We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“looked nice enough but look further and closer and see the lack of care”
Review of Gowri Residence

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gowri Residence
Ranked #131 of 201 Alappuzha B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 23, 2010

we were not impressed with this hotel as the rooms were unclean and tatty. the staff hung around looking bored and disinterested and they couldnt be bothered to take food orders or clean as all the table cloths were filithy!!
The main problem was the lack of care taken over caged birds of prey kept in the hotels entrance and grounds. the animals were kept in small cages unable to spread there wings!!! there was NO water given to any of the animals during my two day stay and the water bowls were green and out of the animals reach. i asked if staff could give animals water and i was responded to with laughter and a blank look. i couldn't stay and watch these animals dehydrate and suffer so gave them water myself the animals fought desperatly to get a drink. mongooses were kept in small wire cages with no shade in boiling hot sun. the animals looked so destressed and paced up and down the small area of wire cage given to them.
i would strongly recoommend you do not stay in the Gowri homestay!!!
if only because of the vile conditions for guests but out of protest to the treatment of animals here! these animals are being used to make the enviroment more apealing to guest but i found them deeply destressing and unsettling!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank muttenpaneer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (89)
There are newer reviews for Gowri Residence
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 89 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2010

I didn't stay at the Gowri, but I did book a houseboat with them. Afsal is a great bloke and extremely helpful. I hired a brand new boat for a 24hr trip at a cost of RS 7500, which was very good value. The boat was pristine and I couldn't have asked for more. The 3 man crew were very good company and helped to make the trip really good fun. The food was absolutely amazing. The chef was first class and he even took the time to give us all of his recipes!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rockstaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2010

We've enjoyed an excellent stay at Gowri's. Nice management, good staff and well located between three temples. The Balinese styled bungalow in the garden (no. 15) was clean and very comfortable. Food was good. We have rented their houseboat that took us for an overnight trip to Kumarakom. Great experience for Rs. 6.000. The boat was in a very good condition. We have already recommended this place to our friends.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Palmfreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2010

Read with dismay earlier houseboat review. We rented the Gowri Residence new boat overnight. This boat has two cabins, and is suitable for four. We are just two, but scored this boat, and delighted with it. We are experienced boaters at home on the BC and Washington coasts. This boat was well handled, beautifully outfitted, and in top shape. Our overnight cruise on the kerala backwaters travelled through just a fascinating few of the more than 160 canals. The boat came with a crew of three: captain, engineer, and chef. All were experienced and competant - especially the chef - meals were varied and wonderful

We also stayed at the residence for three nights - one night fan room in a cottage, and two nights a/c cottage. Both were clean and well kept. Keep in mind that these very inexpensive digs are not a luxury hotel, but, as we are both retired seniors, we were very comfortable here. The houseboat overnight cost was ten times the room cost, but totally worth every rupee.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank feistycherub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2010

Our stay at the Gowrie was fantastic!!! The staff were wonderful and the food delicious. Nothing was too much trouble. Thanks to everyone for a great New Year with live music and entertainment. Cheers Guys. Desley & Joe, Australia

Stayed: January 2010
Thank ScottyNSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2010

Felt right at home in this place - with a little wooden bungalow, an outdoor bathroom and friendly, helpful staff. The staff are largely but not entirely young guys, who all seem to be having a good time. The subtropical grounds are tidy, with people constantly sweeping around the paths. The food (made in an open kitchen close to the main house) is cheap and yummy. The beds aren't real comfy, but neither are any of the beds in this part of the world, I've come to realise. All in all, a great place for great value.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RedCreation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2010

It truly saddened me to read this latest review of a bad experience at Gowri because I could not recommend this place highly enough. I have never encountered the service of such attentive and dedicated staff and extended my stay to remain in this welcoming environment. Those working in this beautiful spot go to such lengths to ensure that their guests gain the most out of their stay so I find it deeply distressing to read that their managing of the houseboat business could ever be mistrusted. This sounds like a lamentably unique and unfortunate misunderstanding as, going back for a second stay at the guesthouse, I again found the people there nothing but helpful, efficient and reliable. I only hope that I can emphasise enough just what an enjoyable experience the Gowri Residence is. I would deem it an essential part of any trip to South India. I will always be grateful to each and every person there for the unforgettable time I enjoyed at this first rate hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoWild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
0.0 mi away
Cherukara Nest
Cherukara Nest
#47 of 201 in Alappuzha
123 reviews
0.0 mi away
Palmy Lake Resort
Palmy Lake Resort
#24 of 164 in Alappuzha
136 reviews
0.0 mi away
Malayalam Lake Resort Homestay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Venice Castle
Venice Castle
#2 of 201 in Alappuzha
420 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lake Palace Resort
Lake Palace Resort
#6 of 68 in Alappuzha
378 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lemon Tree Vembanad Lake Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gowri Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gowri Residence

Address: near Uduppi Sree Krishna Swami Temple | Thondankulangara, Avalookkunnu PO, Alappuzha 688006, India
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #131 of 201 B&Bs / Inns in Alappuzha
Price Range: $49 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gowri Residence is one of the oldest heritage properties in Alleppey - the main house was constructed in 1947. Its strategic location makes it an ideal property for holidayers; the boat jetty, the railway station and the beach are all within 15 minutes from Gowri. The tranquil and green environs of Gowri make it an oasis of peace and heritage in the heart of Alleppey town. We have wooden cottages, a/c and non a/c rooms, dormitory and a treehouse room - a wide range to choose from. Whether you are a backpacker, honeymooning couple, family or a large group, we have all kinds of accommodation to suit your needs. Our restaurant serves delicious local dishes and can be made to order to your specific taste. Our staff is well trained and is always there 24/7 for you. Come to Gowri and experience true Kerala hospitality and soak in a bit of culture and heritage too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Gowri Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gowri Residence Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing