We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Your search for Alleppey Stay ends here #Riversideretreat on Pamba” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riverside Retreat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alappuzha
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riverside Retreat
Save
You added Riverside Retreat to your Saves list
Ranked #65 of 181 Alappuzha B&B and Inns
Amdocs ,Pune
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Your search for Alleppey Stay ends here #Riversideretreat on Pamba”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

The Riverside Retreat justifies its name. Located on the banks of the Pamba River and other exotic backwaters, it really provides a retreat to the olden golden days. It not located in the proper heart of the city, you may have to take two or three adjoining winding roads to reach the hotel, but it’s worth the trouble.

On our Kerala tour to Munnar,thekkady,kovalam,alleppey , we had never imagined to land on a place like this.It ws a good tour with things being professionally managed and good staffs at all hotels & riverside retereat being no exception.Full marks to Antilog Vacations ( our tour operator) as well for arranging a good tour without overcharging

The time you spend inside the resort is total bliss. I had a gala time amidst the hammocks with the book I was reading. The view of the nearby boats sailing away on the nearby canals and the presence of many birds also ameliorate the surroundings appreciably. The hosts also are really friendly and you straight away have a feeling of being at home.

The food is also quite original and is very well cooked and if you really want to experience authentic Kerala cuisine you need to taste the food here. The evenings were also nice and the hosts took us on some walks down the side lanes and beaches bordering the backwaters. The view mesmerised us with its beauty and we were really sad when it was time to leave.
We bid adieu to the hosts with heavy hearts and can’t wait to return to this amazing place.

Hence I would advocate using the Riverside Retreat as a definite stop if you are in Alleppey and you are sure to have a grand time

Room Tip: facing river huts r good
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abhishek D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    8
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
6
15
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Coimbatore, Tamil Nadu, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

If somebody has time in their hand, then this place is a MUST...Reaching the place itself is an adventure as it is in a complete remote village, though the rickshaw can comfortably take u...Thats the best part of this place...complete isolation...Just u and the nature...Complete bliss n peace
Great food...U will never blame me for this review...Enjoy ur trip

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Rajakumar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

The atmosphere at the riverside retreat is all about calm and relaxation. The bungalows are clean and big. You get a little terrasse in front of your door and quite a unique access to the river.
Amazing view on the kanus and fishermen passing by slowly on carried by the stream.
Jiji and his wife are very nice and helpfull. The food is amazing...
We recommend this place *****
You should definitely try the kanu trip to a near town in the afternoon. Greeat paddling experience and amazing sunset on the river. Worthwile going it.
Don't miss the nearby temple (45min walk), a very nice place to go and relax or meditate next to the living elephant...
Jiji helped us to book a houseboat with his friend Thomas, but that was not so great... The boat was really in bad shape and quite dirty and expensive as when we arrived in Allepey we found out that we could do the trip for 4000rps instead of the 6000rps charged by Thomas. So if you want to go on a boat house, make sure you ask for a 'newer boat' than the Lake Queen we had!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Jiji's homestay was a perfect start to our holiday. As someone who has visited India many times I genuinely think this is one of the best homestays I have had the pleasure of visiting. The accommodation, while basic, is all you really need - what's important is the setting! Our cottage overlooked the backwaters and was spectacular. The food was great and Jiji was incredibly helpful in providing us with a local map which meant we were able to explore the local sites and villages at our leisure. Everyone was very friendly in the local area and I'd highly recommend this homestay. We stayed for two nights - I'd recommend three or maybe four.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Olives13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krabi, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

I was the only guest there at the time i stayed. The owner-Jiji and his family welcomed me and made me feel at home. What a great location right on the river bank. The best sunrise at the view just in front of the bungalows. Jisha (Jiji's wife) is an excellent cook. She managed to serve a variety of local home cook meals to your request. Just loved it and highly recommended.
One thing, if you are going by train, do not get off at Alleppey, get off the next stop called "Ambalapuzha". You can save yourself a lot on Auto-rickshaw. Price from Alleppey Rs. 250 from Ambalapuzha Rs. 80. i learned the expensive way ;"(

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GabbiOnTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

Jiji and his family were wonderful hosts and went out of their way to make my wife and I feel welcome from the moment we arrived. Their garden was a paradise, the place was quiet and restful, the home-cooked food was exceptional, the room was simple but clean and had lots of character. This was one of our favorites in our trip through southern India, was a great value, and we would definitely go back.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mesinjer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

Wow, were we glad we chose to stay at the Riverside Retreat than going on the overnight houseboats. If you stay at this place on land, you see less but with way more quality because you get to walk around the fields and towns. The Riverside Retreat is a very relaxing place. It is good for people who like to take it slowly and let a place sink into you over a couple days.

The hotel itself is well-situated along one of the main canals. You can watch everything go by, including tens of loud riverboats carrying your tourist compatriots. The hotel has a canoe you can borrow but it was mysteriously missing when we went to use it.

They have three bungalows and three rooms. We started off in one of the more expensive bungalows. It was charming and more private, but the staff decided to paint the adjoining bungalow with toxic oil-based paint minutes after our arrival. I understand that maintenance is good and needs to be done at some point, but it is inconceivable that a mid-range hotel operator (bungalows are mid-range price, hotel rooms are more like budget) would consider putting guests in such a situation. The owner did not appear to recognize the issue, though he and his wife were open to switching us to a hotel room. Good thing there was one available, otherwise we were pretty far from other hotels and stuck breathing in toxic fumes. Regardless of our toxic experience, it appears as though the bungalows are overpriced.

The hotel room was adequate. Bring some duct tape to fix holes in the screens otherwise you'll be slapping mosquitoes all night and day. Once we fixed the screens, we were fine. No hot water. Bring your own bed sheet and toilet paper. Thin mattress. Standard budget hotel stuff. Considering the location, this is a good value hotel.

Dinner and breakfast served family style. It was quite good and bountiful. Loads of fun if you click with the others at the hotel, uncomfortable otherwise.

Room Tip: Bungalows are overpriced but are much more charming. Hotel rooms are a good budget value if you woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lilacs75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
29.6 mi away
Emarald Pristine Island Floating Resort
9.2 mi away
Ashtamudi Homestay
Ashtamudi Homestay
#16 of 63 in Alappuzha
4.5 of 5 stars 376 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Park on Vembanad Lake
The Park on Vembanad Lake
#30 of 63 in Alappuzha
4.0 of 5 stars 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Riverside Inn Muttar
Riverside Inn Muttar
#55 of 181 in Alappuzha
4.5 of 5 stars 12 reviews
8.9 mi away
Shade Tourist Home
Shade Tourist Home
#58 of 181 in Alappuzha
4.5 of 5 stars 17 reviews
1.9 mi away
Adenz Backwater Home Stay
Adenz Backwater Home Stay
#32 of 127 in Alappuzha
5.0 of 5 stars 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Retreat

Property: Riverside Retreat
Address: Karumady, Alappuzha 688561, India
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 181 B&Bs / Inns in Alappuzha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Riverside Retreat Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing