We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A tranquil place to stop for a while”
Review of Punnamada Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Punnamada Resort
Ranked #2 of 68 Hotels in Alappuzha
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 17, 2014

What an excellent hotel. We were dropped off at 10 in the morning having stayed overnight on a houseboat. Within 10 minutes a room was ready despite their check in time being 1pm. The staff were friendly, the food excellent and the pool fabulously warm. We had a problem with our air conditioning leaking which they tried to fix but it was only short term. We were offered another room but as we were half way into a 2 night stay we didn't want to pack and move. We had a candlelight dinner on our last night which was very romantic. Our view of the lake from our room would have kept us there for hours it was so interesting watching the different boats and wildlife. The menu is large which covers those who don't eat Indian food but as a veggie who does, I loved every meal. We borrowed a bike one morning and cycled into town which takes nerves in a few places but mostly was a great way to see the area before coming back and jumping into the pool to cool down. Definitely stay at this hotel and spoil yourself as we did after a hectic week of touring before going home.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Caroline P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VargheseKE, General Manager at Punnamada Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review about Punnamada Resort on Tripadvisor. we are glad to note that you had a lovely time here with us . let me thank you for staying with us and for your kind gesture for wrting about us on tripadvisor. We look forward to welcome you to Punnamada again.

Regards,

Varghese.K.E.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (817)
There are newer reviews for Punnamada Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

457 - 463 of 817 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2014

We stumbled upon this resort, thanks to Tripadvisor. As usual, booked the place at 11pm previous night for the travel next day early morning. Am a Keralite and it really came as a surprise to me when we landed at Punnamada resort with my wife and parents. Beautiful property and warm welcome. We booked this property seeing their huge lawn in photos, and oh boy wattay a treat it was. For both days all we did was sit there, have beer, lovely food and conversations.

Resort has a complimentary boat ride in evening and we enjoyed so much. In evening the entire backwater had a different feel to it. Loved it. On returning, we spent most of the evening in their swimming pool which was infront of our cottage.

Rooms deserve a special mention. They are built with ultimate attention to detail. Took me back to my childhood days when we used to play in old traditional kerala homes with a kettupadi etc. Open shower bathroom was simply amazing. Never took a bath savouring every single moment before.

All of us had a great time at this property and although food was little bland as made for a foreign palate....it hardly mattered compared to the overall experience.

Room Tip: Go with any. You cant be wrong.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Old_Travel_Monk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VargheseKE, General Manager at Punnamada Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review about Punnamada Resort on Tripadvisor. we are glad to note that you had a wonderful time with us . let me thank you for staying with us and for your kind gestutre to talk about us on Tripadvisor. We look forward for your next visit to Punnamada Resort.

Regards,

Varghese.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

We spent 4 days at Punnamada Resort from 23-26 Feb and by the end of it we never wanted to leave. The road to the resort is small and it made us think if we have chosen the right place, but one view of the resort assured us that this is the best location we could have chosen. The view from the villa is amazing and you have to experience it in person. Getting a chance to see the sunrise from your window sitting in the bed is an experience in itself.

In addition to the landscape the staff was very supportive and the food was also very good. The best thing to do was taking a walk near the restaurant and just looking at the lake. A special mention goes to Mr. Anil who was very cooperative during the whole stay.

I think i can possibly go on an on about the report still it will be less. One should definitely experience this resort in a lifetime. Would love to come again here some day :)

Room Tip: All rooms are good, clean and comfortable, if looking for a romantic setting, nothing beats the lake...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anubhav1930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VargheseKE, General Manager at Punnamada Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your great review about Punnamada Resort on Tripadvisor. we are happy to note that you had a wonderful stay with us .let me thank you for staying with us and for your lovely review . We look forward to welcome you back to Punnamada Resort Again.

Regards,

Varghese.K.E.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Been there end of Feb-Mar'14 with my friends and had a great time. Rooms were very good, location was amazing - by the lake, food was excellent especially since we were vegetarians. The service was exceptionally good.. staff very cordial and helpful. Loved my stay, would love to go there again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nidhik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VargheseKE, General Manager at Punnamada Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review regarding your stay and experiences at Punnamada Resort ! we are delighted to note that you had a wonderful time . let me thank you for staying with us as well for your gesture of writing about it on Tripadvisor. we look forward to welcome you back again to Punnamada Resort .

Regards,

Varghese.K.E.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

We took the romancing punnamada package to celebrate our anniversary

Whats awesome?
List is long, ill try to keep it concise:
1: Location: this resort is located right next to the punnamada lake. Its too beautiful to be true. We felt as if we were inside a painting!
2. Infrastructure: We stayed for a night in a villa, which was a fusion of modern+traditional decor. It was good value for money and the scene from the villa was breathtaking. The house boat was very well maintained and clean as well.We stayed there for another night and captured many great shots! The canal cruise was great too. There are other facilities like spa, swimming, indoor games etc.
3. Hospitality: What makes it a vow is the staff. They are very cordial, ready to help and always at the guests call. Always smiling, I think its the staff which will take this resort to a high.
4. Food: The chef is great. Whether u want veg/non veg, there are plethora of options to chose. the chef also customises according to ur taste, so give it a shot!

What can be improved: The bathrooms in the house boat can be revamped (especially the shower)

Dont miss:
1> The candle light dinner
2> Canal cruise/sunset cruise through house boat ( there is one thru shikara too, i loved the one thru house boat)
3> cultural programs
4> the house boat and villa itself.

Room Tip: Lake side villa, House Boat
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rahul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VargheseKE, General Manager at Punnamada Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review regarding your stay and experiences at Punnamada Resort ! we are delighted to note that you had a wonderful time . let me thank you for staying with us as well for your gesture of writing about it on Tripadvisor. we look forward to welcome you back again to Punnamada Resort .

Regards,

Varghese.K.E.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

This is a lovely little gem of a resort. My daughter and I stayed 3 nights and wished we had booked to stay longer. The room (502) was exquisite with petals on the canopied beds, traditional wooden furniture and really interesting doors with chunky wooden bolts and intricate brass work. Tea making facilities and minibar in the room were great for grabbing a beer and sitting outside our room overlooking the courtyard. The bathroom was open to the sky and we couldn't have been more delighted with it.
The restaurant is good, meals were delicious and reasonably priced and the breakfast (included in our price of room) had a great selection for everyone including excellent coffee!
The spa is wonderful, I had 2 massages here and although a bit more expensive than other massages I had in India it was worth paying a bit extra. I highly recommend it, you will float back to your room or the poolside!
Staff here are friendly, courteous and helpful from the moment you arrive. They arranged taxis, tuktuks and a fabulous houseboat trip for us with no problems. We also did the hotels speedboat trip which was £15 for 2 for half an hour where you blast around the lake and it's great fun if you fancy that sort of thing.
Every day there is tea on the lawn at 5pm followed by a sunset boat trip. In the evenings there are indian dancers entertaining you and toddy tapping to watch. There is yoga twice a day and a talk by the Ayurvedic doctor every morning. Also a games room available from 7-7pm with billiard table, pingpong, chess etc and there were bikes of all sizes to hire too and a trampoline for the kids. It sounds like it's a hectic busy resort with all that going on but it's actually really tranquil and relaxing with the games room at the back of the reception so that guests are not disturbed. We were more than happy by the pool where we had fresh towels and watermelon brought to us by the kind and thoughtful staff.
The only negative thing to say about our stay here is that our room although beautiful was hardly soundproofed and as it is in-between 2 others we had the tv blaring on one side (we politely asked this guest to turn it down and he did) and loud FaceTimers on the other side. Obviously the inconsideration of other guests is the not the resorts fault but it's like the walls in this particular room are made of rice paper!
Overall this is a fantastic, luxury place to stay. I'd say it was perfect for couples but also suitable for families with older children. I would definitely stay here again. This is a quality resort well worth the money. Thank you team Punnamada!

Stayed: February 2014
Thank Holli G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VargheseKE, General Manager at Punnamada Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review regarding your stay and experiences at Punnamada Resort ! we are delighted to note that you had a wonderful time . let me thank you for staying with us as well for your gesture of writing about it on Tripadvisor. we look forward to welcome you back again to Punnamada Resort .

Regards,

Varghese.K.E.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Very quiet location by the lake. Lovely bungalows, with outside bathrooms.
Service is great and the staff are lovely.
The restaurant has nice food and is very reasonable seeing as you are captive.

No hard liquer, only beer and wine - so no gin and tonic!
Free evening boat cruise and tea at 5pm! Nice touch.

2 hours to the airport and 3,600 rupees - so not to bad at all Free wifi everywhere even at the pool!
Be warned tax at 19.2% is added on top of every bill and so is a service charge but still good value

the lake view is stunning!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Renze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VargheseKE, General Manager at Punnamada Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

DEAR Guest,

Thank you very much for your lovely review about Punnamada Resort on Tripadvisor. we are happy to note that you had a lovely time with us. let me thank you for staying with us and for your kind review. we look forward for your next visit to Punnamada Resort !

Regards,

Varghese.K.E.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
19.9 mi away
Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort
5.7 mi away
Abad Turtle Beach
Abad Turtle Beach
#1 of 68 in Alappuzha
611 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ramada Alleppey
Ramada Alleppey
#9 of 68 in Alappuzha
711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Citrus Retreats Alleppey
Citrus Retreats Alleppey
#8 of 68 in Alappuzha
686 reviews
7.3 mi away
Deshadan Backwater Resort
Deshadan Backwater Resort
#10 of 68 in Alappuzha
360 reviews
1.5 mi away
Lake Canopy
Lake Canopy
#4 of 68 in Alappuzha
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Punnamada Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punnamada Resort

Address: Alleppey 6 | Punnamada Resort Private Limited, Alappuzha 688006, India
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Alappuzha
#1 Luxury Hotel in Alappuzha
#1 Family Hotel in Alappuzha
#2 Romantic Hotel in Alappuzha
Price Range: $104 - $325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Punnamada Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Punnamada Resorts is nestled on the serene banks of Vembanad Lake and gives a world of heritage and luxury. The divine ambiance and the hospitality lead to a total relaxation of mind, body and soul and it highlighted the rich heritage and the essence of Kerala in its true form with a focus on the eco system and being an environment friendly resort by taking initiative in various fronts. The green leaf certified Ayurveda centre at Punnamada puts a new life into yourself and to regain vigor and vitality and lead a stress-free life. The essence of Kerala and its magical backwaters can be experienced aboard Punnamada’s exclusive 'Kettuvallam' (houseboats) by the resort, the houseboats of Punnamada equipped with the best of luxuries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Punnamada Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punnamada Hotel Alappuzha
Punnamada Backwaters Hotel
Punnamada Resort Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing