We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The owner Shiba is great...actual guesthouse is ok.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alappuzha
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nanni beach Residence
Ranked #23 of 154 Specialty Lodging in Alappuzha
1 review
“The owner Shiba is great...actual guesthouse is ok.”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

I stayed at this guesthouse based on trip advisors reviews...and the owner Shiba really went above and beyond and bent over backwards to help me with what ever I needed. I was initially going to book my overnight back waters trip through him...a little pricer than other companies but he took me to see the boats and they looked worth the extra money....unfortunately my friend couldn't pay the extra cost and we went with another company (I thought Shiba would be mad but he was totally understanding). The average part of this place is the actual rooms....they were big, cheap and the sheets are clean but the rest of the room had a dirty around the edges feel (cobwebs in every corner) and I think it just needed a really good over all cleaning. This place shines bc of its owner....not the actual rooms. Oh and there is free wifi which is nice....however it was constantly disconnecting so bc it was free I can't complain but it did get annoying.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennyfromcalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nannitours2012, Owner at Nanni beach Residence, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Hi Jenny ,

Thank you for your valuable inputs ....i am glad you had a great time here , if you had told me about the dirts on the wall i could have asked the cleaning lady to do it and it takes only 15minutes to do it but anyway its too late but i make sure now its cleaned properly .

hope you had a nice time on the boat.

Enjoy your rest of the holidays ..

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    11
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
4
13
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Shibu was at the bus station with flyers for his guest house. Usually we wouldn't really listen to the touts but he was so lovely and his place sounded so nice we went along. So so glad we did, the place is beautiful and we felt at home instantly. They're so friendly and the location is great, close to the beach, a lovely cheap place to eat and not far from the town either.

The rooms are big, clean, cheap and the shower is good. The roof terrace is lovely and we spent time up there in between our backwaters tour (organised by Shibu) in the day listening to our own music and at night having some drinks with other travellers. There is also free internet!

In all the places i've stayed at in India this was by far the friendliest and we were sad to leave. I've never felt compeled to write a review on anything before either. I'd recommend it anyone :)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liblobfantastico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed February 18, 2013

I would definitely recommend anyone to stay in Nanni's, the rooms are clean and comfortable and excellent value for money. Nanni's is a 5 min walk from the beach and is near to the ferry port - ideal to start any backwater tours. Shibu Nanni who runs the place is extremely friendly and helpful and can assist booking you on a tour of the backwaters by houseboat or canoe. We took the canoe trip which was really relaxing (and much more eco friendly). The roof terrace at the top of the hotel is a lovely spot to chill out in the evening with other travellers / holiday makers making this place ideal if you are on your own and want to meet people, or with friends and want to make more :) Would definitely stay again and again :)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SailorNaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Very friendly owner and lovely atmosphere. You can just hang around, relax with a book on the roof top, have chai with other guests, play the guitar at night after a bbq with typical Keralan side dishes. Shibu (the owner) can book al kinds of trips for you, naturally on the backwater but also around Kerala, for fair prices. Only good things to say about Nanni's!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pernillegp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Me and my sister stayed at Nanni residence for a few days in November. Shibu was very helpful; and helped to organise a houseboat tour for us, which was great. The rooms were clean and the facilities were good. This was a great location in Alleppey and I would definately stay again! Thanks

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rainbowcake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nannitours2012, Owner at Nanni beach Residence, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
hi sisters ,
i am so glad that you left a response for me . good to know that you enjoyed the time we spent together in Alleppey.

thank you

with regards

Nanni Residence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herefordshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Out of the five months travelling around India, Nanni Residence came top of the guest house list for many reasons. Simple, basic, clean rooms, and just the most wonderful staff. Taking into account Shibu's sense of humour we did not believe him when he told us a strike in Kerala had been organised for the next day - turn's out, that was one of the best days of our travels! They had organised food with Shibu's sister and family, then frisbee on a secluded beach, and just overall such a fantastic day with great care from our hosts. Reccommended to anyone!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toni2406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nannitours2012, Owner at Nanni beach Residence, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
hi there,

thank you for your feedback , i am glad to hear that you and your friend had a wonderful time with us here in Alleppey .looking forward to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

i stayed there a couple of days. its a great place and its very clean! trust me!!
room is big and comes with big fan and clean toilet.
onwer shibu is very attentive and helpful also funny!
shibu can arrange houseboat tours with a reasonable price.
i would definally go again...for sure!

Room Tip: clean rooms and clean toilet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elysium_ely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nannitours2012, Owner at Nanni beach Residence, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
hi Ely ,

My first customers from Malaysia . Please dont teach me anymore games if you dont wanna loose hehehe ....hope everyone is good there

thank you

with regards

Nanni Residence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alappuzha
1.0 mi away
Mandala Beach House & Cottages
0.0 mi away
Nanni Backpackers Hostel
Nanni Backpackers Hostel
#73 of 154 in Alappuzha
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
23.5 mi away
Johnson's The Nest Homestay
Johnson's The Nest Homestay
#95 of 430 in Kochi (Cochin)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Artpackers. Life
Artpackers. Life
#5 of 154 in Alappuzha
5.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Pamba Heritage Villa
The Pamba Heritage Villa
#2 of 154 in Alappuzha
5.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.9 mi away
Venice Castle
Venice Castle
#2 of 193 in Alappuzha
5.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nanni beach Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nanni beach Residence

Property: Nanni beach Residence
Address: West of Dutch Square | Sea View Ward, Alappuzha 688012, India
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 154 Specialty Lodging in Alappuzha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our services-houseboats,village canoeing tours,daily day trips,daily bbq and music,scooters,bikes and bicycles for rent,travel desk,taxi,wifi and many more A small and friendly guesthouse, five minutes from the sea,with spacious, clean and tidy rooms, private bath and w.C.A chillout roof top place for you, to sit and watch the stars,enjoy a tasty bbq and strum on a guitar.Our relaxed and friendly attitude, is something that we feel,a trip to 'Gods own Country',is really what you need.So look no further-contact us,and when you come you'll see, that our small and friendly guesthouse gives, satisfaction -Guaranteed!! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Nanni Beach Residence Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing