We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“S.Sudhakar,New York.The boys”
Review of Gowri Residence

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gowri Residence
Ranked #133 of 210 Alappuzha B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 12, 2013

I stayed at gowri for a week .Very comfortable for the family.The location is very good.Good restuarant and food.The service is perfect.The staff very friendly,and they are vey eager to do any help for us.When ever I visit Alapuzha, I like to stay at GOWRI The boys Afsal and Sumesh
were very helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shajialappat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (89)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 89 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2013

I stayed one night at Gowri on a stopover from Kollam on my way to Kochi. I had actually planned to spend two nights in Alleppey, but when I saw the condition of my room, I couldn't deal.

One of the young men met me at the boats, which was nice as my boat came in past dark. But the first room they gave me smelled of dirty socks and cigarettes. The floor and walls were visibly dirty, and the curtains were smeared in black. I asked for another room and, while it smelled slightly fresher and the curtains were cleaner, the level of cleanliness wasn't that stellar and none of the plug ins worked. Their wifi is very slow and not available in the rooms. They weren't serving meals because their cook was gone, but I wouldn't have felt comfortable eating there anyway.

The staff is friendly but the rooms need improvement. I'd go elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janika12_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

great place to stay. Very good location in the center of Alleppey. The staff is very friendly and taking care of guests any time. The only "con" is they do not serve lunch or dinner anymore. Only breakfast (very tastefull by the way). The courtyard and common areas are very cozy. And beds and pillows are really comfortable !!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crispratc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

This place was recommended in the Lonely planet and it was fine. Our little hut room had AC, no hot water (it probably didn't say it did, I forgot to check, so I can't really complain about this) and it was set back k enough from the pretty main road we are in for it to be quiet, and I am a stickler for quiet rooms so this is saying something. It was very cheap and as such there were the expected things like it wasn't the cleanest room - mozzy streaks on the wall, electrical sockets hanging by wires, etc, but we got what we paid for. Would recommend ish.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hansieryder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Stayed just one night in December 2012. We got an AC room for 1200 Rupees and were happy with that (there was obviously no tariff, so do negotiate on the room price if you're not happy with it). Our room had two beds put together with a mosquito net over, giving us a good nights sleep. The room was fairly clean and there were linen, towels and toiletpaper. About what I expected we'd get for 1200 Rupees. Location is okay, and the food in the restaurant was tasty. Free wifi in the restaurant!
The staff were friendly and very eager to sell us a trip on their houseboat. But when we kindly rejected their offer and decided to check out after one night they didn't seem very pleased with us and gave us a cold shoulder for a good bye, if any good bye at all.
Good for budget accomodation, but lacking a bit in service, in my opinion.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vilhelmsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We are a group of family stayed here in off season.The rooms are very clean with mosquito net.There is a nice garden and a restaurant.The staff are kind and helpful.We also booked house boat with them.That trip is memmorable trip.Thanks for all in Gowri residence.And i recommend this place for all.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keratheeram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Wonderful place to stay if you are looking for an non expensive accommodation. Friendly atmosphere and well kept, spacious rooms inside a tropical garden + a very nice restaurant too :) I recommend this place to all of you.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ola79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
0.0 mi away
Lake Palace Resort
Lake Palace Resort
#5 of 70 in Alappuzha
401 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lemon Tree Vembanad Lake Resort
0.0 mi away
Punnamada Resort
Punnamada Resort
#4 of 70 in Alappuzha
835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ramada Alleppey
Ramada Alleppey
#9 of 70 in Alappuzha
747 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort
0.0 mi away
Nova Holidays
Nova Holidays
#6 of 70 in Alappuzha
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gowri Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gowri Residence

Address: near Uduppi Sree Krishna Swami Temple | Thondankulangara, Avalookkunnu PO, Alappuzha 688006, India
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #133 of 210 B&Bs / Inns in Alappuzha
Price Range: $51 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gowri Residence is one of the oldest heritage properties in Alleppey - the main house was constructed in 1947. Its strategic location makes it an ideal property for holidayers; the boat jetty, the railway station and the beach are all within 15 minutes from Gowri. The tranquil and green environs of Gowri make it an oasis of peace and heritage in the heart of Alleppey town. We have wooden cottages, a/c and non a/c rooms, dormitory and a treehouse room - a wide range to choose from. Whether you are a backpacker, honeymooning couple, family or a large group, we have all kinds of accommodation to suit your needs. Our restaurant serves delicious local dishes and can be made to order to your specific taste. Our staff is well trained and is always there 24/7 for you. Come to Gowri and experience true Kerala hospitality and soak in a bit of culture and heritage too. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gowri Residence Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing