We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful resort, perfect for total relaxation”
Review of Punnamada Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Punnamada Resort
Ranked #2 of 68 Hotels in Alappuzha
Certificate of Excellence
Gillingham
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Beautiful resort, perfect for total relaxation”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Stayed for three nights and loved this resort. Our room was amazing, with the most comfortable bed I think I have ever slept in! The food was brilliant and very reasonable. The menu was extensive with good continental and Indian selection. The hotel went above and beyond expectation with regards to service. All staff were friendly and very helpful. The resort also offered a number of complimentary activities including a sunset cruise and traditional Kerala dancing as evening entertainment. Had a brilliant stay, we truly relaxed and enjoyed the natural beauty of the resort.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MB_Gill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JomonJosephGM, General Manager at Punnamada Resort, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Namaste!!!!

Thank you for taking the time and the valuable comments on your recent stay at The Punnamada Resort.

I am delighted to read that your expectations were met. Your feedback is appreciated as it enables us to constantly monitor and improve the care and service we endeavor to provide to our guests. We are happy to read that the atmosphere, view, food and the team here was able to create some memorable moments for you.

Once again thank you for the wonderful comments and looking forward to welcoming you here on your next visit.

Warm regards,

Jomon Joseph.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

795 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    451
    248
    64
    14
    18
See reviews for
265
339
27
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pune, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

BEST LOCATION: Lake touch and away from crowd in the middle of the town, quite place with natural beauty around it, otherwise alleppey is not city.

FIVE STAR FOR SERVICE & FOOD: Staff will not disturb u unless you ask for any help, food is superb quality especially non-veg.

FAVORITE FOREIGN TOURIST SPOT: You will find this as hot spot for foreigners and south indian actors.

Room Tip: Go for lake/pool view, others are also good as they are very big.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sameer_shirodkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JomonJosephGM, General Manager at Punnamada Resort, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear Mr. Sameer,

Namaste!!!!

Thank you so much for taking your time to post your valuable and appreciative comments on your visit to The Punnamada Resort.

As you have said we have a mix of foreign traveller and Indian tourists. Also number of celebrities visited us and it’s a favourite spot of some. Your feedback is highly appreciated as it enables us to constantly monitor and improve the care and service we endeavour to provide our guests. We are happy to read that the atmosphere, view, food and the team here was able to create some memorable moments for you.

Once again thank you for the wonderful comments and looking forward to welcoming you here on your next visit.

Warm regards,

Jomon Joseph.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarante, Portugal
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Punnamada Resort was our option for one night in Vembanad Lake. I must say that it was a very good choice in every sense.
The resort has several bungalow, each one made out of wood with an extremely exotic design and typical Kerala doors, which gives a traditional and charming impression.
Some bungalows face the beautiful gardens, others face the lovely swimming pool and others have private areas facing the lake. All of them are very beautiful, have two floors and I must say that the bedroom is really nice, as well as the open-air bathroom.
The resort itself is very relaxing and the views to the lake are really superb, specially at sunrise and sunset.
Lots of Kettuvallam (houseboat) cross the lake at any time of the day and gives a very romantic scenery.
The restaurant has great views to the lake and garden and serves very good food.
The overall service is very good. We had a complimentary sunset cruise which was our first approach to the lake and the life in the backwaters. Highly recommended!
I did not visit other properties so I can`t compare them but I should say that Punnamada is a great choice for those that like traditional and exotic style, relaxing atmosphere and great views.
I get the feeling that no matter how many times I return to the wonderful Vembanad Lake, I will always choose this hotel.

Room Tip: Some rooms facing the swimning pool have also views to the lake but the garden view and the lake vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amarante_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JomonJosephGM, General Manager at Punnamada Resort, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Namaste!!!!

Thank you so much for taking your time to post your valuable & detailed comments on your visit to The Punnamada Resort.

We are grateful for your appreciation of our facilities, architecture, garden, service and the location. We glad to learn that we are measuring up your level of expectation and you had a good time here. Your words of appreciation shall go a long way to motivate the team to continue to deliver a high level of service to all our guests.

Once again thank you for the wonderful comments and looking forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back here.

Warm regards,

Jomon Joseph.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

As you can tell from their website, this is a lovely, quiet place to stay, slightly off the beaten track. Its' greatest attraction is the swimming pool and the view of the backwaters; there is volleyball net, basketball net and loads of indoor sports such as tablet tennis, pools, snooker, chess etc. as well as bicycles. It is a fairly small resort and it is isolated; the distance into town is 4 km and there is no walking path along the backwaters. There are some ayurveda treatments on offer and an ayurveda doctor on site. The food is excellent and varied, but the prices are for tourists. There is a free daily sunset cruise, which is lovely. There is also a small shop on site selling jewellery, statues and cotton/ silk handlooms. The staff are really lovely and helpful, and will play chess and table tennis with the children. There is some entertainment in the form of traditional indian dances at dinnertime. The New Year's eve buffet was amazing and there was some entertainment.

Some advice: if you want to go into town, do not do this at noon! The humidity is awful.
- Get the hotel to call an autorickshaw unless you want to pay through your nose for a taxi.
-Try out the aircon in your room before unpacking- ours made wave sounds, which made it very difficult to sleep. The rooms are lovely and have four poster beds with net curtains as there are mosquitoes around, although apart for the odd bite they did not trouble us much. It is advised to apply Odomos cream though.
- If there are any older people with you, there are ground-floor only roooms which are gorgeous
- If you have forgotten your swim rings, you can go to Aleppey sports industries in church road. - There is a really nice beach 20 km away at Tottapally I think; the backwaters are one side, the Arabian Sea on the other. There are no nearby shops.
- In town, you can find a boat to go on a cruise; 3 hours is probably enough.
- Sisir palace opposite the boats is a nice place to eat.
- Don't forget the suntan lotion
Probably not the place to stay for a whole week if you have small children as not a huge amount of things to do nearby.

Room Tip: There are wedding receptions being held sometimes; apparently some people have complained about the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank studiousbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JomonJosephGM, General Manager at Punnamada Resort, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Namaste!!!!

Thank you for taking the time and the valuable comments and suggestion on your recent stay at The Punnamada Resort.

I am delighted to read that your expectations were met. Your feedback is appreciated as it enables us to constantly monitor and improve the care and service we endeavour to provide to our guests. We are happy to read that the atmosphere, view, food and the team here was able to create some memorable moments for your family.

Once again thank you for the wonderful comments and looking forward to welcoming you here on your next visit.

Warm regards,

Jomon Joseph.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Punnamada Resort stands at one of the most beautiful Resorts that I have visited. Beside the location, which is right at the edge of a lake, every small detail of this lovely resort seems to have been taken care of.
The old style building, the wonderful furniture and the bathrooms which open into gardens, the well placed swimming pool, the small theater with local artists performing, the beautiful sports arenas all add up to a extravagant experience.
The dinner buffet was extensive too with both local and continental cuisines. The breakfast menu though could have done with more dishes. We were even picked up for our backwaters cruise by our houseboat , right from the resort! The sunrise from the lakeside was enthralling! overall a jewel in Kerala.

Room Tip: choose a lakeside view one, a room for physically disabled is also available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank priyankasriv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JomonJosephGM, General Manager at Punnamada Resort, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Dear Ms. Priyanka,

Namaste!!!!

Thank you so much for taking your time to post your valuable comments on your visit to The Punnamada Resort.

We are grateful for your appreciation of our facilities, staff, location, open to the sky bathrooms, and the food provided by the team. We are glad to learn that we are measuring up your level of expectation and you had a good time here. Your words of appreciation shall go a long way to motivate the team to continue to deliver a high level of service to all our guests.

Once again thank you for the wonderful comments and looking forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back here.

Warm regards,

Jomon Joseph.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delhi
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

loved the sight of the lake from our bed!! peaceful, beautiful & yummy food!
A place to relax & sit back. Staff was gud as well. great for an escape from the world for a couple of nights!!highly recommend it for a private romantic weekend. They also have own houseboats.
had a great time & will always cherish it!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goptan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JomonJosephGM, General Manager at Punnamada Resort, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Namaste!!!!

Thank you for taking the time and the valuable comments on your recent stay at The Punnamada Resort.

I am delighted to read that your expectations were exceeded. Your feedback is appreciated as it enables us to constantly monitor and improve the care and service we endeavour to provide to our guests. We are happy to read that the atmosphere, view, food and the team here was able to create some memorable moments for you.

Once again thank you for the wonderful comments and looking forward to welcoming you here on your next visit.

Warm regards,

Jomon Joseph.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Fantastic place, we stayed for one night but a memorable stay. I brought back many good memories of the place. Yoga class offered by them is just fantastic. Their duplex villa is beautiful and suitable for family. Though the approach road to resort is narrow but once u reach there, you dont feel like to leave the place. Restaurant is good and reasonable, only the staff need to be little more responsive.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RAMU110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JomonJosephGM, General Manager at Punnamada Resort, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Dear Mr. Ramu,

Namaste!!!!

Thank you so much for taking your time to post your valuable comments on your visit to The Punnamada Resort.

We are grateful for your appreciation of our facilities, yoga class and the villa you have stayed.
We are glad to learn that we are measuring up your level of expectation and you and your kids had a good memorable time here. Also noted the comments about the approach road and responsiveness of the staff

Once again thank you for the comments and looking forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back here.

Warm regards,

Jomon Joseph.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alappuzha
19.9 mi away
Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort
5.7 mi away
Abad Turtle Beach
Abad Turtle Beach
#1 of 68 in Alappuzha
587 reviews
5.6 mi away
Citrus Retreats Alleppey
Citrus Retreats Alleppey
#8 of 68 in Alappuzha
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Ramada Alleppey
Ramada Alleppey
#10 of 68 in Alappuzha
677 reviews
6.4 mi away
Aveda Kumarakom
Aveda Kumarakom
#1 of 26 in Kumarakom
684 reviews
2.6 mi away
Lake Palace Resort
Lake Palace Resort
#5 of 68 in Alappuzha
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Punnamada Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punnamada Resort

Property: Punnamada Resort
Address: Alleppey 6 | Punnamada Resort Private Limited, Alappuzha 688006, India
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Alappuzha
#1 Luxury Hotel in Alappuzha
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Alappuzha
#2 Romantic Hotel in Alappuzha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Punnamada Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Punnamada Resorts is nestled on the serene banks of Vembanad Lake and gives a world of heritage and luxury. The divine ambiance and the hospitality lead to a total relaxation of mind, body and soul and it highlighted the rich heritage and the essence of Kerala in its true form with a focus on the eco system and being an environment friendly resort by taking initiative in various fronts. The green leaf certified Ayurveda centre at Punnamada puts a new life into yourself and to regain vigor and vitality and lead a stress-free life. The essence of Kerala and its magical backwaters can be experienced aboard Punnamada’s exclusive 'Kettuvallam' (houseboats) by the resort, the houseboats of Punnamada equipped with the best of luxuries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Punnamada Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punnamada Hotel Alappuzha
Punnamada Backwaters Hotel
Punnamada Resort Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing