We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could have stayed longer in such a tranquil place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Our Land Island Backwater Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Our Land Island Backwater Resort
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Could have stayed longer in such a tranquil place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2012

We were made to feel so welcome at Our Land. The perfect place to while away a couple of days watching the world pass you by on the backwaters. Great food and people. A real gem!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justwanderedin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    42
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
48
95
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2012

Our Land is a place to be when I want to relax and I'd like to enjoy the authentic and laidback Indian backwaters culture. I enjoyed the bird watching trip with Rateesh, the resort manager, and it wasn't only the birds that were interesting, I loved observing and greeting the locals who were getting ready for work or school in the wee early hours. The meals are delivered to the room where you can sit outside and watch the boots passing by. The food is really well made and tasty. Real Indian dishes. Love the authenticity about the Our Land resort and the backwater region. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lordflashheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level Contributor
157 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2012

If you are coming to this resort, it's very important to call ahead when you reach Alleppey. It's not easy to find and most taxi drivers haven't heard of it. You need to arrange a boat pick up from a certain bridge - the website instructions don't quite make this clear.

It's on a tiny island so be prepared for there to be nothing to do apart from chill out or do the activities. You can't really wander round anywhere and there are no communal facilities such as a lounge or dining area. Meals are served on your verandah. The food is excellent and lots of it, served by lovely local people. The rooms are large and clean.

I didn't find it particularly tranquil. Although it's on the waterside, it's a busy waterway so there are lots of local motorboats and tourist rice boats. This is interesting to see local life, but I counted at least 20 rice boats passing right in front of me while I was having breakfast, which didn't feel very relaxing!

I would echo previous comments about staffing levels. There is only one English speaking manager there, who was lovely, but all activities depend on him. He did a nice sunset walk round local villages, pointing out birdlife. However the promised boat ride didn't happen till mid morning on the day of departure when it was very hot, and was a simple out and back 30 min canoe trip on the main waterway.

It really depends what you're after. I think I would have seen more of the waterways on a rice boat, but they are quite touristy. It's friendly and local at Our Land, but don't expect too much in the way of activity. Best for a chill out and some good food.

Room Tip: The tree house looked interesting!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2012

Spent 2 night here and was the best place we stayed in Kerala. The place is situated in a small river island that you will need to reach by boat. Somebody will be waiting for you to take you from the main road to the canal, from there you take a small boat to cross over to Our Land.

All the people taking care of you over there are wonderful, the rooms are great and the food is fantastic, home cooking everyday with very fresh ingredients. Probably one of the best meals we had in Kerala as well.

You can enjoy free activities like canoeing, cycling or trekking. Their staff are allays open to help you with any of these.

We wish we could have stayed longer...probably next time!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NachoTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2012

I loved the Our Land Island Resort. Radesh made this trip a highlight for me especially the island walks and the canoe sunset trip tour, very much recommended.
You can also rent bicycles and tour the villages yourself. I loved getting an insight of the villages, the life of the people, childern - very interesting. The room, I stayed at the tree house as extremly clean with all modern facilites. The food was delicous and a lot! A perfect place if you want to by away from the city's as it's on an island. You find piece and pure nature. I can very much recommend it - the whole team is absolutely lovey and professionaly organized. Book early as there are only 4 other rooms besides the tree house. Enjoy!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Switzerland_76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2012

Couldn't fault the room and food they were excellent. Room lovely and clean and food tasty and varied, also plenty of it. The location was good, very laid back, We loved the hammocks. We stayed their for three nights and it was just enough. There is nothing to do but relax and read. We got taken on a canoe ride just before sunset and went on the bikes which were both enjoyable. The downside is that the canoe is to large for you to take out yourself, we were really looking forward to doing this and going down some of the smaller canals.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mia06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2012

My partner and I stayed at Ourland for 4 wonderful days. The staff were so helpful, kind and generous in spirit. It was my partners birthday and the staff organised a birthday cake for him and all sang him happy birthday. The guided walks and boat trips were amazing as was the use of the resorts canoes. The food was hands down some of the best we ate in our 2 months in India. The room was beautiful, spacious and comfortable. It was the perfect place to unwind and relax. We will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alappuzha
25.8 mi away
Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort
0.4 mi away
Citrus Retreats Alleppey
Citrus Retreats Alleppey
#8 of 67 in Alappuzha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
10.9 mi away
Aveda Kumarakom
Aveda Kumarakom
#2 of 26 in Kumarakom
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
The World Backwaters
The World Backwaters
#19 of 67 in Alappuzha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Pamba Heritage Villa
The Pamba Heritage Villa
#1 of 150 in Alappuzha
5.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
20.8 mi away
Vasundhara Sarovar Premiere
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Our Land Island Backwater Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Our Land Island Backwater Resort

Property: Our Land Island Backwater Resort
Address: Chempupuram | Punnapra, Alappuzha 688004, India
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 150 Specialty Lodging in Alappuzha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ourland Island Backwater Resort is the Winner of First ever Kerala State Tourism Award (announced AUG 2015) for the Best Practices in the field of Responsible Tourism.. Every once in a while, when the hectic pace of city life overwhelms you and the chaos of the urban crush threatens to consume you, it's always wise to retreat into some much-needed solitude. Tucked away in the backwaters of Kerala is Our Land, a panacea for the soul. An island getaway from the rigmarole of daily life, Our Land sits in an island of tranquility to the south of Alappuzha, surrounded by green paddy fields fringed with coconut palm, bamboos and banana trees that stretch as far as the eye can see. In the lap of nature, Our Land has stayed true to its roots and blends in perfectly with the rustic landscape that surrounds it for miles. The resort's modern amenities unobtrusively attend to the comforts of guests and do not compromise on the hotel's natural ambiance and pursuit to ensure that its carbon footprint on the environment is minimized. Our Land invites guests and divulges secrets - this hideaway island was a one-time den of a fierce bandit immortalized by the locals as a Robin Hood! During your stay here you can unravel the secrets of this one-time bandit hideaway and ensconce yourself in its warm and welcoming world.Hearty welcome to Our Land... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Our Land Island Backwater Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Our Land Island Backwater Resort Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing