your spirit with spectacular close-up views of the lake from every room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lemon Tree Vembanad Lake Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lemon Tree Vembanad Lake Resort, Muhamma Hotel Alappuzha
Lemon Tree Vembanad Lake Resort Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing