We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place let down by the restaurant and the management”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Lemon Tree Vembanad Lake Resort
Ranked #6 of 71 Hotels in Alappuzha
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 24, 2012

This should be a 5 star review as no doubt this hotel is in a beautiful location with some superb facilities. It's great for families with a lovely pool and other activities such as badminton and line fishing. However, the restaurant is quite limited in its scope and although the food is mostly good, it is not up to the standard you would expect. Also when we had a problem over car bookings I found the manager quite unhelpful and even a little lazy.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simoncarr67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,108)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

783 - 789 of 1,108 reviews

Reviewed November 22, 2012

We came to Kerala for relaxation and that's what this hotel delivered--in spades. Entering through the gate, garden, lobby, and then the infinity pool that segues into the lake we were swept into another dimension. We found tranquility everywhere including watching boats ply the lake.

We found a very warm and helpful staff, the best staff of all the four- and five-star hotels of our previous two weeks in India. What was hard to believe was that tipping was absolutely forbidden. This shot down my pet theory that tips are necessary for good service!

There were free bikes to take on paths to little canals and fishing villages, all unspoiled by tourism. BTW it's possible to take a bike a couple of kilometers to a beer shop in a local bazaar. Just drink your beer unostentatiously and there's no problem.

We really enjoyed the food, with the breakfast spread being especially impressive. I got a reviving ayurvedic massage at a very reasonable price.

Room Tip: Late October seemed to be low season, so we had our choice of rooms.
See more room tips
Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
2  Thank Howard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

This was the first & the best stay during my Honeymoon in Jan 2012. I have got the best room in the Hotel and really enjoyed our short stay of one day there. The food specially the dinner was excellent (dinner was included in my package). The staff was very nice & extremely helpful special thanks to Mr. Retheesh Kumar and also, Mr Rohan Shrimali from Lemon Tree, Indore because of whom I stayed there and got the best facilities due to our corporate tie up. The resort have nice Video & books library which was completely free of charge & internet facility,again free, well maintained premises with some outdoor sports equipment. After this, I stayed at Club Mahindra properties at Munnar & Thekkaddy but stay at Lemon Tree remained most luxurious & after the trip we realized that we should have stayed there for atleast 2 nights instead of wasting one night on houseboat (not of lemon tree) which had nothing to offer.

Room Tip: left corner top lake view room is the best as far as scenic is considered and also few extra ameniti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Suyogya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We planned on staying at this property after looking at reviews in TripAdvisor. And I should say we were not disappointed at all. The accommodation, service, hospitality and location were all great. The staff was quite good and booking in advance helped as the management upgraded us to a superior room beside the pool. They also took care of arranging the boat house which was nice.

The food is good but the hotel doesn't have a liquor licence which was a little disappointing.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SVodapally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Stayed at this hotel in Nov 2012.
Great service at reception and we were lucky enough to be upgraded to a junior suite. Rooms are clean, spacious with TV and DVD player. Also smell pleasantly of lemon!
As you enter the hotel, you can't fail to be impressed by the stunning infinity pool looking over the lake - a great place to relax.
Restaurant served good quality, reasonably priced food. We did try and use the Spa but it was fully booked during our stay. Bikes are available for free, so we took the opportunity to explore some local villages.
If you are taking a rice boat trip you can be collected direct from the hotel jetty, which is a spectacular way to depart!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CHontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

On the positive side: the hotel is in a wonderful area, has beautiful views of the lake and the staff is very helpful. I gave it three stars mostly because it just wasn't anything special - seemed like a generic motel . Also, nothing worked in our room, although the staff did come and fix all the problems right away. The pool has a lovely setting, but when I took a swim the water was very salty and acrid. The dining room was utilitarian and the staff wasn't able to speak English. The breakfast buffet however, was extremely lavish. It seems as though there are many more atmospheric choices in the area.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wala1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

The best thing about this hotel is the staff who are extremely helpful and welcoming. Otherwise, this hotel appears to cater well for its mostly Indian clientele. For those with more western tastes there are a number of downsides:
- the hotel does not have a liqueur license. As such alcohol can only be served by room service in your room and can not be drunk in the restaurant or around the pool area
- the rooms do not have balconies (unless you go for the most expensive rooms which have doors out onto the pool area). Therefore, having had your beer delivered to your room the only option is to drink it inside your room. There is a general lack of outside space to enjoy in the evenings - the restaurant is also enclosed and air conditioned (there is no scope for al-fresco dining)
The following will also be of interest for visitors of all tastes:
- the hotel restaurant is not very good - the food itself is not up to the standard we enjoyed elsewhere in Kerala and was double the price (we shared a starter and had a main course each and it came to c. 2,000 rupees) and my partner and I both had upset stomachs after eating there. Therefore the best option is to eat outside of the hotel. However, the hotel is a 30 minute tuk-tuk ride from Alleppey which is the nearest place you will find tourist restaurants and restaurants with a license (we were told by the hotel there are no restaurants with a license in Muhamma)
- the hotel generally gives the impression of being in need of a refurb. The pool whilst lovely has loose and missing tiles throughout and the whole place just looks a bit drab
- there is nothing really to do in Muhamma

This hotel was the most expensive of the two hotels we stayed at in Kerala by some way (the other being the Taj in Varkala) and we were disappointed to find it not up to the same standards, rather some way below.

If you do decide to stay here I suggest you shop around for the best rate (we saved a lot by booking through cleartrip).

We also spent one night on the hotel houseboat which is one of the most luxurious houseboats available. Disappointingly, the food served for lunch was microwaved food from the hotel restaurant (see previous point on hotel food!). The jacuzzi may also only be used in the evening rather than in the day time to cool off whilst cruising. Finally, if you choose the one night package the houseboat moors at the hotel in the evening so you don't get to see a huge amount of the canals, spending he majority of the cruise on the lake instead.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tegwen86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alappuzha
5.1 mi away
Lake Canopy
Lake Canopy
#1 of 71 in Alappuzha
135 reviews
8.1 mi away
Ramada Alleppey
Ramada Alleppey
#9 of 71 in Alappuzha
788 reviews
0.9 mi away
Deshadan Backwater Resort
Deshadan Backwater Resort
#8 of 71 in Alappuzha
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom
14.2 mi away
Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort
9 mi away
Lake Palace Resort
Lake Palace Resort
#5 of 71 in Alappuzha
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lemon Tree Vembanad Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lemon Tree Vembanad Lake Resort

Address: Janasakthi Road | Kayippuram, Muhamma, Alappuzha 688525, India
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Alappuzha
#3 Luxury Hotel in Alappuzha
#4 Family Hotel in Alappuzha
#5 Romantic Hotel in Alappuzha
Price Range: $117 - $243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lemon Tree Vembanad Lake Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Lemon Tree Vembanad Lake Resort, West of Kumarakom. Unwind at our upscale, full service moderately priced resort. Rediscover yourself at this visually stunning resort situated on the Western shore of Kumarakom, at the very edge of Vembanad Lake with a magnificent view of the calm backwaters. Located in Kayippuram, Alleppey, the resort is easily accessible from both Cochin and Kumarakom. Rejuvenate your spirit with spectacular close-up views of the lake from every room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, HostelWorld, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lemon Tree Vembanad Lake Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lemon Tree Vembanad Lake Resort, Muhamma Hotel Alappuzha
Lemon Tree Vembanad Lake Resort Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing