We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful island”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Our Land Island Backwater Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Peaceful island”
Reviewed January 16, 2012

gree with other reviews. Our Land is an idyllic spot in the Backwaters. The accommodaton is excellent with simple but well equipped rooms. The food (vegetarian for us) was excellent with far too much to eat. We enjoyed to evening ride on the small canoe, but more interesting than the large houseboats passing every few minutes.

The morning walk through local villages and fields was magical. We were able to see rural life in Kerela.

A great way to experience the Backwaters.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davebude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    42
    6
    4
    0
See reviews for
48
96
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brussels
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2012

a very nice place to relax, very good local food, friendly atmosphere, simple but nice and spacious rooms, in my case with a great lakeside veranda. the hammocks next to the canal are perfect for watching houseboats, fishermen and whoever else passes by. i spent new years eve there, the staff made lots of efforts to make this a special evening. the only disadvantage - as the place was fully booked, staff seemed at times a bit overwhelmed. and i could not do some of the activities offered (no birdwatching; the boat trip only along the main canal, despite many efforts i could not get my wish through to go through smaller canals - which would have been the main attraction).

Room Tip: Choose a lakeside room, it really makes all the difference if you can sit on your veranda and watch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hez2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brightlingsea, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Our Land turned out to be exactly what we were looking for, total relaxation. Fantastic service and great food. Thankyou Janeesh and everybody else for a wonderful stay.

Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Reg82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2011

The location, service, and attention to detail at this resort were exemplary. We were there for 9 nights, with twin girls, age 4. Although the resort clearly did not have a large percentage of children guests, they went out of their way to accommodate any special requests we had. Food, activities, recreational activities, and accommodation were provided with the utmost care and with the consideration of all participants.

I even inquired about duck (and was told it was out of season); yet, they made a special attempt to provide us with duck curry even though it was difficult to get. The bathroom, bedding, and furnishings were absolutely clean and satisfactory. The village areas surrounding the island were full of friendly, curious, interested people.

Fishing and canoeing, as well as a cooking demonstration, were highlights. The staff were genuinely caring, receptive, and attentive. This experience was diamond grade. We are all seasoned travelers in India, and agree that this is a truly outstanding place.

Please give them your business, and don't be shy to show your appreciation to the staff. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Zarine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2011

This place is pretty unique. You have to take a canoe to get there across the river. It takes about 30 minutes to get there from Allepey by rickshaw. It's best to get the resort to arrange a Rickshaw for you because it's a bit complicated to find! We had a great time finding our own way there that ended up with a friendly local man jumping in our rickshaw phoning the resort for us and directing the rickshaw driver!

The rooms are absolutely amazing. Really high quality small bungalows with nicely done bathrooms. very well built and nicely decorated. The best thing is the outside porch area with table and bed for lounging on in the day. All your meals are served on the porch.

The website is a little misleading when it talks about activities because we expected there to be lots to do all the time but we were told that the do one activity a day in the afternoon at about 4.30 pm. We were initially a but disappointed about this because we like to be really active and we were expecting lots of activities going on at all times. However, it all worked out in the end. We took ourselves off in to Allepey one day to do our own thing and you can charter canoes and boats from there. Back at the resort, they took us on canoe rides (including a night time canoe ride) and walks through the local villages.

There's nowhere to really go on the island itself. It's pretty small and there are no paths to walk around the island. You're pretty much just in your bungalow whilst you are there and you just kind of sit around and wait for one of the guys to turn up and take you off on a trip. You therefore need to be a bit proactive in arranging things if you're like us and like to be busy!

Or you can just sit on your porch and watch the house boats and locals going about their daily lives.

The food was absolutely amazing and probably the best we experienced the whole time we were in India. Meals are at set times.

Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2011

Our land is perfect place to getway from the chaos of urban life. the treatment offered by the resort staffs is very homely. This place being in an island is ideal getaway.
The best of staying in this resort is to relax on the chair and hammock out side without bothering about the outside world !!. The houseboats that frequently pass by would add to your excitement.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Srikanthdrao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2011

Our land is amazing. The rooms are clean and tasteful. The food is exquisite. The staff was really responsive and worked hard to make sure you enjoy your stay. The views are astounding, the wild life is visible. We also really enjoyed visiting with the locals. It's an amazing private, serene spot in a beautiful land. What a blessing that we were able to enjoy it.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 0ted88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alappuzha
25.8 mi away
Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort
0.4 mi away
Citrus Retreats Alleppey
Citrus Retreats Alleppey
#8 of 67 in Alappuzha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
14.8 mi away
The World Backwaters
The World Backwaters
#18 of 67 in Alappuzha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Punnamada Resort
Punnamada Resort
#2 of 67 in Alappuzha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Pamba Heritage Villa
The Pamba Heritage Villa
#1 of 154 in Alappuzha
5.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
20.8 mi away
Vasundhara Sarovar Premiere
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Our Land Island Backwater Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Our Land Island Backwater Resort

Property: Our Land Island Backwater Resort
Address: Chempupuram | Punnapra, Alappuzha 688004, India
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 154 Specialty Lodging in Alappuzha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ourland Island Backwater Resort is the Winner of First ever Kerala State Tourism Award (announced AUG 2015) for the Best Practices in the field of Responsible Tourism.. Every once in a while, when the hectic pace of city life overwhelms you and the chaos of the urban crush threatens to consume you, it's always wise to retreat into some much-needed solitude. Tucked away in the backwaters of Kerala is Our Land, a panacea for the soul. An island getaway from the rigmarole of daily life, Our Land sits in an island of tranquility to the south of Alappuzha, surrounded by green paddy fields fringed with coconut palm, bamboos and banana trees that stretch as far as the eye can see. In the lap of nature, Our Land has stayed true to its roots and blends in perfectly with the rustic landscape that surrounds it for miles. The resort's modern amenities unobtrusively attend to the comforts of guests and do not compromise on the hotel's natural ambiance and pursuit to ensure that its carbon footprint on the environment is minimized. Our Land invites guests and divulges secrets - this hideaway island was a one-time den of a fierce bandit immortalized by the locals as a Robin Hood! During your stay here you can unravel the secrets of this one-time bandit hideaway and ensconce yourself in its warm and welcoming world.Hearty welcome to Our Land... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Our Land Island Backwater Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Our Land Island Backwater Resort Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing