We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They have Best Karimeen Fries in the Town”
Review of Punnamada Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Punnamada Resort
Ranked #2 of 68 Hotels in Alappuzha
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Now after this 7 day God’s country visit is over ( via a fantastic budget tour from Antilog Vacations) some memories remain in head & Punnamada finds a special place among them.
Truly beautiful , the Punnamada sits boastfully on the peaceful banks of the Vembanad Lake.

The Punnamada Resort is about 4km from the Alleppey Town. It is 8 km from Alleppey Railway Station while Kochi Airport is about 90 km away.

It offers villas with traditional Kerala’s architecture. It also features an outdoor pool and an ayurvedic centre. It also features garden views and terra-cotta flooring in each villa. Each villa has a flat-screen TV and a safety deposit box. Tea and coffee making facilities and a minibar are also provided. Their open-air bathroom also offers a hot shower.

The first thing guests feel as they enter the rooms is a touch of luxury, mixed with antique beauty. And the best thing about the rooms is that the bathrooms are very large, airy and open-roofed with pebbled flooring and greenery all around that takes you back to nature.

In the Punnamada resort you will certainly enjoy some traditional south Indian cuisine in the Punnamada Restaurant for sure. They offer you a huge variety of traditional Kerala Dishes, both vegetarian as well as non-vegetarian served at your palate, like the very famous Karimeen fry which is a very sought after and tasty delicacy of the region. This pearl spotted, marinated and deeply fried fish item is something you can’t ever miss. They will also serve you with other options like Avial, Thoran, mezukkuvarati, kootu curry to mention for the vegetarians. The choola restaurant serves local specialities and a good selection of international wines.

Offering both indoor and outdoor seating, it features very beautiful views of the Vembanad Lake. Guests can here enjoy the game room, which includes billiards and table tennis facilities. This resort also has a 24hour front desk and a business center. Free parking is available here
Ravi Krishan (our tour agent’s driver + Guide)was a help through out & I have promised him to be back next year for sure

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shreya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JomonJosephGM, General Manager at Punnamada Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Dear Ms. Shreya,

Namaste!!!!

Thank you so much for your review and your kind, appreciative and motivating words. Your explanation is very much in detail and the effort is highly appreciable to portrait the resort as it is.

We are happy to know that you enjoyed the architecture, view from the resort, ayurvedic centre restaurant and the karimeen fry especially here. Also delighted to learn our services measuring up your level of expectation and you had a good time with us. These inspiring words from the esteemed and most valued guest like you will makes us more responsible to go extra miles enhance and refine our process to achieve highest level of customer satisfaction.

Once again thank you for the wonderful comment and looking forward to have you here and serve you again

Warm regards,

Jomon Joseph.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (817)
There are newer reviews for Punnamada Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

625 - 631 of 817 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2012

We visited this place on 17-18 Sep and stayed one night in resort and another in their house boat. The resort has old world charm with beautiful wooden Kerala house architecture, highly recommended for people seeking peace and off beat location. We loved the room wooden interior design and open air bathroom. The resort staffs are very courteous and made every effort to make our stay comfortable. I originally booked Garden villa but on my request they upgraded the room to lake view villa (thanks to Mr. Amrut!!!). Enjoyed the 1 hour complementary sunset cruise. Foods were good and tested some Kerala dishes and were prepared deliciously. The restaurant is ideally placed near lake and have wonderful wooden interior with lights combination. The ayurveda and spa service is excellent and totally enjoyed full body massage. House boat experience was also good and enjoyed rides through various canals and wide Vembanad Lake. Foods on house boat were delicious too and staffs were helpful. On my request, they parked the house boat near resort so I was able to have best of both (resort and house boat).
Other thoughts: The resort is not that big, need to lookout for places for hang out. No other food joints nearby, have to eat at their restaurant and food are bit overpriced (> Rs. 1500 for lunch/dinner for two). Be watchful what is not complementary… while on houseboat wine was served at lunch and was not informed its chargeable and it’s price. We had to pay over Rs. 1700 for wine at the time of checkout and it was a real shock at happy ending.
Overall nice place to visit with family for quite and peaceful ambiance and for classic Kerala backwater experience!!!

Room Tip: Go for lake view villa.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RAMAN K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JomonJosephGM, General Manager at Punnamada Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2012

Dear Mr. Raman,

Namaste!!!!

Thank you so much for your time and review about us in trip advisor. We really feel delighted to know that you and your family enjoyed staying at our resort and houseboat.

Once again thank you for the wonderful comment and the detailed description about the architecture, location, interior, food, service and the spa. Also I have made note of your views on F&B pricing and the service of wine on the boat.

Looking forward to have you here and serve you again.

Warm regards,

Jomon Joseph.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Punnamada resort is the apt place to stay, if you want to refresh yourself from the hurry burry tussles of life.............. Recently, I happened to be out there with my friends for a couple of days and its environment really evoked the spirit of happiness and peace. After a long time (its been 15 years now since I left Kerala), I experienced the traditional flavours of Kerala architecture, its landscape and the aspiring back waters shining off to glory…………The food was really appetizing,………. Not to forget the cruise in the back waters, this resort is highly invigorating.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sofia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JomonJosephGM, General Manager at Punnamada Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2012

Dear Ms. Sofia,

Namaste!!!!

Thank you for your kind words and praise for the resort. We are delighted to note that our product and service have left you with a favourable impression. We are glad that we could make your trip a memorable one.

Once again thank you for the wonderful comment and looking forward to have you here and serve you again

Warm regards,

Jomon Joseph.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We, me and a group of friends went here for a college reunion a few weeks ago. The place is suprise waiting to please you after the journey through the maze of village roads. The beautiful reception with traditional courtyards, wooden built-in seating welcomes you to an old world charm!
The restaurant with its garden facing the lake, is a place to put your feet up and relax. And relax with their delicious food! The rooms facing the lake made for a beutiful morning. Birds chirping, sunlight dancing on the water made a perfect wake-up sight! Not to forget the beautiful ride on their house boat.Over all a great stay. Am coming with my family soon......
P.S- The resort guys can add a few more direction boards enroute.

Room Tip: The lake facing rooms are the best!
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BhoomaBalaji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JomonJosephGM, General Manager at Punnamada Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Dear Ms. Bhooma,

Namaste!!!!

Thank you so much for your review and your detailed explanation about the resort.

We are happy to know that you enjoyed the resort, food and the service here, also glad to learn that you had a good time with us and going to come back with your family.

Once again thank you for the wonderful comment and looking forward to have your visit with your family.

Warm regards,

Jomon Joseph.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

One of my few amazing experiences! Yoga twice a day with the talented friend Pradeep Kumar and bicycle rides across the city. The whole place was rich in authenticity, i loved the outdoor showers :))
boat houses are a bit over priced however i got lucky with a free ride ;)

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swardakan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JomonJosephGM, General Manager at Punnamada Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Dear Guest,

Namaste!!!!

Thank you for the kind, grateful words about the resort and its people.

We are happy to know that you have enjoyed the yoga sessions, outside showers and the place as such. It’s interesting to learn that most of our guest attends the yoga session in the morning and appreciate the experience.

Once again thank you for the wonderful comment and looking forward to have you here and serve you again

Warm regards,

Jomon Joseph.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Me and my wife visited Punnamada back water resort on Aug 18.And I must say its a small but a beautiful property. We took 2 nights and 3 days package. The room was well maintained and beautifully decorated in Kerala style which we liked a lot. The view of the backwater from the resort is beautiful. The Kerala food served in the restaurant is very testy .There are lot of activities to do I.e. swimming pool, Pool, TT, cycles, chess, carom, kayak, Shikara boat, motorboat, volleyball. The ayurvedic spa is must do in Punnamada resort. Its very refreshing. We visited Alleppey beach which also beautiful.
Though they have tried to maintain an international standard but still they should improve few things.
1. Connectivity to the resort is very poor. There are lot of potholes in the road and in rainy season its quite difficult to reach there.
2. Swimming pool was not enough clean and its required urgent repair because lots plates are broken.
3. There is only one restaurant and the menu is very limited. Though we enjoyed the food which we ordered personally, the taste of the food in buffet menu was mediocre. They could have multiple restaurants like Italian, Thai, Chinese etc. (at least they could have multiple food outlets as the property is small).
4. There should be some cultural events in the evening time so that guest can enjoy the time and keep themselves engaged.
5. Drinking water is limited to two litters per day. But we feel it should have been free flow to all the rooms and guest should not request for it again and again. The tv sets in the room was old, I feel they could replace with wall mounting sets.
We really enjoyed our stay. The staffs in all the departments are very well behaved and helpful. They had provided SUV for two of us for both sightseeing and drop to Cochin which we would have not got if taken from outside with same price and we really appreciate that. Since they are outsourcing the boat ride, sometimes you may get unprofessional boatman (shikara boat). They also give complimentary 1 hour shikara boat ride every day which we enjoyed. We would like to appreciate the front desk folks for extending our check out time without any extra charge as we had very late departure from Cochin. We would like to thanks all staffs of Punnamada for making out stay pleasant. Special thanks to Amruth, Shivu for spa, Vishnu, and Aby from restaurant. Thank you all.

Room Tip: " lake view rooms are good to stay"
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tapas84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JomonJosephGM, General Manager at Punnamada Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

Dear Mr. Tapas,

Namaste!!!!

Thank you for taking the time out to post your views about Punnamada Resort and your kind, appreciative comments.

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay here and happy to learn that our room, architecture, spa, activities and services measuring up your level of expectation and you had a good time with us.

We have noted your views and suggestion on the various fronts. Once again thank you for the wonderful comment and looking forward to have you here and serve you again

Warm regards,

Jomon Joseph.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

To find Punnamada resort is a challenge but once there, it is a great hideaway from chaotic and bustling India. We stayed over the weekend during the Nehru boat race and we liked our room with fantastic interior. All those houses are build in a very unique and charming style and also the staff did everything to make the stay pleasant.
Punnamada also offers various Ayurveda massages and the various masseurs are better than the ones we tried all over Kerala.
Options for a good dinner in Alleppey are rather scarce, so we ate out in the restaurant of the resort. The food is quite good, but the unefficiency of the staff is amazing. We took it with self-composure and humor but some guests had difficulties to accept it. When you go there, make sure that you are not starving and simply accept the fact that they do their best although you might not believe it :-)

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AustrianinAsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JomonJosephGM, General Manager at Punnamada Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Dear Mr. Guest,

Namaste!!!!

We would like to thank you also for the kind words you have for the hotel and its facilities, specially the interiors and the ayurveda spa.

The resort built in truly Kerala architectural way with a heritage and it’s a blend of most modern and traditional amenities right from the door locks the tiled roofing of the ceiling, the terracotta floors, and open to the sky bathrooms.

We are happy to learn that you have an enjoyable trip and had a good time here.
My team and I look forward to welcoming you back here again.

Warm regards,

Jomon Joseph.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
19.9 mi away
Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort
5.7 mi away
Abad Turtle Beach
Abad Turtle Beach
#1 of 68 in Alappuzha
610 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ramada Alleppey
Ramada Alleppey
#9 of 68 in Alappuzha
711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Citrus Retreats Alleppey
Citrus Retreats Alleppey
#8 of 68 in Alappuzha
685 reviews
7.3 mi away
Deshadan Backwater Resort
Deshadan Backwater Resort
#10 of 68 in Alappuzha
360 reviews
1.5 mi away
Lake Canopy
Lake Canopy
#4 of 68 in Alappuzha
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Punnamada Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punnamada Resort

Address: Alleppey 6 | Punnamada Resort Private Limited, Alappuzha 688006, India
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Alappuzha
#1 Luxury Hotel in Alappuzha
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Alappuzha
#2 Romantic Hotel in Alappuzha
Price Range: $104 - $327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Punnamada Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Punnamada Resorts is nestled on the serene banks of Vembanad Lake and gives a world of heritage and luxury. The divine ambiance and the hospitality lead to a total relaxation of mind, body and soul and it highlighted the rich heritage and the essence of Kerala in its true form with a focus on the eco system and being an environment friendly resort by taking initiative in various fronts. The green leaf certified Ayurveda centre at Punnamada puts a new life into yourself and to regain vigor and vitality and lead a stress-free life. The essence of Kerala and its magical backwaters can be experienced aboard Punnamada’s exclusive 'Kettuvallam' (houseboats) by the resort, the houseboats of Punnamada equipped with the best of luxuries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Punnamada Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punnamada Hotel Alappuzha
Punnamada Backwaters Hotel
Punnamada Resort Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing