We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bliss in the Backwaters”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Our Land Island Backwater Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Our late arrival at Our Land was mystical; a lantern-lit canoe carried us across the backwater to Our Land. The silence of the starry night was only broken by the gentle splashing of the dipping oars. Thoughtfully, Rateesh and his staff had prepared a late dinner to welcome us. This thoughtfulness with unstinting friendliness continued during our 4 night stay. Nothing was too much trouble for them to make our stay so memorable. We left with heavy hearts, well-being and new-founded friendships.
Annette and Roy UK

Room Tip: On this small island all the rooms are pleasantly located, quiet and spacious. The Tree House is ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank roybates672
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (189)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 189 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2014

We stayed here at the end of our 6 week trip around south India and it was just the relaxing haven we needed after too many hot, dusty, hectic cities.

You will need to phone ahead to book and to get directions (they'll talk to the auto rickshaw driver for you) as this is not the sort of place you will stumble across. It's about 10 minutes out of Allepey on a main stretch of river, so you can sit on the island and watch the rice barges go by.

There are 6 rooms in total, including a treehouse. The room had a/c which was very weclome as it was very humid and hot, was clean, well laid out and roomy. Plenty of space to unpack and store your things as well as a comfy bed. The attached bathroom had a great (hot water) shower and accompanying ayuverdic toiletries.

The highlight was the attached terrace which faced the river and had a table, comfy chairs, a daybed and an overhead fan. There were beautiful bowls of fresh flowers put out there every day for us as well as them bringing around candles when it gets dark. (and fresh coconuts in the day time) There was also a hammock and swing out front, under the trees for lazing in.

The rates are inclusive of 3 meals and various activities. The food was lovely home cooked Kerlan fayre. Do let them know in advance if you have any dietary requirements and they'll do what they can. Breakfast and lunch were the highlights, with dinner being a simpler, lighter affair (but still good). They have drinking water you can help yourself to and will brew up tea or coffee as and when you ask.

Activities wise we did a guided canoe trip around some of the quieter canals, as well as going out in the canoe ourselves. We also did a village walk (very interesting) around the adjoining island and went cycling (good bikes). We also swam every day (very warm water!) If there is anything you want to do Rajeesh will do his best to arrange it for you. They also do overnight rice barge trips if you feel the urge.... (personally I'd say don't bother and just stay here and relax)

If you do wany any alcohol you will need to bring this with you. There is a liquor store in the main bazaar area of Allepey and they will happily chill your beer / wine / drink of choice in their fridge for you.

TIP - One other point if you're turning up after a long trip - they don't offer a laundry service. They will happily give you some washing powder and let you use their washing line, but the washing part is DIY.

TIP - Being the backwaters there are a lot of mosquitos so bring mozzie coils or a machine and repellent!

So in summary, our 4 nights here were peaceful and relaxing thanks to the lovely, friendly staff. If you are looking for a comfy, clean place to stay with good home cooked food and beautiful river views this is the place for you.

Thanks for all the staff for making our stay so special, especially the friendly, smiling boatman.

Room Tip: All rooms have river views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suze_Cassis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

The staff are very friendly and this remote resort is extremely relaxed - incredible peace amidst the backwaters of Kerala. Lovely cool rooms and simple local food. The barn owls are wonderful too. The breakfast was especially delicious.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank girlwizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

One of the highlights of our fourth visit to Kerala was the stay at Our Land and the family of Barn Owls that had been raised in a shelter on the roof of our bungalow. The simple country food was delicious, our room and shower room were fine and the views over the backwaters from our sitting area were magical. We went on a bird watching walk with Ratheesh one morning and were lucky enough to see many new (to us) varieties of birds. All the staff were so helpful, we greatly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judith1344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

After the noise and bustle of most Indian cities, this is a wonderful place to relax and just watch the water and birds. The staff are wonderful and the food is amazing. We had a sunset canoe ride and took bikes over to the path along the water to explore the local area, but what I remember most is just the peace of Our Land.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CateP42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Thanks to all the wonderful staff, so gentle, so warm; it feels like family there. The place offers simple comfort but less is more and this is your opportunity to check how true this adage is. You get out of there relaxed and vivified. No need for massages, oils, and herbs; just stay there a few days, enjoy and rejuvenate.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank MarcF506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

A lovely remote 'eco' island with clean accommodation. The staff were very friendly, food lovely and activities such as canoeing around the villlage and going on a birdwatching walk were good fun. The plans did suddenly change however - we were supposed to be doing a cycle trip but that changed into getting a commuter boat along the backwater. It was enjoyable though did throw us back into noisy civilisation after being in the peace and quiet

All in all though, was the highlight of our trip to Kerala

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Coulsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
25.8 mi away
Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort
13 mi away
Deshadan Backwater Resort
Deshadan Backwater Resort
#8 of 70 in Alappuzha
378 reviews
4.4 mi away
Ramada Alleppey
Ramada Alleppey
#9 of 70 in Alappuzha
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Nova Holidays
Nova Holidays
#6 of 70 in Alappuzha
193 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Pamba Heritage Villa
The Pamba Heritage Villa
#2 of 181 in Alappuzha
207 reviews
5.9 mi away
Punnamada Resort
Punnamada Resort
#4 of 70 in Alappuzha
840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Our Land Island Backwater Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Our Land Island Backwater Resort

Address: Chempupuram | Punnapra, Alappuzha 688004, India
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 181 Specialty Lodging in Alappuzha
Price Range: $90 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ourland Island Backwater Resort is the Winner of First ever Kerala State Tourism Award (announced AUG 2015) for the Best Practices in the field of Responsible Tourism.. Every once in a while, when the hectic pace of city life overwhelms you and the chaos of the urban crush threatens to consume you, it's always wise to retreat into some much-needed solitude. Tucked away in the backwaters of Kerala is Our Land, a panacea for the soul. An island getaway from the rigmarole of daily life, Our Land sits in an island of tranquility to the south of Alappuzha, surrounded by green paddy fields fringed with coconut palm, bamboos and banana trees that stretch as far as the eye can see. In the lap of nature, Our Land has stayed true to its roots and blends in perfectly with the rustic landscape that surrounds it for miles. The resort's modern amenities unobtrusively attend to the comforts of guests and do not compromise on the hotel's natural ambiance and pursuit to ensure that its carbon footprint on the environment is minimized. Our Land invites guests and divulges secrets - this hideaway island was a one-time den of a fierce bandit immortalized by the locals as a Robin Hood! During your stay here you can unravel the secrets of this one-time bandit hideaway and ensconce yourself in its warm and welcoming world.Hearty welcome to Our Land... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Our Land Island Backwater Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Our Land Island Backwater Resort Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing