We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, comfortable and nice location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Lemon Tree Vembanad Lake Resort
Ranked #6 of 71 Hotels in Alappuzha
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Stayed here only one night, but could easily spend more. Friendly staff and very nice breakfast, with a mix of Indian and western food. We had a nice room with great view over the lake and the pool. We travelled during low season, and we practically had the place to ourselves. We left the hotel to spend a night in a house boat – not worth it! Would much rather have stayed at the hotel and just take a day trip on the canals. Only thing we missed was off course a glass of wine…

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Indiasdatter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,108)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

664 - 670 of 1,108 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2013

we were 2 couples[from blr & chennai] celebrating our anniversary stayed there from 20 - 22 jun...the location was just awesome...we planned for a budget trip and went from Bangalore via train..the only train from blr reaches @ 5 30 and hotel checkin is at 2 pm!!!...and the train from Chennai reaches alleppy at 10 am!!...so we have to pay additional charges for early checkin....we were given a upgrade to suite [for both rooms] and it was just lovely...friendly staff...good location..good ambience....we had a package that included brkfast + lunch or dinner....food was very average for the price tag..and they said kerala thali and provided us with basmati rice...below average meals

Positives
+ beautiful location
+ swimming pool & other other amenities
+ suite rooms with jacuzzi
+ friendly staff

Negatives
- Checkin time at 2 pm and check out at 12 pm
- no confirmation on rooms for early checkin will be given by the hotel..its all on availability basis
- you are charged close to 25% tax [luxury tax...service tax...service charge...vat..etc etc almost on every thing...[way too costly]
- accessability from station...[if you are travelling on budget and by train get down at mararikulam or cherthala and take an auto for <250 INR than the hotel taxi for 1800 + ~ 25% tax.
- buffet menu is neither north indian...nor authentic kerela dishes...or continental [americal brkfast as they call it]...very improper selection of buffet menu
- house keeping

Room Tip: Suite is the best[if you can get a good discount]...superior room and superior lake view rooms are a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank srikanth89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLemonTreeHotels, General Manager at Lemon Tree Vembanad Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your visit to Lemon Tree Vembanad Lake Resort, Muhamma-West of Kumarakom, Kerala. May I apologize for not meeting some of your expectations during your stay.

We have noted your comments and are reviewing the relevant processes. Specifically:

•Early check-in: we wish you would have informed us well in advance about your plans so we could have appropriately arranged rooms for you. We are sorry we could not accept your request for an early check-in because of this. When you check in early, we hold the room from the previous night and do not give it out to another guest. Therefore, for early check in and late checkout, we charge a nominal rate in line with our philosophy of affordable prices. Hope you see it in this light.
•Rice in our Kerala special: we are sorry you did not enjoy the Kerala thali during your stay. We have noted your observation about replacing the high quality basmati rice we offer to Kerala rice. Our previous study shows guest preferring the former over the later, however, we have decided to review this once again. We continuously upgrade and refresh our menus and buffet offering at our restaurants to ensure customers enjoy their experience. We hope you have a better experience when you visit us next.
•Cost of car hire: we have set our car hire prices after doing a benchmarking exercise with similar hotels and have ensured we keep the prices competitive, in line with our business philosophy of offering unbeatable value-for-money. As an industry norm, the cost of a hired car is more than that of a radio cab or a local taxi or auto rickshaw. This is on account of the quality of the cars, training of drivers and a nominal administrative cost.
•Taxes: taxes are levied by the Government and all hotels must apply them for every guest, as per the law. The tax amount is determined by the Government and remitted directly to them. Hotels do not have a say in this regard.

Please give us an opportunity to make amends. Should you accede to my request, please email me at gm.vlr@lemontreehotels.com and I will be happy to handle the arrangements personally.

Best regards,

Abhilash A Bhadran
Hotel General Manager
Lemon Tree Vembanad Lake Resort, Muhamma-West of Kumarakom, Kerala

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Really enjoyed my stay at the hotel, it was a very special location and even though the weather wasn't amazing, the hotel facilities made the stay equally pleasant. The room could have been a little cleaner and the hot water a little warmer, but apart from that it was fabulous. Thank you very much!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hannah U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

It was a memorable experience to be here!! Good property, people, services..everything here looks perfect for a family holiday..Highly recommended!!
The online special rate was really good and its value for money

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeepakRaipur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

This is perhaps one of the best located properties in the alleppey/kumarakom belts. The resort is built literally on the lake itself..no other resort will offer rooms with such a close proximity to vembanad lake. The rooms are quite spacious and well done. The bathrooms could definitely do with a round of renovation. showers/water pressure is not upto the mark as would be expected of such a fine resort but nevertheless the location does make up for that too!. Service is good. Food definitely is lacking with respect to the local cuisine and it would be better to try the restaurants nearby. All in all, its a very well located property and would recommend this ahead of the neighboring zuri and the Vivanta too!

Room Tip: Avoid rooms 114,115 and 116 if you are a light sleeper as the restuarnts and recreation room are loc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GAGTVM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLemonTreeHotels, General Manager at Lemon Tree Vembanad Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your visit to Lemon Tree Vembanad Lake Resort, Muhamma-West of Kumarakom, Kerala. May I apologize for not meeting some of your expectations during your stay.

We have noted your comments and are reviewing the relevant processes. Specifically:

•Bathroom experience: you did not find the bathroom aesthetics to your satisfaction. We constantly monitor the wear and tear of our assets and are very prompt in addressing any maintenance issues. We are sorry we did not meet your expectations. We are relooking at our standards to understand your feedback better.
•Shower quality: we are sorry you did not enjoy your shower experience on this visit. We use premium fittings in our hotels and monitor the water pressure to ensure an excellent flow. We have promptly rectified the problem.
•Variety in food: we are sorry you did not enjoy the buffet during your stay. We continuously upgrade and refresh our menus and buffet offering at our restaurants to ensure customers enjoy their experience.


Please give us an opportunity to make amends. Should you accede to my request, please email me at gm.vlr@lemontreehotels.com and I will be happy to handle the arrangements personally.

Best regards,

Abhilash A Bhadran
Hotel General Manager
Lemon Tree Vembanad Lake Resort, Muhamma-West of Kumarakom, Kerala

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

This is one of the best resort I enjoy staying with my family. Starting form the reception , warmth of the stuff, quality of food and the facilities are all very good. Both the lake view rooms were excellent. I will always recommend traveller to visit and stay in this resort once.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amitava C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Excellent customer service, rooms were good, location is near vembanad lake, boating at this lake is excellent for couples as well as family. Food is good, but can improve more in terms to quantity....

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sachin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alappuzha
5.1 mi away
Lake Canopy
Lake Canopy
#1 of 71 in Alappuzha
135 reviews
8.1 mi away
Ramada Alleppey
Ramada Alleppey
#9 of 71 in Alappuzha
788 reviews
0.9 mi away
Deshadan Backwater Resort
Deshadan Backwater Resort
#8 of 71 in Alappuzha
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort
3.9 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom
9 mi away
Lake Palace Resort
Lake Palace Resort
#5 of 71 in Alappuzha
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lemon Tree Vembanad Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lemon Tree Vembanad Lake Resort

Address: Janasakthi Road | Kayippuram, Muhamma, Alappuzha 688525, India
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Alappuzha
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Alappuzha
#4 Family Hotel in Alappuzha
#5 Romantic Hotel in Alappuzha
Price Range: $117 - $243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lemon Tree Vembanad Lake Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Lemon Tree Vembanad Lake Resort, West of Kumarakom. Unwind at our upscale, full service moderately priced resort. Rediscover yourself at this visually stunning resort situated on the Western shore of Kumarakom, at the very edge of Vembanad Lake with a magnificent view of the calm backwaters. Located in Kayippuram, Alleppey, the resort is easily accessible from both Cochin and Kumarakom. Rejuvenate your spirit with spectacular close-up views of the lake from every room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lemon Tree Vembanad Lake Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lemon Tree Vembanad Lake Resort, Muhamma Hotel Alappuzha
Lemon Tree Vembanad Lake Resort Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing