We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take your own food or starve”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Lemon Tree Vembanad Lake Resort
Ranked #7 of 70 Hotels in Alappuzha
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Excellent hotel with stunning view of the lake. Well maintained and spacious rooms. A decent infinity pool. The downside is the horrible restaurant/cafe they have. Mediocre food will surely spoil your holiday. There is no other option to eat (the hotel is almost a kilometer inside a side road) and the city as such offers no great options to eat. If you decide to eat at the restaurant stick to the basics (daal and rice). They are capable of messing up even a simple dish like Thai green curry (putting spinach instead of basil and lemon grass).

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vijender S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLemonTreeHotels, General Manager at Lemon Tree Vembanad Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your visit to Lemon Tree Vembanad Lake Resort, Muhamma-West of Kumarakom, Kerala. May I apologize for not meeting some of your expectations during your stay.

We have noted your comments and are reviewing the relevant processes. Specifically:

•Food at Citrus Café: we are sorry you did not like the Thai Curry preparation you had ordered at our Café. We had noted your feedback during your stay as well and have briefed our Chef accordingly. We have also asked our Food Production team to relook at the standard recipe we follow for making this. We assure you of a better experience on your next visit.

Please give us an opportunity to make amends. Should you accede to my request, please email me at gm.vlr@lemontreehotels.com and I will be happy to handle the arrangements personally.

Best regards,

Abhilash A Bhadran
Hotel General Manager
Lemon Tree Vembanad Lake Resort, Muhamma-West of Kumarakom, Kerala

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,094)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

646 - 652 of 1,094 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2013

The resort is located 14 to 15 kms away from Alleppey. It's a good resort but my first choice is "Punnamada resort" always. Since i have stayed at Punnamada Resort before, I like to try some other resort & choose this one.

Here at Lemon Tree i stayed in Junior Suite - the rooms are quite spacious & comfortable with lake view and a sit out. The weather was too good. The Main Attraction is the " infinity pool ". We spent most of the time in the pool.

The menu in the restaurant was very limited for dinner. But for breakfast its ok.

Room Tip: Suite rooms are better with a sit out and lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Bala26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

i stayed 2 nights in lemontree,the stay was memorable,location of the swimmingpool is nice.staffs are polite and ready to entertaint you. lake view room is excellent,when you wake up in morning and open the slide door of room its joyfull moment to start a day.fresh food in the restaurents.
calm and quit place to stay on vactions.Mr.Abhilash is very friendly to the guest,and provide all the informations and sight seeing details.definetely recommadable to my friends and relatives.

Room Tip: please choose lake view room which have direct access to pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank binoj b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

This was our second time anniversary that we opted for non other than Lemon Tree again.This says all! Lemon Tree is the best choice of spending a beautiful,pleasant ,Exotic place with warm service.
Will be the first choice in future too :).

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sangharsh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

The resort is located right on Vembanad lake.

We were upgraded to a junior suite room on ground floor which had a lovely view of the lake from the room itself and also had a sit out.The room was just about 6 feet away from the edge of the lake! we saw some lovely sights of rain falling on the lake while sipping tea from the sit out!

The resort also has an awesome infinity pool and the lake looks like an extension of the pool!
The breakfast was also good and had variety and the view of the lake from the restaurant was lovely.

Pathiramanal island can be seen from the resort and one can hire a motor boat from the boat jetty near by at a reasonable rate. The hotel rates for boats and taxis are higher.

The resort is in Muhamma which is about 13 kms from Alleppey town so commuting to & from Alleppey town is not so convenient if you don't have your own vehicle. one could hire a cab from Alleppey cabs (cell no. 9847688433) or get an auto from the main road which is a 5 to 10 minutes walk. The other option is taking the local bus to get a feel of life in the region!
Kerala has women bus conductors!

We also enjoyed the lovely Kerala cuisine though they had a limited regional selection as it was a multi-cuisine restaurant. The joy of travelling doubles up if one can savor the flavors of the region which could be very different from the food of one's region. And that's the fun.

However the resort needs to better its house keeping & maintenance services as the white curtain was muddy and the glass window & door was not clear due to the rain, the sink had hairline crack which needs to be fixed, some fixtures in the bathroom are rusty, some tables and chairs need to be polished & the sit out needs to be cleaned regularly& furniture outside needs to be maintained better. I suppose the staff will look into these areas.

Hotel offers free wifi if booking through the hotel site.
Sometimes hotel sites offer better rates than travel portals and sometimes its the other way round. So its good to check.

On the whole it was a nice experience!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank desai66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLemonTreeHotels, General Manager at Lemon Tree Vembanad Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your visit to Lemon Tree Vembanad Lake Resort, Muhamma-West of Kumarakom, Kerala. May I apologize for not meeting some of your expectations during your stay.

We have noted your comments and are reviewing the relevant processes. Specifically:

•Cab hire charges: we have set our car hire prices after doing a benchmarking exercise with similar hotels and have ensured we keep the prices competitive, in line with our business philosophy of offering unbeatable value-for-money. As an industry norm, the cost of a hired car is more than that of a radio cab or a local taxi or auto rickshaw. This is on account of the quality of the cars, training of drivers and a nominal administrative cost.
•Hotel upkeep: We are sorry our rooms did not meet your expectations. We constantly monitor the wear and tear of our assets and are very prompt in addressing any maintenance issues. We have taken your observations very seriously and are relooking at our standards to understand your feedback better.
•Cleanliness: our attempt at Lemon Tree is to ensure the hotel is fresh, crisp and clean and we have laid down our processes accordingly. During your stay, repeated rainfall lead to water marks forming on the outer side of your room window causing a bit of a challenge for our Housekeeping staff. However, this should have been promptly addressed by our staff. We are sorry the cleanliness did not meet your expectations. We have re-briefed our team to follow all pre-defined procedures at all times and assure you of a better experience when you visit us next.

Please give us an opportunity to make amends. Should you accede to my request, please email me at gm.vlr@lemontreehotels.com and I will be happy to handle the arrangements personally.

Best regards,

Abhilash A Bhadran
Hotel General Manager
Lemon Tree Vembanad Lake Resort, Muhamma-West of Kumarakom, Kerala

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Stayed here only one night, but could easily spend more. Friendly staff and very nice breakfast, with a mix of Indian and western food. We had a nice room with great view over the lake and the pool. We travelled during low season, and we practically had the place to ourselves. We left the hotel to spend a night in a house boat – not worth it! Would much rather have stayed at the hotel and just take a day trip on the canals. Only thing we missed was off course a glass of wine…

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Indiasdatter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

we were 2 couples[from blr & chennai] celebrating our anniversary stayed there from 20 - 22 jun...the location was just awesome...we planned for a budget trip and went from Bangalore via train..the only train from blr reaches @ 5 30 and hotel checkin is at 2 pm!!!...and the train from Chennai reaches alleppy at 10 am!!...so we have to pay additional charges for early checkin....we were given a upgrade to suite [for both rooms] and it was just lovely...friendly staff...good location..good ambience....we had a package that included brkfast + lunch or dinner....food was very average for the price tag..and they said kerala thali and provided us with basmati rice...below average meals

Positives
+ beautiful location
+ swimming pool & other other amenities
+ suite rooms with jacuzzi
+ friendly staff

Negatives
- Checkin time at 2 pm and check out at 12 pm
- no confirmation on rooms for early checkin will be given by the hotel..its all on availability basis
- you are charged close to 25% tax [luxury tax...service tax...service charge...vat..etc etc almost on every thing...[way too costly]
- accessability from station...[if you are travelling on budget and by train get down at mararikulam or cherthala and take an auto for <250 INR than the hotel taxi for 1800 + ~ 25% tax.
- buffet menu is neither north indian...nor authentic kerela dishes...or continental [americal brkfast as they call it]...very improper selection of buffet menu
- house keeping

Room Tip: Suite is the best[if you can get a good discount]...superior room and superior lake view rooms are a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank srikanth89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLemonTreeHotels, General Manager at Lemon Tree Vembanad Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your visit to Lemon Tree Vembanad Lake Resort, Muhamma-West of Kumarakom, Kerala. May I apologize for not meeting some of your expectations during your stay.

We have noted your comments and are reviewing the relevant processes. Specifically:

•Early check-in: we wish you would have informed us well in advance about your plans so we could have appropriately arranged rooms for you. We are sorry we could not accept your request for an early check-in because of this. When you check in early, we hold the room from the previous night and do not give it out to another guest. Therefore, for early check in and late checkout, we charge a nominal rate in line with our philosophy of affordable prices. Hope you see it in this light.
•Rice in our Kerala special: we are sorry you did not enjoy the Kerala thali during your stay. We have noted your observation about replacing the high quality basmati rice we offer to Kerala rice. Our previous study shows guest preferring the former over the later, however, we have decided to review this once again. We continuously upgrade and refresh our menus and buffet offering at our restaurants to ensure customers enjoy their experience. We hope you have a better experience when you visit us next.
•Cost of car hire: we have set our car hire prices after doing a benchmarking exercise with similar hotels and have ensured we keep the prices competitive, in line with our business philosophy of offering unbeatable value-for-money. As an industry norm, the cost of a hired car is more than that of a radio cab or a local taxi or auto rickshaw. This is on account of the quality of the cars, training of drivers and a nominal administrative cost.
•Taxes: taxes are levied by the Government and all hotels must apply them for every guest, as per the law. The tax amount is determined by the Government and remitted directly to them. Hotels do not have a say in this regard.

Please give us an opportunity to make amends. Should you accede to my request, please email me at gm.vlr@lemontreehotels.com and I will be happy to handle the arrangements personally.

Best regards,

Abhilash A Bhadran
Hotel General Manager
Lemon Tree Vembanad Lake Resort, Muhamma-West of Kumarakom, Kerala

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
8.1 mi away
Ramada Alleppey
Ramada Alleppey
#9 of 70 in Alappuzha
757 reviews
0.9 mi away
Deshadan Backwater Resort
Deshadan Backwater Resort
#8 of 70 in Alappuzha
376 reviews
5.1 mi away
Lake Canopy
Lake Canopy
#1 of 70 in Alappuzha
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort
11.9 mi away
Citrus Retreats Alleppey
Citrus Retreats Alleppey
#10 of 70 in Alappuzha
701 reviews
9 mi away
Lake Palace Resort
Lake Palace Resort
#6 of 70 in Alappuzha
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lemon Tree Vembanad Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lemon Tree Vembanad Lake Resort

Address: Janasakthi Road | Kayippuram, Muhamma, Alappuzha 688525, India
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Alappuzha
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Alappuzha
#4 Family Hotel in Alappuzha
#5 Romantic Hotel in Alappuzha
Price Range: $99 - $333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lemon Tree Vembanad Lake Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Lemon Tree Vembanad Lake Resort, West of Kumarakom. Unwind at our upscale, full service moderately priced resort. Rediscover yourself at this visually stunning resort situated on the Western shore of Kumarakom, at the very edge of Vembanad Lake with a magnificent view of the calm backwaters. Located in Kayippuram, Alleppey, the resort is easily accessible from both Cochin and Kumarakom. Rejuvenate your spirit with spectacular close-up views of the lake from every room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Lemon Tree Vembanad Lake Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lemon Tree Vembanad Lake Resort, Muhamma Hotel Alappuzha
Lemon Tree Vembanad Lake Resort Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing