We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stunning location, Warm host !”
other travelers have booked this property
Front view of orchid lakeview homestay.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front view of orchid lakeview homestay.
The garden&sitting area is with greenary &lot of mango trees.Thi is a relaxing area. our dining &drawing area with fully lake view.this area is about 700 sq.ft.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
9 reviews
Front view of orchid lakeview homestay.
The garden&sitting area is with greenary &lot of mango trees.Thi is a relaxing area.
our dining &drawing area with fully lake view.this area is about 700 sq.ft.
We have a good with path way for walking.We have a seating for relax & good view to the 4Km width.
We have around 250 Sq ft Bed room with a view to the lake.
We have separate balcony for each 3 a/c rooms in the up stair.We have a view to lake.
Lake view bed room.
Resting place (chavady)&dining area very near to vembanad lake.
A view of the sun rise from the home stay
Sun rise.
Lake view from orchid home stay.
Night view of the garden & lake.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 18
Alappuzha, Alappuzha District, Kerala

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
SantoshN3...
2 reviews
“Beware”
Reviewed April 16, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

I have made a booking for 04 may to 06 may. The price was showing... rather it is still showing 2926 Inr per night for 10 guests and when i booked, 6263 Inr was deducted from my ac.... subject to approval from owner. Next day i got a mail that the owner has requoted the price to 26057 Inr which is more than 4 times the price quoted. I have sent mesg to the owner asking for reason but she is not courteous enough to reply.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RamG333
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Stunning location, Warm host !”
Reviewed November 6, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

We were a group of 20 (adults and children inclusive) , we stayed at the property for 2 nights in the beginning.

What we liked

a. Stunning location: The property is not only by the lakeside, but is the only property in the area to offer a 270 degree lake view from the corner (three sides lake and one side homestay) .

b. Great hosts: The owner of the homestay Mr. Shanavas (a govt. retiree) is a genuine and warm person. He goes to every length to make sure that the stay is comfortable. He is friendly and helps with any requests you may have during your stay too. The support staff, Mr. Samir and Mr. Rajkumar take great care of you and your family and offer their support at all times

c. Home food: The hosts offered us home food which tingled our taste buds. It was a local fare which we enjoyed the most

d. Peace and tranquility: The homestay is an abode of peace which one must experience at any cost

e. Price: Considering how homestays in other popular destinations fleece tourists these days, Orchid was a welcome surprise with very economical rates. Please book with them directly for a 10% discount too!!

f. Space: The kids loved the open space with trees, swings and a hammock. Lot of greenery around makes it even more beautiful

What you must know before going there

a. This is a homestay and NOT a resort. The rooms are clean but basic (with AC, fan , TV and storage). There is ample space for the kids to play and run around.

b. The homestay is not at central Alleppey but slightly away (approx 8 kms away), which is a blessing considering the traffic and noise at Alleppey these days

c. There is no in-room service , but a common area to serve breakfast, lunch and dinner.

Considering it is by the lake, do expect a few mosquitos etc. but all this should never deter you from visiting the place. If you are a group of 5 to 6 families (or even 6-7 people), this is THE BEST PLACE to stay in Alleppey district !

Mr. Shanavas - You rock ! God bless !!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
772vaisha...
Pune
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Waterfront property with hospitable owner ”
Reviewed May 28, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

What strikes you at first is the location that makes your decision to stay well worth it. The owner personally ensures you are well looked after and adds to the special personal touch. Booking was clear straight and Hassel free. Rooms are clean neat with terrific views. Food was the highlight. Im personally planning a week long stay there in near future. I will strongly recommend this place for a family outing. Thank you for making our holiday memorable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arun M
Navi Mumbai, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome stay and hospitality”
Reviewed February 27, 2017 for a stay in November 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Amazing place in the backwaters. Very well maintained by Mr Navaz. I felt it was very safe and secure for my family. Will recommend anyone to visit this place.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
viv S
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing location, awesome hosts, hospitality at its best.”
Reviewed November 17, 2016 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Amazing experience. Owner is very cooperative. Good and delicious home cooked food. Location of the home stay is the biggest plus point. Right next backwaters. Honestly manager Roshan is a great guide with good knowledge about Allepey helps you a lot in planning your trips.He arranged a surprise Diya lights dinner in their patio.

Enjoyed our stay. Thank You Roshan, Shanawas & Mumtaz madam.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and view from the room
Liked least: Approach road to the property is too narrow.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 19, 2016
thankyou for your review sir.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prabhaska...
Mumbai, India
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Hospitality at its best”
Reviewed November 5, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
2
people found this review helpful

I have been a roadie since last many years and stayed at different places but this place is one of the best. The rating of this place is excellent starting from the property, location, cleanliness, person who owns it and the person who manage it...........everything is excellent.

I was with my family and we booked 2 rooms. We stay for 3 nights and the moment we reach the place we receive a very warm and friendly welcome from Mr. Roshan(Manager) and Mr. Shahnawaz (Owner). Immediately we feel like we are at home, then comes the food, it was one of the tastiest home cook food we have had in this long journey of half India by road.

They carefully prepare the best local dishes for the guest. The best part is it is right at the bank of Vembanand Lake. The view from the roon and balcony is superb. A place where one can really relax.

They are happy to help whenever you need anything from booking a boat house to booking a cab auto for local sightseeing. A place I would definitely recommend to all those traveler like me who prefer homestays.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The food and the service
Liked least: Nothing to mention
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 7, 2016
Thankyou very much for your great review sir.,
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanjay C
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Place,hospitality,food..... Awesome!!!”
Reviewed October 10, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Great place to stay. Feel like home. Food is prepared by owner aunty as delicious as home food. Ambiences as if its paradise.. 100% must stay if travelling to aellepey <3

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 19, 2016
thankyou sanjay.happy to read your review.come again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing